Chery cars being tested for asbestos.

Obscurest

Goodness....

They truely are capable of anytin.... If proven to be true...

Hianz

Edited by Obscurest

their china brains..abit slow or we call retarded..or we can claim...dangerous..in reality...wad for?..this is negative news..need to educate consumers to tell their products..lame meh... now alot of bmw, mercedes benz , tao kay, audi, ..owners..the rest also want these car certain models...of course racing and non racing...cos ferrari or lamborghini still speaks fiercely on the 'no' green credit or discount system of singapore, they trying their heart out to tell u safe or ..already people say..not safe at all in whatever they do..langar people..including words or words of so call their wisdom..very chinnna..leh..no craps liao..and no need crapzz leh...toilet got jamm button..u likey? [:p]

http://cars.st701.com/articles-cars/motori...sbestos/a/80459

Chery cars being tested for banned asbestos

IT HAS been a week since 23,000 made-in-China cars were recalled in Australia for containing asbestos, a hazardous material banned in more than 50 countries, including Singapore.

But it will take at least another week before it is clear whether the Cherys sold in Singapore are similarly affected.

Vertex Automobile, the agent for the car, said it has sent six samples of gaskets (or seals) from the engine and exhaust system to materials tester Setsco's labs to be tested for asbestos. The results are expected in a week.

Long-term inhalation of asbestos fibres causes respiratory problems, and even lung cancer in some cases.

The sample parts to be tested are from the two affected Chery models - the J3 sedan and T11 sports-utility vehicle.

About 1,800 Cherys are on the roads in Singapore, but the Land Transport Authority indicated that only 414 are of those models.

The recall Down Under was also for another China-made car, Great Wall, but that brand is not imported here.

Vertex Automobile general manager Sng Khai Tze told The Straits Times that the manufacturer, Wuhu-based Chery Automobile, is still checking whether the vehicles shipped to Singapore are affected.

"Separately, we are doing our own independent investigation. If necessary, we'll do a recall," he said.

The recall in Australia was done in line with its ban on asbestos, in place since 2004.

Responding to the Australian incident, Chery said parts meant for cars sold in China - where asbestos is not banned across the board - had mistakenly been put into the vehicles meant for export.

The manufacturer said it had undertaken to stop using asbestos from last month.

Singapore banned asbestos in building materials in 1989, and in cars from 1995.

Dr Chan Tiong Beng, a respiratory specialist in Mount Elizabeth Hospital, said the danger of exposure to the minute asbestos fibres, which get lodged in the lungs, is insidious.

"It takes 20 to 30 years to manifest itself. So often, people don't even know it causes problems," he said.

He explained that these tiny fibres cause breathing problems on two fronts: One, when the fibres find their way to the outer lining of the lungs, they cause fibrosis, a form of scarring, which impedes lung expansion during breathing.

Two, when the fibres get stuck in the lungs, they cause fibrosis there as well. Gas exchange, and thus lung function, is compromised.

Dr Chan said asbestos-related ailments are incurable because "there are thousands of tiny, tiny fibres in the lungs and it is impossible to remove them".

"You can only take medication to slow down the fibrosis," he said.

http://cars.st701.com/articles-cars/motori...sbestos/a/80459

Chery cars being tested for banned asbestos

IT HAS been a week since 23,000 made-in-China cars were recalled in Australia for containing asbestos, a hazardous material banned in more than 50 countries, including Singapore.

But it will take at least another week before it is clear whether the Cherys sold in Singapore are similarly affected.

Vertex Automobile, the agent for the car, said it has sent six samples of gaskets (or seals) from the engine and exhaust system to materials tester Setsco's labs to be tested for asbestos. The results are expected in a week.

Long-term inhalation of asbestos fibres causes respiratory problems, and even lung cancer in some cases.

The sample parts to be tested are from the two affected Chery models - the J3 sedan and T11 sports-utility vehicle.

About 1,800 Cherys are on the roads in Singapore, but the Land Transport Authority indicated that only 414 are of those models.

The recall Down Under was also for another China-made car, Great Wall, but that brand is not imported here.

Vertex Automobile general manager Sng Khai Tze told The Straits Times that the manufacturer, Wuhu-based Chery Automobile, is still checking whether the vehicles shipped to Singapore are affected.

"Separately, we are doing our own independent investigation. If necessary, we'll do a recall," he said.

The recall in Australia was done in line with its ban on asbestos, in place since 2004.

Responding to the Australian incident, Chery said parts meant for cars sold in China - where asbestos is not banned across the board - had mistakenly been put into the vehicles meant for export.

The manufacturer said it had undertaken to stop using asbestos from last month.

Singapore banned asbestos in building materials in 1989, and in cars from 1995.

Dr Chan Tiong Beng, a respiratory specialist in Mount Elizabeth Hospital, said the danger of exposure to the minute asbestos fibres, which get lodged in the lungs, is insidious.

"It takes 20 to 30 years to manifest itself. So often, people don't even know it causes problems," he said.

He explained that these tiny fibres cause breathing problems on two fronts: One, when the fibres find their way to the outer lining of the lungs, they cause fibrosis, a form of scarring, which impedes lung expansion during breathing.

Two, when the fibres get stuck in the lungs, they cause fibrosis there as well. Gas exchange, and thus lung function, is compromised.

Dr Chan said asbestos-related ailments are incurable because "there are thousands of tiny, tiny fibres in the lungs and it is impossible to remove them".

"You can only take medication to slow down the fibrosis," he said.

[thumbsup] swee...for easy reading to all forumers...

Edited by LoverofCar

Huh?

So u wana me to take pic of the papers?

Ok me bad for starting something that has got notin to show....

[bigcry] [bigcry] [bigcry]

don't mean to poke on you lah....sorry lah.....here always said...No picture no talk...no video no talk....no link also no talk.....just to make the thread more fruitful and easy to read for all forumers here mah..... [laugh]

No la bro.....

I understand... No worries...

[wave] [wave] [wave]

if got asbestos how?

got refund bo?( in terms of singapore)

coz of COE, etc...

Edited by Mllcg

SHould I be feeling bacd for the Chinese. Substance banned oversea (due to toxic) but ok for Chinese.

Just show how much (or less) they value heathy & safety in China. Even a big company like Chery opening say they use banned substance (other lands) in their cars in their home country, imagine the smaller companies.

I question the chinese companies' ethics.....

Do they even care about consumers?

China is a big country with big population, to be fair, & normally only the bad news are highlighted. But having said that, anyone that has been to china on regular basis should not be surprise at all.

There are people who are as ethical as you & I or maybe more, but for every few of them one of them, you find maybe one or some of suspicious character.

But you cannot say this is a cultural thing, as main people from Taiwan, Hong Kong, & a huge part of Singapore population, & others settled in other parts of the world, are decedents from China but are very successful, without resourcing to unethical practices.

Also remember that China have like 3000 or longer history & follow (in principle) Confusious (spelling) teaching. The 2 most famous being "Never do to others, what you do not want done to you", & " Society over self". Admitted, a lot of fellow Singaporeans are not practicing the 2nd quote, but you cannot say the foundation of ethnics is not there.

Edited by Kiadaw