Pisces69 6th Gear January 29, 2013 Share January 29, 2013 If your car got no fancy led, ice and etc, just replace with the same amp battery. Higher cca are meant for cold countries because they need extra power just to crank the engine when cold. When you expend more power just to crank on a higher cca battery, the longer it takes for the alternator to charge the battery. Mix with singapore's start stop traffic, the battery wont last long unless you upgrade the alternator too. As for the battery, you get what you pay for. Higher CCA better fr SG also. Easier to start on cold mornings. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear January 29, 2013 Share January 29, 2013 amaron, mine lasted 2yrs 2mths and still kicking alive... however, i went to jb WS last wk do someting else and at the same time juz change to another amaron... haha JB got sell Amaron? I looked around cannot find. Is it cheaper there fr same model n specs compared to SG? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pms 3rd Gear January 29, 2013 Share January 29, 2013 Singapore how cold can it be? 28C? Sometimes it does feel shiok with a quick single crank sound startup. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear January 29, 2013 Share January 29, 2013 Singapore how cold can it be? 28C? Sometimes it does feel shiok with a quick single crank sound startup. Still can affect e starting power especially as e battery gets older. More CCA is like additional reserve power to draw on. U dun hv it u cannot start yr car n need to call AA. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic January 29, 2013 Share January 29, 2013 Singapore how cold can it be? 28C? Sometimes it does feel shiok with a quick single crank sound startup. If you drive conti, higher CCA is very useful. You will be surprised conti batt easily conk off w/o warning in the raining morning. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tungsl Clutched January 29, 2013 Share January 29, 2013 I beg the differ. Idling does charge the battery. so who is right and who is not so right i am confused please help de-blur me on this charging issue thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic January 29, 2013 Share January 29, 2013 so who is right and who is not so right i am confused please help de-blur me on this charging issue thanks Even if it charges during idling, the charge is too minimal. Yup, charging only happens after certain rpm. Best is > 2,500 rpm. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingkong 5th Gear January 29, 2013 Author Share January 29, 2013 If you drive conti, higher CCA is very useful. You will be surprised conti batt easily conk off w/o warning in the raining morning. My initial flat was experienced after 3 days of constant raining and not using the car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic January 29, 2013 Share January 29, 2013 Alternator charging current for the battery depends on how deeply discharged it was and what is the charging voltage. Not all alternator has the same output voltage, some more, some less; assuming its voltage regulator is working properly. AH capacity just means how long it takes for the alternator to fully charge the battery, assuming the battery is in good condition. A badly sulphated battery means it can be fully charged in a short period of time, but can only hold a small amount of energy. So comparing 35 vs 45 AH battery alone, does not mean much to the alternator. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear January 29, 2013 Share January 29, 2013 Have a look at the engine crankshaft pulley and the alternator pulley. Alternator pulley is about 1/3 of the driving pulley that is the cranks shaft pulley. So if yr engine is idling at 800rpm , yr alternator will be turning at 2,400rpm. At this rpm , the amp output will be very minute , maybe about 2amp , which is sufficient to powere the ignition system at other engine related acc but no spare amp available to be stored in the battery. To generate excess amp , the min engine rev is about 2,000rpm. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tungsl Clutched January 29, 2013 Share January 29, 2013 Have a look at the engine crankshaft pulley and the alternator pulley. Alternator pulley is about 1/3 of the driving pulley that is the cranks shaft pulley. So if yr engine is idling at 800rpm , yr alternator will be turning at 2,400rpm. At this rpm , the amp output will be very minute , maybe about 2amp , which is sufficient to powere the ignition system at other engine related acc but no spare amp available to be stored in the battery. To generate excess amp , the min engine rev is about 2,000rpm. but when i drive highway my rpm is about 1500 to 1800 only so does that mean my alternator will be sleeping while his other brothers and sisters are working like hell thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear January 29, 2013 Share January 29, 2013 There will be charging taking place but at very low amp but no excess amp to be stored in the battery if the voltage is floating at 13.8volt. Generally the alternator is regulated to continously charge the battery ( if the voltage is below 13.8volt) and supply amp to the engine system at not more than 5 amp. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear January 29, 2013 Share January 29, 2013 Most of the US new cars now come equipped with smart charging system using calcium battery. The charging rate don't depend on the engine speeds, but on the amp demand. The decision is carried out by the on-board computer which will monitor the battery voltage and the the power requirements, from here it will decide how much the alternator should generate. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ril3k 1st Gear January 29, 2013 Share January 29, 2013 good thread! learned much tdy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear January 29, 2013 Share January 29, 2013 my amaron lasted me 3 years, it didnt die yet when i changed but became rather swollen. ws advise to change as it may die soon. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tungsl Clutched January 29, 2013 Share January 29, 2013 There will be charging taking place but at very low amp but no excess amp to be stored in the battery if the voltage is floating at 13.8volt. Generally the alternator is regulated to continously charge the battery ( if the voltage is below 13.8volt) and supply amp to the engine system at not more than 5 amp. how come you know so much about cars some more so detail Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear January 29, 2013 Share January 29, 2013 I am a automotive tool & equipment salesman for donkey years. In the course of my selling I had to spend many hours demonstrating auto tools and after getting the sales I had to teach the mech how to use them. Now semi retire doing online sales only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tungsl Clutched January 29, 2013 Share January 29, 2013 I am a automotive tool & equipment salesman for donkey years. In the course of my selling I had to spend many hours demonstrating auto tools and after getting the sales I had to teach the mech how to use them. Now semi retire doing online sales only. singapore too small doing online sales you must have a huge house to keep your inventory by the way, guru can ask one question recently i had to replace my car O2 sensor, there are 2 or 3 i think each with labor, the authorise dealer charge me nearly $700 (after discount) but when i looked at ebay they are going for less than less than US$50 what would be your personal opinion? do you think we car owners kena carrot ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...