Zero Dark Thirty

Vulcann

Well we know the answer yes?

Whoever with the biggest fist WINS...

In Hokkien terms - Toa Sia Yia! [;)]

That is what US found out after the victorious gulfwar 1 - even with big fist, the conventional warfare we saw in early 1990s has evolved into asymmetrical war after failure of Iraqi freedom and along with pro-longed engagement in Afghanistan.

Once US got Osama in "whatever means necessary" (George W Bush's words), Obama decided to cut their lost and withdrew heavy forces from Afghanistan, when Osama wasn't within the country for years!

Today, we do not see F15/16 or B1 doing large-scale attacks - only drones and very few special forces on the ground - that mirrors US withdrawal from Vietnam leaving little or no military presence in the place they had invaded previously.

So big fist does not = winning formular.

That is what US found out after the victorious gulfwar 1 - even with big fist, the conventional warfare we saw in early 1990s has evolved into asymmetrical war after failure of Iraqi freedom and along with pro-longed engagement in Afghanistan.

Once US got Osama in "whatever means necessary" (George W Bush's words), Obama decided to cut their lost and withdrew heavy forces from Afghanistan, when Osama wasn't within the country for years!

Today, we do not see F15/16 or B1 doing large-scale attacks - only drones and very few special forces on the ground - that mirrors US withdrawal from Vietnam leaving little or no military presence in the place they had invaded previously.

Akin to using Tomahawks to kill mosquitoes in the past?

Anyway they are adapting accordingly like you mentioned.

Not too long folks were still using UAVs purely for recce ops but now drones armed with Hellfires are sending so-called terrorists to meet their makers as we speak.

That is technology for you.

erm, i watched til 35th min and decided to continue some other day...

what you think? :D

Bro you really wet blanket leh [:(]

Looks like have to wait for Episodes VII, VIII & VIV then liao...

Akin to using Tomahawks to kill mosquitoes in the past?

Anyway they are adapting accordingly like you mentioned.

Not too long folks were still using UAVs purely for recce ops but now drones armed with Hellfires are sending so-called terrorists to meet their makers as we speak.That is technology for you.

And yet with all these hi tec toys, spies and special troops, it was through means of large scale tortures, imprisonments, espionage and very human method of intelligence gathering that finally ended the 10 years search for OBL.

This Movie only serves to put more question on the methods and legitimacy behind the decade long "war against terror" waged by not by just US administrations and CIA, but also highlight the censorious and secretiveness of how it actually ended.

The problem just like in vietnam is the lack of commitment to the cause. So what 911 alot of people die. Though everyone is angry no one wants to keep fighting and lose their children in the fight. Its not a war where their very survival is threatened.

Bro, I recommend you should watch this outstanding 2004 docu - far better than we get from Hollywood's so called docu-movies.

It tells about anger-driven ordinary people into ready to keep fighting - in a war that their see their country existence and way of life is threatened.

Made and reported by 1-man-1-camara award-winning Sean journalist in Iraq a few months after "Mission Accomplished" -

sean-langan-460_1013130c.jpg

Very very sad.

From this, you can understand and even smell the reasons behind those anger in ordinary Iraqis and how the US tactics had generated mistrusts.

All these taken even before the infamous abuses @ Abu Ghraib prisons and growing insurgence exposed in 2004.

US major media never ever covered these real occurances before the Americans realise Iraq had turn into another Vietnam.

Even the Iraqi insurgent refer to Vietnam when Sean interview one of those groups during the early days.

movieposter.jpg

zero dark thirty is from a CIA perspective

operation gremieo is from seals perspective

if you looking for action you be disappointed but it is still quite interesting how at last the operation got sanctioned

Good show and I was entertained. Controversy over the torture scenes but after watching season after season of 24, the debate of torture has lost its meaning for me.

Just watched it.

Head started spinning over the names mentioned in the first hour plus... [dizzy]

Action began last 40min when the Team 6 guys started suiting up until Geronimo was taken down.

Torture scenes controversial.

Just watched it.

Head started spinning over the names mentioned in the first hour plus... [dizzy]

Action began last 40min when the Team 6 guys started suiting up until Geronimo was taken down.

Torture scenes controversial.

you watched operation germeio not zero dark thirty??

Bo le watched ZDT.

The confusion arised because the hunt for OBL was rumoured to be code-named Operation Geronimo but was "clarified" by the US gov that it was actually named Operation Neptune Spear after native Americans raised protests as Geronimo was a early well-respected Apache who eluded capture by the authorities.

But according to those in the know OBL was still tagged as Geronimo and when he was fatally struck down by the SEALs it was reported that they radioed back "Geronimo EKIA" meaning the target was enemy killed in action.

Neptune Spear was incidentally the trident on the badge of every proud SEAL's service dress:

US_Navy_SEALs_insignia.png

Source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/United_States_Navy_SEALs

Wah, the names mentioned in the show is [knife]

Anyway, there are other movies/ shows about the operation.

Edited by Puteh83

Wah, the names mentioned in the show is [knife]

Anyway, there are other movies/ shows about the operation.

Ya lo even the many characters involved also don't know who they were or what parts they played exactly.

For those who just wana see the action part and do not want their head spinning do come in ONLY during the last 40mins of the performance [laugh]

wah cheem..... thanks for sharing...

you can watch operation germeio too, perspective from team six point of view

All from wiki bro. All from wiki [;)]

Ya lo even the many characters involved also don't know who they were or what parts they played exactly.

For those who just wana see the action part and do not want their head spinning do come in ONLY during the last 40mins of the performance [laugh]

but damn zhai lah the strike team..

need just one body bag... haha