Consider Drivers occupation for COE

Unfortunately you forget high COE makes the resale market go up too

How does that in anyway increase affordability?

What if there are no ways to get around paying so much for a car even if they worked their butts off?

Go key in "S$20,000 to S$30,000" under used car in sgcarmart ....... there are some decent finds within the budget ... for example the 1st generation Toyota VIOS .......

I have been in sales since my 1st job in Y1990 ...... I only bot my first new car in Y2005 .... before that all my cars were re-sale. Like I said there is a cheaper alternative ..... why die die must talk about new car and COE ????

There is a Y2005 Hyundai Getz going at 12,800 .... which is decent ... as there is another 3 years left on the COE. Young people should lower their expectations ..... start a new sales job .... and start to think about buying a new car ????? I have "real life" encounter ... a young Diploma Holder on his first job was promoted to do sales in the company. He do not need to buy a car as the company provide him with a company van during office hours ..... but he choose to take the S$650 monthly transport allowance and buy a brand new MIK car on a ten years loan ....

I disagree with your point for the fact that there are alway choices ...... I support high COE for the fact that our road are getting very crowded and COE is not serving it's purpose.

Edited by Civic6228

There's a lot of people that will need a car.. lots of family, in fact big family that needs a car.. but world is not fair.. if cannot afford, then dun drive. Period.

Imagine all the so call give COE to those ho needs it more gets implemented.. then next will be low income family of 6 stay in 3 room flat, middle income family of 4 stay in 5 room flat, high income earner family of 4 stay in nice private property, and still have another 1-3properties to collect rent.. not fair not fair.. the high income earner earn so much property already still need to collect rent for what.. bla bla..

If all the arguments are for abolishing COE n suggest other viable ways to contain car population, then ok.. but all these losers kpkb suggestions ready make it shown why they are struggling in life with cost of living.

There's a lot of people that will need a car.. lots of family, in fact big family that needs a car.. but world is not fair.. if cannot afford, then dun drive. Period.

Imagine all the so call give COE to those ho needs it more gets implemented.. then next will be low income family of 6 stay in 3 room flat, middle income family of 4 stay in 5 room flat, high income earner family of 4 stay in nice private property, and still have another 1-3properties to collect rent.. not fair not fair.. the high income earner earn so much property already still need to collect rent for what.. bla bla..

If all the arguments are for abolishing COE n suggest other viable ways to contain car population, then ok.. but all these losers kpkb suggestions ready make it shown why they are struggling in life with cost of living.

+1.

The world is never fair.Just have to find ur own way to adapt.

Go key in "S$20,000 to S$30,000" under used car in sgcarmart ....... there are some decent finds within the budget ... for example the 1st generation Toyota VIOS .......

I have been in sales since my 1st job in Y1990 ...... I only bot my first new car in Y2005 .... before that all my cars were re-sale. Like I said there is a cheaper alternative ..... why die die must talk about new car and COE ????

There is a Y2005 Hyundai Getz going at 12,800 .... which is decent ... as there is another 3 years left on the COE. Young people should lower their expectations ..... start a new sales job .... and start to think about buying a new car ????? I have "real life" encounter ... a young Diploma Holder on his first job was promoted to do sales in the company. He do not need to buy a car as the company provide him with a company van during office hours ..... but he choose to take the S$650 monthly transport allowance and buy a brand new MIK car on a ten years loan ....

I disagree with your point for the fact that there are alway choices ...... I support high COE for the fact that our road are getting very crowded and COE is not serving it's purpose.

http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/listing.php?PRC=14

change a car every 2-3years and lose 24k or more on a car in this period??

I think if there is a non-monetary alternative, all of these can be obtained for a mere fraction of their prices. As they should be.

Your example is fortunate but think about people like insurance agents, property agents? What about people who provide other services?

These dont have such options.

I support traffic control in that yes roads are crowded and must be maintained. There must be a form of control but definitely not COE where we are paying through our noses and without much use

http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/listing.php?PRC=14

change a car every 2-3years and lose 24k or more on a car in this period??

I think if there is a non-monetary alternative, all of these can be obtained for a mere fraction of their prices. As they should be.

Your example is fortunate but think about people like insurance agents, property agents? What about people who provide other services?

These dont have such options.

I support traffic control in that yes roads are crowded and must be maintained. There must be a form of control but definitely not COE where we are paying through our noses and without much use

Beggars can't choose isn't it ?????

Your example are poor .... both my property and insurance agents do not own a car....... and they are still doing pretty decent for their jobs. My property agent tell me that she prefer to be driven as it freed her the time and concentration if she has to drive. She can talk to a lot of more of her clients when she is taking public transportation.

Your point do not hold water for me and this is the third time I am quoting .... why did die must buy new car and talk about COE ? There are alternatives ....

If a "mature" person take a new job, I am pretty sure that he/she knows what is the expectations/demand for the job .... and he/she has a choice of whether or not to take the job offer.

many people think 2nd hand sucks coz of lemons, etc..

they have this thinking.

-people sold this car means sure got problems somewhere

-people drive until time to overhaul wear and tear parts. i buy cheap also must pay alot to repair

people should look at depreciation before buying car..

new car= 10-15k depreciation/year (assuming car+COE=150k)

TWO 5 year old cars @annual depreciation of 6000/year

total still spend less

Edited by Mllcg

If like this also can then suddenly everyone will have a 2nd job as salesman.... find another partner then can I sell to you, you sell to me... voila!

Edited by Tjkbeluga

Like that the pimps of Geylang should have priority as they need to ferry the gals to and fro different houses........ [lipsrsealed][laugh]

Beggars can't choose isn't it ?????

Your example are poor .... both my property and insurance agents do not own a car....... and they are still doing pretty decent for their jobs. My property agent tell me that she prefer to be driven as it freed her the time and concentration if she has to drive. She can talk to a lot of more of her clients when she is taking public transportation.

Your point do not hold water for me and this is the third time I am quoting .... why did die must buy new car and talk about COE ? There are alternatives ....

If a "mature" person take a new job, I am pretty sure that he/she knows what is the expectations/demand for the job .... and he/she has a choice of whether or not to take the job offer.

Who doesnt prefer to be driven? If she has that option then its wonderful for her to have someone drive her at her call. Otherwise normal people would need to take public transport.

I showed you the option of getting a used car. Sure you pay 30k but you lose 20 odd k within 2 years. Is that palatable to you for an old vehicle? Not for me.

As I have mentioned, if the country worked that way then I guess many some of those industries would be collapsing now for sure mate

For the matter i dont support people in certain occupations having certain benefits. I believe in a non-monetary replacement to COE that is STATISTICALLY fair to all segments of the population

Edited by Cerano

http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.ph...035&DL=2578

Take this vehicle for example.

25k now. 2015 (2 years)

get back 11k?

Lose 14k over two years and then have to spend time finding another car in that short time again?

7k depreciation per year?

why not?

i buy a new car for 150k.

COE is alr 9k/year FLAT

drive 10 years no rebate hor.

and assuming ARF is 50k,

u get back 25k, its still 10k/year depreciation

7k depreciation per year?

why not?

i buy a new car for 150k.

COE is alr 9k/year FLAT

drive 10 years no rebate hor.

and assuming ARF is 50k,

u get back 25k, its still 10k/year depreciation

simply because of the fact that its an old vehicle. There is a lower perceived value. Im not getting enjoyment. If i buy a new vehicle im losing money in order to enjoy its newness and features.

To quote an analogy its like how I dont mind paying 200 or 300 for a meal at good restaurant but i would cringe at paying 70-100 at a tze char stall.

Edited by Cerano

simply because of the fact that its an old vehicle. There is a lower perceived value. Im not getting enjoyment. If i buy a new vehicle im losing money in order to enjoy its newness and features.

To quote an analogy its like how I dont mind paying 200 or 300 for a meal at good restaurant but i would cringe at paying 70-100 at a tze char stall.

if this is how u think, then just pay the COE and dont complain the high prices

aiya ... one word ... "new"

everyone wants new car, who don't want?

Beyond all the discussion or accepting it as reality of life, we have to consider certain ideas we take to be true.

Is all this implicit taxation free or justified? Regardless of whether we can afford it or not.

if this is how u think, then just pay the COE and dont complain the high prices

This is too simplistic a view of the world. I pay and I can afford it no problem you know my track record. However think about others. Not only yourself. Think of those falling in the cracks. Not everyone is as privileged as we are to be able to afford luxury cars no matter the COE

yeah. but there are others also who can comfortable afford a 2nd hand but refuse to and buy new with complaints about COE....

these are the kind im referring to

yeah. but there are others also who can comfortable afford a 2nd hand but refuse to and buy new with complaints about COE....

these are the kind im referring to

Actually i dont think any solution will make everyone happy its just not possible [laugh]