Car scrap & body value

Turbonetics

Will try to develop a list here...gathered from some of the more recent posts which mention scrap value...do add on or amend if you have the info

1. Mercedes S class - $5000
2. Mercedes E class - $1000
3. BMW X5 - $4500
4. Volvo S40 - $400 scrap $1400 export
5. Vilvo S60 - $500
6. Toyota Camry $1000
7. BMW 320i - $850

8. Toyota Vios - $80 - $150(depending on scrapyard)

Will try to develop a list here...gathered from some of the more recent posts which mention scrap value...do add on or amend if you have the info

3. BMW X5 - $4500
4. Volvo S40 - $400 scrap $1200 export
5. Vilvo S60 - $500
6. Toyota Camry $1000
7. BMW 320i - $850

Hello All:

One silly question....when we talk about body value, does that mean we will get back "cash" at total rebate amount (from onemotoring) plus the body value ? Thank you.

Hi there,

Recently i went down to a dealer at west coast looking for 2nd merc. They told me the merc body value at $5000

How about toyota camry body?

haha,

Of all the people you ask the car dealers ! ! !

Of course they will tell you high high body value to entice you to buy lah

Now car scrap value is worth less then their weight

But once scrap, the engine and GB will worth thousands.......

that's life

Some bro say dismantle your engine and GB and keep under your bed waiting for a buyer !

What I cannot tahan is lorry which have no scrap value is worth more then any BMW and MERC

So far from QUOTZ, Toyota fortuner and harrier got the best value

3. BMW X5 - $4500
5. Vilvo S60 - $500
6. Toyota Camry $1000
7. BMW 320i - $850

9. Sonata 2.4L - $300

10. Cefiro 2.3L - $200

11. Lancer 1.6A - $400

Hello All:

One silly question....when we talk about body value, does that mean we will get back "cash" at total rebate amount (from onemotoring) plus the body value ? Thank you.

yes ! You will get back the amount tt the zheng hu wants to retuen you or PARF rebate..plus whatever body value the scrapyard / dealer/ exporter offers you... for eg: when we scrapped our altis in april we got back PARF rebate of $9022 from govt plus body value of $1000 from the scrapyard so total $10022

3. BMW X5 - $4500

5. Vilvo S60 - $500

6. Toyota Camry $1000

7. BMW 320i - $850

9. Sonata 2.4L - $300

10. Cefiro 2.3L - $200

11. Lancer 1.6A - $400

Altis $900-$1000

3. BMW X5 - $4500

5. Vilvo S60 - $500

6. Toyota Camry $1000

7. BMW 320i - $850

9. Sonata 2.4L - $300

10. Cefiro 2.3L - $200

11. Lancer 1.6A - $400

Dun think lancer can worth more than 200. Where did the info came from?

I didnt get the info from anywhere. I took the $400 and put in my pocket.

Where did you get your info from?

Which scrapyard or exporter is that? Can share? my info is from calling all LTA approved scrapyards.

Edited by Zeally

Which scrapyard or exporter is that? Can share? my info is from calling all LTA approved scrapyards.

Ic. Lta authorised ones offer lesser. I looked thru the papers and called individually.

Evening Folks - I am a Singapore Car Exporter and can explain the de-reg process and valuation from an Exporters viewpoint:

You have 3 options when your car comes to 10 years:

1) Renew COE - unlikely to be worthwhile unless you own a Rolls Royce

2) Scrap your car

3) Approach an Exporter

Most people trade their cars in at a dealer and so in effect receive Scrap value which will be the lowest you could achieve.  Exporters like myself are only going to be interested in cars that have value in other countries.  It is illegal to export a car to Malaysia so forget about driving it over the border to sell or handing to someone who does that.  It's not an option.

So assuming you have a car that has some value in another right hand drive country (eg UK, Africa, or New Zealand) such as a 2006 new shape Merc S class.

The Exporter has to buy the body (at whatever price he thinks its worth) A new shape S Class with decent mileage is worth more than $5000 for the body.  I would also have to pay $3-4k for a container, pay import taxes which are usually around 30% of the car + container, and then go through a lengthy paper process to register in the receiving country.  We obviously need to make a profit - this is why average family cars such as fords, toyota vios type cheaper cars cannot be exported.  I look to buy Merc S class or equiv, Subaru WRX Sti, Range Rover etc type cars and preferably with low miles and dealer histories.  I know most Singaporeans don't do main dealer history after warranty is up (year 3) and go local garage next 7 years, but thats the nature of this market where you look at cars as 10 year consumables (even calling cars "bodies" when they are still perfectly good cars!).

The process with an exporter would be as follows:

1) Approach for Offer, Exporter agrees body price (parf, COE remaining and road tax remaining if any is refunded directly by government)

2) Exporter and seller meet - exporter checks car and if as described pays deposit (or whole body price) against a receipt and photo of our respective IC Cards.  This is a contract in law to buy the body and ship the car within 1 month of expiry.

3) Exporter collects car 2 days prior to shipment and delivers it to the shipper - seller can do this if required.  Essentially you'd be handing over your car "body" to a Singapore company freight agent.  By law the Shipment must leave Singapore within 1 month of car expiry date.  The freight agent packs the car in the container which is loaded on a ship (they need the car 2 days before sail date)

4) The day after the container ship sails - a Bill of Lading is issued by the shipping company that proves your car is on that ship.  This is required by LTA to release your Parf and other refunds directly to the seller.

5) Seller and my freight company meet at LTA to process this paperwork - you receive confirmation that your car is deregistered and of your refund entitlements.  Typically Parf is refunded to you around 10 days later directly by the Singapore government.

Your refund on a 10 year old car is whatever Onemotoring.com.sg says it is but as a proxy it would be 55% of OMV, plus any remaining COE or Road Tax (if any complete months remain at the point of dereg)

I got into Exporting as a hobby and because I am originally from the UK where we drive RHD cars.

Hope this is helpful.

Graham.

Evening Folks - I am a Singapore Car Exporter and can explain the de-reg process and valuation from an Exporters

I got into Exporting as a hobby and because I am originally from the UK where we drive RHD cars.

Hope this is helpful.

Graham.

Thanks for the valuable info. Would you be able to list the cars in demand and a base price thst these can fetch when exported pleaee?

i can only give you an indication based on the cars I have recently bought.  Each exporter will be different because the prices they offer for cars depend on their own supply chain, finances, and shipment dates.  I look to move a container a month so have space for 3 cars.  In the last few months I have bought the following:

Subary Imprezza WRX $3500 - this is overpaid but was a unique car that I plan to keep.  It was a 1 owner bugeye model super low full history, a lot of mods with original parts included, garaged and unabused example.  I would normally not export stock WRX because the resale value is not high enough but this car in this condition is rare. 

Subaru Imprezza WRX Sti - Looking for these.  Last one I was offered had 120km and had been bought by an exporter for $3500.  I was offered it at $4000 by the exporter looking to flip it.  I would have bought but I did not have a container at the time.

Volvo XC90 - I bought 2 of these recently both with full service history (one main dealer).  They were both low mileage examples at under 90km and I paid $2200 and $3000. 

Audi A6 2.4V6 Avant Sportline - A mint car with very very low miles and a full Audi history.  Paid $5000 for this and shipped it to my father for xmas.

BMW Z3 2.5i Cab - A 60km example with full BMW history acquired for $3000.

Range Rover 4.2 V8 Sport - 80k example with full Main Dealer History.  Lovely car this and price reflected at $9800.

Mercedes S350l - new shape 2006 car with 126km and history.  $8000.  I overpaid for this but personally love the cars.  Other exporters are offering less - probably $5000 because garages are advertising these at $8000 for export. 

It is difficult to quote a stock price which is what people would like to see here.  The price totally depends on the condition of your car, km, and service history.  Have you looked after it?, or have you driven it like a dodgem around town?  I saw a Lexus LS430 the other day (which admittedly is a large car) and the elderly owner had crashed all 4 corners into various posts, bollards, signs and shopping trolleys.  Needless to say I passed on it.  I'm not looking at cars for their parts value (some will), and the cars have to be desirable to cover export costs / taxes / effort.

My perfect car would be a Subaru WRX Sti or Mitsubishi Evo 9 with low mileage, full history, well cared for enthusiast cars with sensible seller expectations :-)   If you fit this bill please seek me out!   Poor examples - such as the Malaysia Tracked, crashed, repaired, no service history WRX Sti I looked at the other day will be deservedly lowballed!

Graham.

So it means that all luxury cars would not be crash into scrap metal, as usually these cars will be exported even the car reached 10th year old?!

That's correct, luxury cars are not crushed. Most of them go to New Zealand. Australia no good these days - they jacked up import taxes to keep out crazy high power Japanese imports and in the process killed off importing for that RHD market.

Thanks to Graham for the info.

But be prepared to find your inbox to fill with enquiries since you've opened the floodgates...

Haters, we all know who, will be upset with the disclosure of the real market value...

We need more of such insights into the export/scrap part of the auto biz.

All hail Graham!