Billcoke 2nd Gear October 8, 2012 Share October 8, 2012 sharp objects into a plane when they distribute metal knives during meal times? If the security were to stop everyone that carries sharp objects, do you know how long it would take to clear the queue? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Billcoke 2nd Gear October 8, 2012 Share October 8, 2012 actually plastic still can kill if really want to lor. In HK movies, the prisoners used sharpen toothbrush as weapons. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rncw 5th Gear October 8, 2012 Share October 8, 2012 Why ar? maybe their food difficult to cut ???? no lah...it's class.....other airlines took the opportunities to cut cost???? maybe not... in the past, many passengers of SQ tabao the cutleries, cups and whatever they can tabao hom...but now with so much security going on....one have to rethink if they want to put a metal dinner knife in their handcarry or not..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic October 8, 2012 Share October 8, 2012 (edited) Steel cutleries better lah. Good to use and can re-use unlike plastic which sucks big time. As long as the steel cutleries are not as sharp as pen knife, I don't see it as an issue. After all, plastic fork can kill people also if you want to or a simple plastics bag can also used to suffocate people also. They do allow you to bring plain water onboard especially if you have young kids. But, they will scan your water bottle. Didn't know that they have such equipment that can differentiate plain water and other toxic/explosive liquids just by scanning (maciam supermarket counter checkout scanner). Edited October 8, 2012 by Kangadrool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Clubace Clutched October 8, 2012 Share October 8, 2012 Eh?? I thought the security will ask you to take a sip? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rncw 5th Gear October 8, 2012 Share October 8, 2012 Steel cutleries better lah. Good to use and can re-use unlike plastic which sucks big time. As long as the steel cutleries are not as sharp as pen knife, I don't see it as an issue. After all, plastic fork can kill people also if you want to or a simple plastics bag can also used to suffocate people also. They do allow you to bring plain water onboard especially if you have young kids. But, they will scan your water bottle. Didn't know that they have such equipment that can differentiate plain water and other toxic/explosive liquids just by scanning (maciam supermarket counter checkout scanner). yes...most modern scanners can scan different types of drugs, metals, liquids...some older EVD devices can sniff vapours, but newer ones can detect particles.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic October 8, 2012 Share October 8, 2012 Eh?? I thought the security will ask you to take a sip? Never leh. Just asked "Is this plain water for children"? Of course, say "Yes" lah. Then, asked for permission to to scan the water bottle. Kinda farnie. But, if on business trip alone, they will ask you to throw away the water bottle even if no/little fluid inside. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamstart 1st Gear October 8, 2012 Share October 8, 2012 Even the plastic knife, it still can cut you and bleed to death if it is used as a weapon. Make no different. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic October 8, 2012 Share October 8, 2012 (edited) Even the plastic knife, it still can cut you and bleed to death if it is used as a weapon. Make no different. True. Actually, plastic forks are more dangerous than steel forks 'cos they don't do the job well -> food flying all over through slippage, people getting frustrated and venting angers on other passengers/FAs. There's a saying sharp knives don't cut you, but blunt knives will. Try using a blunt knife and chances of accidents are much higher. Edited October 8, 2012 by Kangadrool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear October 8, 2012 Share October 8, 2012 why you never ask the question on the ban of of bringing liquid up to the plane. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic October 8, 2012 Share October 8, 2012 (edited) + 1 A plastic knife if used as weapon, poking into someone's flesh may break and leave the plastic parts inside body. This is no good especially on flights where you normally don't have immediate medical facility. Whereas, a steel fork, if used as weapon to poke into someone's flesh, you can cleanly remove it out (it is unlikely to break and dislodge inside body unless we are talking about those dodgy steel cutleries). Those steel cutleries used on SQ flights are of pretty good quality. Edited October 8, 2012 by Kangadrool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic October 8, 2012 Share October 8, 2012 Nothing wrong with using metal knifes. The rationale is simple. If someone wants to hijack a plane, he will find some way or another, whether sharp objects is allowed or not. So if something is to happen, it will happen, metal knifes or no metal knifes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear October 8, 2012 Share October 8, 2012 i rmb in apr SQ was using plastic cutlery, 2 weeks back i noticed they changed Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic October 8, 2012 Share October 8, 2012 (edited) maybe their food difficult to cut ???? no lah...it's class.....other airlines took the opportunities to cut cost???? maybe not... in the past, many passengers of SQ tabao the cutleries, cups and whatever they can tabao hom...but now with so much security going on....one have to rethink if they want to put a metal dinner knife in their handcarry or not..... Even now when they change back to metal cutleries, still can tabao lo cause usually you tabao when you fly from sgp and not when you back to sgp. Edited October 8, 2012 by 13177 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear October 8, 2012 Share October 8, 2012 They do allow you to bring plain water onboard especially if you have young kids. But, they will scan your water bottle. Didn't know that they have such equipment that can differentiate plain water and other toxic/explosive liquids just by scanning (maciam supermarket counter checkout scanner). Yes, as long as you have a baby, they allow you to bring onboard baby food in jars + liquid even if it exceeds 100ml per bottle limit. In Singapore, i just put the food + water thru the x-ray machine but when coming back to Sin from Sydney, the officer there made me take a sip of the water from the bottle to prove that it is H2O. Anyway, when you have a toddler, it is good. The SQ stewardess came bending over to play with my boy. It sure made me happy as I was sitting along the aisle. Hahahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic October 8, 2012 Share October 8, 2012 Yes, as long as you have a baby, they allow you to bring onboard baby food in jars + liquid even if it exceeds 100ml per bottle limit. In Singapore, i just put the food + water thru the x-ray machine but when coming back to Sin from Sydney, the officer there made me take a sip of the water from the bottle to prove that it is H2O. Anyway, when you have a toddler, it is good. The SQ stewardess came bending over to play with my boy. It sure made me happy as I was sitting along the aisle. Hahahaha The SQ stewardess has nothing to do ar, keep entertaining your boy?! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear October 8, 2012 Share October 8, 2012 The SQ stewardess has nothing to do ar, keep entertaining your boy?! Don't know leh. Before take off, came over to pass him a soft toy (some Power Puff girl plush toy even though he is a boy!) and make some small talk. Then during makan, again come over to ask how is my boy doing and play with him a bit. Then after makan, again came over to pass extra pillows and water and carried my boy for a while while my wife could have her meal. I don't even get such attention when flying biz class during work trip. Hahaha Anyway, I did send in an email to commend on her good service. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Doosan 1st Gear October 8, 2012 Share October 8, 2012 Anyway, when you have a toddler, it is good. The SQ stewardess came bending over to play with my boy' [laugh] s father tis wud be nice yar [thumbsup] ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...