SG to introduce new coins in mid 2013

Altivo

i do like the new $1..

thats all i like about this new series. LOL

the rest of the designs are just abit =/

Edited by Mllcg

Is it still copper-nickel coins or now steel coins?

Alot of countries making the move to steel coins cos copper-nickel too expensive already.

i doubt will be steel la..

too heavy

The notes are more in need for revamp. Don't like one design for all denomination and having a human on dollar note is a bad idea. Should put flowers or orchids or monuments as design themes instead. I like the old orchid and bird series.

i want sg to change to all plastic notes.

currently only our $2, $5 and $10 are plastic :(

Edited by Mllcg

The design is just like the EURO coins -_-

New design

Euro coins

SINGAPORE: Singapore will have a whole new set of coins in circulation by the middle of this year.

The existing series, depicting Singapore as a garden city, has been around for more than 25 years.

But they'll soon make way for the third series - featuring new and updated landmarks.

For example, HDB flats - home to more than 80 per cent of Singaporeans - will be featured on the 10-cent coin... and the Esplanade on the 5-cent coin.

And to make it easier for the visually-impaired, the denomination numerals have been enlarged.

The coins will also increase in size according to denomination.

Foo-Yap Siew Hong, Assistant Managing Director of the Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS), said: "We need to renew for two purposes. One is to update the designs, as well as to put in anti-counterfeiting measures, such as the dollar coin for example, you put in the bi-metallic content as well as the Vanda Miss Joaquim as an additional feature."

MAS says it is working with transport operators and vending machine operators to ensure coin-operated machines are calibrated to accept both old and new coins.

And to ensure a smooth transition, the current series will continue to be legal tender, as they are phased out over the next four years.

- CNA/de

Quickly go and keep the present $0.20 coins.

Washing bay machines may not be able to accept the new coins.

The design is just like the EURO coins -_- New design

Wah! I like the $1 embossed Merlion while retaining the 八卦 sign.

Also glad the 4 official languages is retained in the backside.

coin-infocus.pngcoin-back-infocus.png

275px-Bagua-name-earlier.svg.png

Where were you when the coins change the last time? Memory lane.

The bagua was a big deal in my kiddie circle then. :-)

The fish beautiful series. The lion fish ho say Liao!

Change. Ever more.

Hee hee

looks like many vending machines and kiddie rides have to change the coin mechanism soon

theres actually 1 big question..

will MAS make both series of coins run together,

or must we go bank change all to the new series only

As long as it's same size, they wan to do what also can, don't be like our neighbour, change all the size of their coins, make is so difficult to use, their 10RM and 20RM note similar colour, so many kena cheated......

coins%20lineup%2025.png

size comparison

Heard from news is both concurrently can be used...so machines has to be able to accomodate both series.....

MAS says it has been working with public transport operators to ensure that coin-operated machines at MRT/LRT stations are calibrated to accept both the current and new series coins before the launch.

It has also been working with businesses with coin-operated facilities such as vending machine operators and supermarkets to prepare them for the launch.

And to ensure a smooth transition, the current series will continue to be legal tender, as they are phased out over the next four years.

Edited by Dankoo

When these new coins introduce, does it mean old coins cannot be used anymore? [:/]

LOL...you scroll your mouse roller up 2 times you'll find the answer...

But it also mentioned it will be phased out over the next four years? [:/]

U still can use the old series as it will still be legal tender. Each time you use it, it will slowly be moved out of circulation.