Car Ownership NOT transferred

Zexel

[thumbsup] i was going to write something similar cos finclk's final sentence was really BS. but your example is much better than what i had in mind ... haha.

[laugh] thanks for the thought bro [thumbsup]

U beri hard lah...buying or selling sometimes needs a bit of luck...buyers want serious sellers and sellers want serious buyer... the rule of the transaction is build on honest dealing and without an intent to cheat...if everyone skeptical over the transaction, then walk away from it...in TS case, it is jus bad luck to have met someone so dishonest...nt about his dad deserve it or not...if his dad wld have known this would happen, wld he be of a sound mind to deal with them?

some people are keyboard warriors or masters of "hindsight is 20-20"

some things we buy, cannot possibly receive the good immediately after we paid for it.

example, sofa, dining table, properties and cars.

there is always some risk we make payment for these items and the seller defaults on the delivery. we can ask for documents etc but if the company decide to close it down even after issue invoices etc, there is also no guarantee we can get our purchaes delivered to us.

so don't be bothered by such comments

U beri hard lah...buying or selling sometimes needs a bit of luck...buyers want serious sellers and sellers want serious buyer... the rule of the transaction is build on honest dealing and without an intent to cheat...if everyone skeptical over the transaction, then walk away from it...in TS case, it is jus bad luck to have met someone so dishonest...nt about his dad deserve it or not...if his dad wld have known this would happen, wld he be of a sound mind to deal with them?

precisely! u got the point as well [laugh] glad that majority of MCF dude is logical, wise and helpful. hahaha [thumbsup]

Focus on settling your issue and not create more issues....

thats why i nv put our their name first, so as to not create more issue before this is settled.

any more issue r u trying to point out here? pls enlighten me haha

some people are keyboard warriors or masters of "hindsight is 20-20"

some things we buy, cannot possibly receive the good immediately after we paid for it.

example, sofa, dining table, properties and cars.

there is always some risk we make payment for these items and the seller defaults on the delivery. we can ask for documents etc but if the company decide to close it down even after issue invoices etc, there is also no guarantee we can get our purchaes delivered to us.

so don't be bothered by such comments

[thumbsup] [thumbsup]

wont be bothered knowing that such "weird" comments are from the minority of minority.. thanks bro

better not. tables can be turned on you.

since you report LTA, i think you should report police too.... odds does not look good

noted.. tot so too [bigcry] not a wise step hor..

Despite so many people asking TS to name the dealer, TS still does not want to name them.

Why is TS protecting the identity of someone who has cheated their money or.......?

he did share with me via PM....you can PM him.,...i'm sure he will be glad to do that...

haha seen them liao.. they asked for 1 month.. and dad's friend (salesperson) and the sort of "manager" claimed that pls give them the time, to gather the money and such.. also claimed that they wont close down the company for a 20k debt, and on account of my dad's friend they will make sure it is done.

hence, my dad had agreed to give them the time to raise money(as the manager said we can go report LTA/POLICE), as they really had no money to return now etc..

so we had reported to LTA and they said they will call and pressured them to pay up soonest, and if not will press charges again them.

yup. we also asked to sign a guarantee with the "boss" but they claim he is oversea la etc etc.. i got his personal address, should i go down to find him personally? will i be charged for harassment?

there are professional debt collector that you can engage...you can just sit back and let them do the job......this could be the last method for you if all channel had been used and still no way...frankly...such a big company without 22K....this is an empty shell company...

Edited by LoverofCar

there are professional debt collector that you can engage...you can just sit back and let them do the job......this could be the last method for you if all channel had been used and still no way...frankly...such a big company without 22K....this is an empty shell company...

ya but debt collector requires fees upfront + 30-40% of amount to be collected. definitely not worth it.

but one thing u r right. this is the first time he brought a car from a 2nd hand car dealer. well, using COMMON SENSE on this issue:

how would we know:

1) everyone can be friend EXCEPT 2nd hand car dealers?

2) how would we know, that this issue IS an issue if we nv faced such issue before? do a search, and car ownership issue is not so common in this forum as well. How? read every post before buying car ah?

3) give pple benefit of doubt leh, who was born wise? first time buying can know everything? we are just mere commoners leh

4) if the "friend" explained soemthing to u, and u dunno 2nd hand dealers are notorious, how would u know u cannot believed a friend? do u go ard doubting every single friend for his/her words?

We may not know everything.

But I strongly believe that, most of us at least, will, ... when it comes to big ticket items, pay in a manner whereby there's paper/money trail.

I know I would.

One query: While your dad may be short-changed by the dealer, ... is he still happily driving this said vehicle? Cos after all, .. legally speaking, .. he is not the owner. If I'm the bank, ... I'll be seeking to retrieve my asset.

ya but debt collector requires fees upfront + 30-40% of amount to be collected. definitely not worth it.

if all is confirmed lost...at least still have a chance to get back some amount...still worth...

From what I know, these "professional" debt collectors are like gangsters and will go and harass the debtor like loan sharks. If this issue becomes police case, it might backfire as debtor might claim harassment.

Anyway, money is in dealer's hand and car is with TS's dad, so technically they dun owe any money except to get the transfer done.

Pls correct me if I'm wrong.

We may not know everything.

But I strongly believe that, most of us at least, will, ... when it comes to big ticket items, pay in a manner whereby there's paper/money trail.

I know I would.

One query: While your dad may be short-changed by the dealer, ... is he still happily driving this said vehicle? Cos after all, .. legally speaking, .. he is not the owner. If I'm the bank, ... I'll be seeking to retrieve my asset.

When you thought that you are dealing with a "trusted" friend, sometimes you might let loose abit and get caught off-guard. It happens.

If there is any lessons we can draw out of TS's case, maybe it is to take a loan even if you can afford to pay in full as I believe the bank will require the car to be in your name before approving the loan? Interest rates are low after all these days. Even a 1-2 year loan might save the day?

From what I know, these "professional" debt collectors are like gangsters and will go and harass the debtor like loan sharks. If this issue becomes police case, it might backfire as debtor might claim harassment.

Anyway, money is in dealer's hand and car is with TS's dad, so technically they dun owe any money except to get the transfer done.

The question is WHO own the car? TS's dad, dealer, Bank, previous owner.......

depends if the car is still on loan with previous owner anot.... most likely yes thus the transfer cannot be affected. So techinically the car belongs to the bank and not the dealer or TS's dad

if the car has already been full settled, there should not be any problem with the transfer