Ngck 3rd Gear October 29, 2012 Share October 29, 2012 took before skoda taxi with my gf from Changi Airport, drop her off at Farrer Road then go Bukit Batok. total journey time 40mins-50mins. cab fare: $64 (boarded at 11 30pm) inclusive of $5 airport surcharge. say cabbie can make $50/hr, work 10 hours. daily cash: $500. expenses: $100 rental $50 fuel. take home $350. $350 x 6, $2100 (sunday off). monthly 7k achievable actually... you think everywhere got passenger like you? lol they will be lucky to get 1 like you once every 2 days. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ngck 3rd Gear October 29, 2012 Share October 29, 2012 Next, will there be an article in the newspaper that says a prostitute can earn $70k per month ? 10-15k per month is normal for freelancer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Swifter78 2nd Gear October 29, 2012 Share October 29, 2012 It's definitely possible. Sat in a taxi couple weeks ago and the driver told me he can earn $100 to $200 (after rental) per day easily just for weekdays! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simonsoh 2nd Gear October 29, 2012 Share October 29, 2012 my question is to the journalist. what levels of verification u do? 7k consistently for how many months? dun just whack one headline like that to sell a few more papers and mislead people... quit 5k stable job to drive taxi and never look back... siao eh... did u counter-check facts and sources with your fellow journalist who reported, few months ago "taxi very hard to make end meet"? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tatty Neutral Newbie October 29, 2012 Share October 29, 2012 10-15k per month is normal for freelancer. are u sure if it is true then why the hell am i working for better start buying KJ gel before other bros beat me to it Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ngck 3rd Gear October 29, 2012 Share October 29, 2012 are u sure if it is true then why the hell am i working for better start buying KJ gel before other bros beat me to it you chio or not? willing to service hundreds of different dicks or not? not a easy job. but at least its a honest job. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achtung 6th Gear October 29, 2012 Share October 29, 2012 I am on your side bro. a taxi driver friend also said IMPOSSIBLE Confirm tua kang lah...In the first place he is driver a silver cab....and he dun drive evening peak hours. 5:30am-9:30am 2pm-6pm. I drive a Comfort Mercs even with my powerful call bookings and strong cooperate jobs also cannot achieve. You all think he can? Haha ask him eat s--t lah.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darthrevan Supercharged October 29, 2012 Share October 29, 2012 its true that blue collar workers are paid more more than an office worker in many countries but there is not much career progression Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tatty Neutral Newbie October 29, 2012 Share October 29, 2012 I am on your side bro. a taxi driver friend also said IMPOSSIBLE if taxi driver willing to say it in public surely he must be telling some truth otherwise the tax man will definitely come after him i remember speaking to a taxi driver (old timer) he said you still can make big bugs but need lobang such as corporate clients (regular bookings) and KTV clients and workers but to get in, it is very difficult the idea is work smart and work hard like a dog does anybody remember thos days when taxi driver (sole breadwinner) can afford to send their children overseas for education today i think if they can send them to our local university without taking loan already tau chio Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vextan 1st Gear October 29, 2012 Share October 29, 2012 if ask me to drive 10 or more hours on the road each day i think i cannot tahan for long. it is very tiring and back breaking. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear October 29, 2012 Share October 29, 2012 (edited) Here is your $7K/mth cabby..guess taxi company is going to increase rental because of this idiot whole hole Edited October 29, 2012 by LoverofCar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alim 1st Gear October 29, 2012 Share October 29, 2012 Here is your $7K/mth cabby..guess taxi company is going to increase rental because of this idiot whole hole It is either this guy Tua Kang or rest of taxi drivers are stupid. If not, Silver Cab is better than Comfort Delgro and Trans-cab. The increase amounts to a monthly income of $5,906, based on 28 days, or about $2,953 per driver per shift, reported the newspaper. ComfortDelGro spokesman Tammy Tan said that the company saw a steady rise in net income from November 2011 to March 2012. Trans-Cab, which is the second largest operator with about 4,400 taxis, told The Straits Times that its drivers also saw a 20 to 30 per cent increase in earnings. Cabbies who are on a single shift - meaning those without relief drivers - earn about $3,200 a month now, while those who are a cab with a relief driver earn an average of $2,500 to $2,800 a month, said Trans-Cab general manager Jasmine Tan. Source: Asiaone Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear October 29, 2012 Share October 29, 2012 Mmmmm........I should start thinking of getting a TDVL liao when my ride's COE's finishes..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kennnny 3rd Gear October 29, 2012 Share October 29, 2012 http://www.straitstimes.com/through-the-le...XLVlqk.facebook For those driving taxi, do note that this $7k earner is telling You to discipline yourself.lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hqmcsmm Neutral Newbie October 29, 2012 Share October 29, 2012 think its possible. but its once in a blue blue moon. its possible only with very very very very good luck. that means he plays ping pong in only cbd area for 12hrs str8.. maybr plus a bit of call n pte booking. if not quite hard to maintain such record. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yardo Clutched October 30, 2012 Share October 30, 2012 The report could have been more objective. A layman like me who read this news will be misled by it. I believe such cases are few and far between. There are a lot of cabbies who are struggling out there and this exposure does not help them at all. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SGCMniceguy Clutched October 30, 2012 Share October 30, 2012 can we convert private car to taxi when COE finish? BMW taxi never seen on the road ler...sure earn big bucks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ryu 5th Gear October 30, 2012 Share October 30, 2012 It is either this guy Tua Kang or rest of taxi drivers are stupid. If not, Silver Cab is better than Comfort Delgro and Trans-cab. The increase amounts to a monthly income of $5,906, based on 28 days, or about $2,953 per driver per shift, reported the newspaper. ComfortDelGro spokesman Tammy Tan said that the company saw a steady rise in net income from November 2011 to March 2012. Trans-Cab, which is the second largest operator with about 4,400 taxis, told The Straits Times that its drivers also saw a 20 to 30 per cent increase in earnings. Cabbies who are on a single shift - meaning those without relief drivers - earn about $3,200 a month now, while those who are a cab with a relief driver earn an average of $2,500 to $2,800 a month, said Trans-Cab general manager Jasmine Tan. Source: Asiaone Since their earnings have been increasing, shouldn't they stop increasing fare prices or even reduce it. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...