Car Ownership NOT transferred

Zexel

Hi All..

May i have some advise on the possible course of action i can take in regards to this!

My dad brought a suzuki car about 3-4 months ago from this 2nd hand dealer "friend" at turf city.

Here how it goes... my Dad paid for the car in FULL, and after the agreed replacement, maintenance of items are done, car were set to be collected...

Lets leave out some hiccups here and there as they were rectify by them.

The shocking thing happened today, as i attempted to renew the expiring Road Tax on his behalf, the online renewal just wont get thru.

After calling and asking, was shocked that the car was STILL NOT under my dad's name after all these months.

Called the dealer, and they say they will "check"... what rubbish?

Can any knowledgeable bro or sis advise me what can we do now? thanks! [knife]

Hi All..

May i have some advise on the possible course of action i can take in regards to this!

My dad brought a suzuki car about 3-4 months ago from this 2nd hand dealer "friend" at turf city.

Here how it goes... my Dad paid for the car in FULL, and after the agreed replacement, maintenance of items are done, car were set to be collected...

Lets leave out some hiccups here and there as they were rectify by them.

The shocking thing happened today, as i attempted to renew the expiring Road Tax on his behalf, the online renewal just wont get thru.

After calling and asking, was shocked that the car was STILL NOT under my dad's name after all these months.

Called the dealer, and they say they will "check"... what rubbish?

Can any knowledgeable bro or sis advise me what can we do now? thanks! [knife]

if you got the hire purchase agreement and the chq no. you paid.... i think it's time to bring the police in...

Hi thanks for the fast reply!

my dad paid the car in Full eh... cash... hence no chq no hire purchase... only got agreement from their company to sell the vehicle at what price etc, and "receipt" of selling

the likely case is the dealer keep the cash and still did not tell the ex-owner that the car had been sold.....they use the money for their own purpose....if they close down the company....good luck to you...

Hmm if you got the road tax notice from LTA addressed to your dad...how come car not transferred yet? Fishy..

Hi... may i know what is so fishy about LTA saying the car is not under my dad's name yet?

my dad ask me to check in regards to road tax coz the agreement or past owner details (duno what is that) got indicate when the road tax is up.....

thanks for ur reply anyway...

Hmm if you got the road tax notice from LTA addressed to your dad...how come car not transferred yet? Fishy..

friend...online can check for road tax renewal lah....just need car plate number....TS never mentioned the letter was mailed to them lah...

the likely case is the dealer keep the cash and still did not tell the ex-owner that the car had been sold.....they use the money for their own purpose....if they close down the company....good luck to you...

the company seems to be quite big in scale... but not to say it had no possibility of closing down...

yup it is possibly so that they use the cash for their own purpose...

Thanks for the "luck"... any wise advise to ensure the ownership is transfer on my end? Like going to bank and demand the log card? sorry for my ignorance... [bigcry] i dont want to scare my dad further ha.............

friend...online can check for road tax renewal lah....just need car plate number....TS never mentioned the letter was mailed to them lah...

yalor... maybe i didnt write clear enough haha...

my dad paid the car in Full eh... cash... hence no chq no hire purchase... only got agreement from their company to sell the vehicle at what price etc, and "receipt" of selling

if the ''ex -owner'' did not receive money from the dealer...likely the ''ex-owner'' will not agree the transfer...for offical transfer to be made....the ''ex-owner'' need to apply for a pin number at LTA.. so the dealer can do the transfer on his behalf........I put it as ''ex-owner''...in real term...he/she still the rightful owner of the car.....siao liao...I think you go and talk to the dealer....if not successful....is time to ''po mata'' liao....

Edited by LoverofCar

the company seems to be quite big in scale... but not to say it had no possibility of closing down...

yup it is possibly so that they use the cash for their own purpose...

Thanks for the "luck"... any wise advise to ensure the ownership is transfer on my end? Like going to bank and demand the log card? sorry for my ignorance... [bigcry] i dont want to scare my dad further ha.............

Go to this link, key in your father's nric & vehicle number. Just fill in today's date for the last entry. Once it has been transferred, it will show up here instantly.

https://vrl.lta.gov.sg/lta/vrl/action/pubfu...bateBeforeDeReg

Transfer of vehicle ownership is supposed to be done within 7 days after the sale is completed. 7 days is to allow settlement of administrative issues.

If it has not been transferred and it has been a few months and the bank has not attempted to repossess the said vehicle, you can be sure someone is still paying the installments. It might be an error, it might be fraud. You need to verify with the seller. It also poses an issue as all traffic violations will be sent to the previous owner with you having no knowledge even if you failed to compound the offence.

You have no recourse to go to the bank and demand any log card. If the vehicle is under financing and still belongs to another person, the legal owner is the bank, not you, not the previous owner or the dealer. A stolen property has no rights to be sold even if you paid cash for it.

You might want to leave the bank out for now in case the dealer or owner has not paid the bank at all till date. In which case, they will only be too happy to find out where the vehicle is. Your only real recourse now is to sort it out with the dealer.

if the ''ex -owner'' did not receive money from the dealer...likely the ''ex-owner'' will not agree the transfer...for offical transfer to be made....the ''ex-owner'' need to apply for a pin number at LTA.. so the dealer can do the transfer on his behalf........I put it as ''ex-owner''...in real term...he/she still the rightful owner of the car.....siao liao...I think you go and talk to the dealer....if not successful....is time to ''po mata'' liao....

siao liao loh like that......................... ok THANKS for ur advice...

that fu*ker dealer argh...... say is my father friend still like that... think i call a few friends down to see him later

TS now got the chance to blackmail the dealer back or expose them to the newspaper.

once a blue moon chance to deal with these blood sucker dealers.

Edited by PorkChong

Go to this link, key in your father's nric & vehicle number. Just fill in today's date for the last entry. Once it has been transferred, it will show up here instantly.

https://vrl.lta.gov.sg/lta/vrl/action/pubfu...bateBeforeDeReg

Transfer of vehicle ownership is supposed to be done within 7 days after the sale is completed. 7 days is to allow settlement of administrative issues.

If it has not been transferred and it has been a few months and the bank has not attempted to repossess the said vehicle, you can be sure someone is still paying the installments. It might be an error, it might be fraud. You need to verify with the seller. It also poses an issue as all traffic violations will be sent to the previous owner with you having no knowledge even if you failed to compound the offence.

You have no recourse to go to the bank and demand any log card. If the vehicle is under financing and still belongs to another person, the legal owner is the bank, not you, not the previous owner or the dealer. A stolen property has no rights to be sold even if you paid cash for it.

You might want to leave the bank out for now in case the dealer or owner has not paid the bank at all till date. In which case, they will only be too happy to find out where the vehicle is. Your only real recourse now is to sort it out with the dealer.

ok noted!!...... that is very helpful indeed... will leave the bank out in case the dearler/owner nv pay... THANK YOU [thumbsup] .

siao liao loh like that......................... ok THANKS for ur advice...

that fu*ker dealer argh...... say is my father friend still like that... think i call a few friends down to see him later

don't bang table..be calm.....just ask them to send one person, together with you to LTA for the transfer....they probably give excuses here and there...

i know he paid full in cash.... so you mean he brought a briefcase full of cash to dealer? or buy a cashier order or chq??

TS now got the chance to blackmail the dealer back or expose them to the newspaper.

once a blue moon chance to deal with these blood sucker dealers.

will be tempted to do so la... but blackmailing them might backfire on me leh...