Simplybay Clutched December 28, 2012 Share December 28, 2012 i got my belt snapped yesterday. lucky straight road. steering super heavy...need to pull very hard... now at EA err...why go EA huh...sure kena carrot... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count_duku 4th Gear December 28, 2012 Share December 28, 2012 (edited) i got my belt snapped yesterday. lucky straight road. steering super heavy...need to pull very hard... now at EA That's the aux belt that runs the power steering and water pump (not the timing chain). At what mileage? I think I saw in the EA service booklet to change around 70,000km, which should be done during the EA scheduled maintenance (can't remember whether mine was changed or not). My car is already 133,000km now and Peter said the aux belt still looked okay during my last service at AS, probably was changed before during warranty period. Edited December 28, 2012 by Count_duku Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simplybay Clutched December 28, 2012 Share December 28, 2012 That's the aux belt that runs the power steering and water pump (not the timing chain). At what mileage? I think I saw in the EA service booklet to change around 70,000km, which should be done during the EA scheduled maintenance (can't remember whether mine was changed or not). My car is already 133,000km now and Peter said the aux belt still looked okay during my last service at AS, probably was changed before during warranty period. Sorry, correct me if I'm wrong. I thought aux or accessory belt is for alternator, compressor and power steering, and water pump should be from main chain/belt right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Desmojon 1st Gear December 28, 2012 Share December 28, 2012 Seems like my 2012 159 still need to lift off before changing gear leh I thought it's been all sorted out Liao? That is the joy part of driving the 159. Why would they sort that out? Just kidding. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rexter Clutched December 28, 2012 Share December 28, 2012 Hi everyone, finally got a 159 (yr 2010)! can i ask the following: 1) My brakes screech everytime. i was told it's normal because they are metallic brakes. Is that true? 2) How do u avoid jerks at gear 1? It's a big problem when the vehicle is slow in jams or going up/down slopes. Any tips? 3) My acceleration at gear 1 & 2 sucks. can easily lose out to any jap sedans. Any tips? 4) When I'm switching from reverse gear to gear 1, sometimes it does not read and stays in Neutral. Is this common with u all? 5) I will be doing servicing soon for 60k. any advice on what to replace? any recommendations for stockist/ supplier for the engine oil/ aircon filter, etc? 6) Is the original headlight yellow or xenon? HID? Thanks & have a happy new yr ahead! :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theredstar 2nd Gear December 28, 2012 Share December 28, 2012 1) My brakes screech everytime. i was told it's normal because they are metallic brakes. Is that true? Not sure 2) How do u avoid jerks at gear 1? It's a big problem when the vehicle is slow in jams or going up/down slopes. Any tips? Drive 'manual' 3) My acceleration at gear 1 & 2 sucks. can easily lose out to any jap sedans. Any tips? Same here. But lifting off and heavy right foot helps!! 4) When I'm switching from reverse gear to gear 1, sometimes it does not read and stays in Neutral. Is this common with u all? Yes 5) I will be doing servicing soon for 60k. any advice on what to replace? any recommendations for stockist/ supplier for the engine oil/ aircon filter, etc? Let Peter advise ba 6) Is the original headlight yellow or xenon? HID? Yellow halogen Thanks & have a happy new yr ahead! :) Enjoy!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear December 28, 2012 Share December 28, 2012 Let me try to ans based on my little experience... -> Hi everyone, finally got a 159 (yr 2010)! can i ask the following: 1) My brakes screech everytime. i was told it's normal because they are metallic brakes. Is that true? most of the time the brakes will screech.. esp if they are the stock brakes or performance pads... i solved mine after changing what uncle quek got for me... 2) How do u avoid jerks at gear 1? It's a big problem when the vehicle is slow in jams or going up/down slopes. Any tips? After a while u will learn to play with your throttle and know that the gear has the 'bite' before depressing further.. that prevents the jerks on low gears. But sometimes it is quite difficult and tiring and slow during start stop traffic.. a jerk now and then ok lah... 3) My acceleration at gear 1 & 2 sucks. can easily lose out to any jap sedans. Any tips? Put on S and manual mode... throttle in about 70% of the way, and change gear at 4.5k rpm. Prob can win a bit... but thats a lot of petrol just to win.. i prefer the chill approach. Drive a bit slower let others admire your ride. 4) When I'm switching from reverse gear to gear 1, sometimes it does not read and stays in Neutral. Is this common with u all? Dont depress the accel too fast when u switch between 1 and R. let it gear in before u move. See the readout from the dash, or just wait like a tad longer. 5) I will be doing servicing soon for 60k. any advice on what to replace? any recommendations for stockist/ supplier for the engine oil/ aircon filter, etc? let workshop tells you. 6) Is the original headlight yellow or xenon? HID? Original for the 2.2 is the sad yellow bulb. Change HID and you can blow your Fuse49 as according to EA, our 2.2 doesnt come with the headlight spray, so it will overheat, damage your body computer, and you will be making a lot of trips there. Thanks & have a happy new yr ahead! :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saabretooth 2nd Gear December 28, 2012 Share December 28, 2012 Hi everyone, finally got a 159 (yr 2010)! can i ask the following: 1) My brakes screech everytime. i was told it's normal because they are metallic brakes. Is that true? Yes Or get ready to replace the discs 2) How do u avoid jerks at gear 1? It's a big problem when the vehicle is slow in jams or going up/down slopes. Any tips? Avoid, no Lessen yes. How? Practice. 3) My acceleration at gear 1 & 2 sucks. can easily lose out to any jap sedans. Any tips? Don't race japs Or Tweak tune or sprint booster. 4) When I'm switching from reverse gear to gear 1, sometimes it does not read and stays in Neutral. Is this common with u all? Yes. Slow down your switch of gear or monitor to change your battery. 5) I will be doing servicing soon for 60k. any advice on what to replace? any recommendations for stockist/ supplier for the engine oil/ aircon filter, etc? Answered 6) Is the original headlight yellow or xenon? HID? Answered Thanks & have a happy new yr ahead! :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear December 28, 2012 Share December 28, 2012 Maybe EA should read this before telling everyone what headlight washers do. High Intensity Discharge lamps Headlight globesHID headlamps are becoming increasingly popular as original equipment on new cars. They are a gas discharge lamp that produces light by means of an electric arc between two electrodes housed inside a transparent quartz envelope. They are electrically more efficient and have a higher light output compared to conventional incandescent lights because a greater proportion of their radiation is in visible light as opposed to heat. The light they emit may appear to have a blue tinge, particularly around the peripheries of the beam, but it is actually whiter than that produced by a standard halogen lamp. Due to their higher light output, HID lamps must comply with a specific set of Australian Design Rules. These include specifics as to light colour, proportions of specified light wavelengths (including blue wavelengths) and ultra violet (UV) emissions. Self levelling systems and headlight washers are also required to off-set the increased risk of dazzling other drivers. Vehicle manufacturers sometimes refer to HID lamps as Xenon or Bi-Xenon lamps. However these should not be confused with conventional incandescent bulbs that use xenon gas in their glass envelope. http://www.racq.com.au/motoring/cars/car_a...eets/headlights http://wiki.answers.com/Q/On_a_car_why_are...ave_xeon_lights Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count_duku 4th Gear December 28, 2012 Share December 28, 2012 Sorry, correct me if I'm wrong. I thought aux or accessory belt is for alternator, compressor and power steering, and water pump should be from main chain/belt right? Yes Yes the alternator, not the water pump .. I remember it did a few jobs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Desmojon 1st Gear December 28, 2012 Share December 28, 2012 Hi everyone, finally got a 159 (yr 2010)! Welcome to the club! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simplybay Clutched December 28, 2012 Share December 28, 2012 Welcome to the club! Welcome to the dark side 黑黑那边 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jaf78 1st Gear December 28, 2012 Share December 28, 2012 (edited) err...why go EA huh...sure kena carrot... car stranded on roadside... sin ming guys occupied. collected car today....price ok lah... below two small finger milage 60k... Edited December 28, 2012 by Jaf78 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Desmojon 1st Gear December 28, 2012 Share December 28, 2012 Welcome to the dark side 黑黑那边 不是那边,是这边。 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic December 28, 2012 Share December 28, 2012 Hi everyone, finally got a 159 (yr 2010)! can i ask the following: 1) My brakes screech everytime. i was told it's normal because they are metallic brakes. Is that true? 2) How do u avoid jerks at gear 1? It's a big problem when the vehicle is slow in jams or going up/down slopes. Any tips? 3) My acceleration at gear 1 & 2 sucks. can easily lose out to any jap sedans. Any tips? 4) When I'm switching from reverse gear to gear 1, sometimes it does not read and stays in Neutral. Is this common with u all? 5) I will be doing servicing soon for 60k. any advice on what to replace? any recommendations for stockist/ supplier for the engine oil/ aircon filter, etc? 6) Is the original headlight yellow or xenon? HID? Thanks & have a happy new yr ahead! :) congrats! guess u have gotten the answer for all. but for 3.. what jap sedans u lose to? quite unlikely unless its Lexus or the Type Rs or maybe the Mark X. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dna_engine 3rd Gear December 28, 2012 Share December 28, 2012 Hi everyone, finally got a 159 (yr 2010)! can i ask the following: 1) My brakes screech everytime. i was told it's normal because they are metallic brakes. Is that true? 2) How do u avoid jerks at gear 1? It's a big problem when the vehicle is slow in jams or going up/down slopes. Any tips? 3) My acceleration at gear 1 & 2 sucks. can easily lose out to any jap sedans. Any tips? 4) When I'm switching from reverse gear to gear 1, sometimes it does not read and stays in Neutral. Is this common with u all? 5) I will be doing servicing soon for 60k. any advice on what to replace? any recommendations for stockist/ supplier for the engine oil/ aircon filter, etc? 6) Is the original headlight yellow or xenon? HID? Thanks & have a happy new yr ahead! :) For #3, I had the same complain when I got my car. 4 months ago I remapped the ECU and because the torque comes in earlier, the pick up is much better. Decided to try because there was a 7 day money back guarantee and they were having a half price promo. I would suggest that you drive your car for at least a month before you do the remap as they will download your ECU and map it to your driving style. It all computers but it took 3 hours to download my entire ECU. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Desmojon 1st Gear December 29, 2012 Share December 29, 2012 congrats! guess u have gotten the answer for all. but for 3.. what jap sedans u lose to? quite unlikely unless its Lexus or the Type Rs or maybe the Mark X. Yes, the Lexus is a hard fight. Recently a sporty looking GS300 seems very unhappy about my slow pick up at traffic light and zoom past after tailgating for a while. As Saabretooth said the 159 is no slow poke on the move so I floored the throttle and enter into a cornering match on the series of bend leading to BKE from BPJ. Sticking on 3rd gear I slingshot ahead and from outside line manage to close the door as the road narrows. I think I was lucky. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic December 29, 2012 Share December 29, 2012 Yes, the Lexus is a hard fight. Recently a sporty looking GS300 seems very unhappy about my slow pick up at traffic light and zoom past after tailgating for a while. As Saabretooth said the 159 is no slow poke on the move so I floored the throttle and enter into a cornering match on the series of bend leading to BKE from BPJ. Sticking on 3rd gear I slingshot ahead and from outside line manage to close the door as the road narrows. I think I was lucky. I think the Lexus driver has no balls to chiong corner. except the CT200h and the Altezza IS200, the rest of the Lexus will smoke us all lol. but drive safe bro. Alfa insurance will not be cheap if there are claims. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...