Help needed

Owen_fan

Go stationary store, buy duct tape and watson's buy distill water. Top up the radiator n drive to stockist at low speed to buy the radiator cap.

problem solved. [;)]

Edited by Adrianli

Later lunch time just take a cab to Autobacs Ubi(ask the cabby to wait a while), buy a radiator cap and water wetter (mix this with water and pour into radiator). If you dunno just ask the staff there. I think your old one the seal probably disintegrated and the pressure, vibration caused it to come loose and dropped out of sight.

Better check your engine oil level too coz most likely a lot are burnt off due to overheating.

Things to get:

1) Radiator cap

2) water wetter or radiator coolant(I think they got sell long life coolant, those Mitsubishi, Nissan, Toyota...)

3) 4L engine oil for top up. Best is that you check the engine oil level now to decide how much litre to buy.

HI,

Ubi is far leh!

Don't think the engine oil is affected much!

Will it be any connection to the water pump? as I replaced water pump last year Nov.

Did you ever let petrol pump attendant top up the rediator water? It is likely that one of them forgot to or recap improperly and caused it to drop off...

Edited by Fitvip

HI,

Ubi is far leh!

Don't think the engine oil is affected much!

Dan you are wrong. Based on my personal experience the engine oil level does drop. I too did not know the seal on my radiator cap has hardened and crack. I usually monitor my EO level every 5k km and noticed it was loosing half a litre or less of EO. Temperature gauge was showing what it usually showed. No way of knowing until I feedback to my mechanic. Took a while to figure out. Now it's back to normal, hardly lose any EO. Mine is only seal crack, imagine TS's radiator cap is totally gone. See the difference?

Ubi is not far at all if going by KPE. All these does not require original parts. Stockist I have no idea what they keep in stock. If no stock dan how? Worst case scenerio is got to wait a few weeks for stock to arrive. One thing about stockist they search by part number, they have to look thru car part menus to search for the part number. If they are busy, you can wait long long. At autobacs I know they have all these things on their shelf. Hardly takes any time.

Dan you are wrong. Based on my personal experience the engine oil level does drop. I too did not know the seal on my radiator cap has hardened and crack. I usually monitor my EO level every 5k km and noticed it was loosing half a litre or less of EO. Temperature gauge was showing what it usually showed. No way of knowing until I feedback to my mechanic. Took a while to figure out. Now it's back to normal, hardly lose any EO. Mine is only seal crack, imagine TS's radiator cap is totally gone. See the difference?

Ubi is not far at all if going by KPE. All these does not require original parts. Stockist I have no idea what they keep in stock. If no stock dan how? Worst case scenerio is got to wait a few weeks for stock to arrive. One thing about stockist they search by part number, they have to look thru car part menus to search for the part number. If they are busy, you can wait long long. At autobacs I know they have all these things on their shelf. Hardly takes any time.

Loss of engine oil can be due to many causes.

If TS just noticed the temperature change this morning, then it is unlikely that this proplem has been there a long time. There might be some loss in EO. It may not be significant.

Compare Ubi and Waterloo Centre, I think the difference is obvious.

It is not a rare part that is difficult to find. If one is lucky, he can get it from a petrol station...

My experience, FIL top up radiator water before heading off to Genting from Malacca, when he reach the top, of Genting, the car gives a warning and dies off, found out forgot to recap.

Luckily already reach the top and there's water point near by, so just top up with water first.

For your case, no worrries and continue to top up with water first, then drive to any workshop that sells the cap.

My experience, driving my mom's car to pick up wife. While waiting, aircon become not cold. Thought that aircon problem. Did not see the engine temp indicator. Try on off aircon and all sorts of things.

On the way home, feel the engine a bit funny. Like lost power.

Continue driving. Just reaching home, engine almost lost power completely. Steam started on come under bonnet.

Open up bonnet and found that radiator cap was not screwed properly.

My mom told me car was sent for servicing a few days before. So you can guess what the mechanic did or did not do properly.

Luckly nothing happened to the engine after that.

Loss of engine oil can be due to many causes.

If TS just noticed the temperature change this morning, then it is unlikely that this proplem has been there a long time. There might be some loss in EO. It may not be significant.

Compare Ubi and Waterloo Centre, I think the difference is obvious.

It is not a rare part that is difficult to find. If one is lucky, he can get it from a petrol station...

If the seal has disintegrated and TS didn't know it. It could be for quite a while already. The EO loss can be significant. That's for TS to check. No point arguing it here.

LOL...I think you guys do not have experience looking for stockist at all. To look for stockist I rather go to AD spare parts counter. Since I bought my car from AD(my car plate number registered with them) I buy the parts and fix myself I usually get a discount buying the part.

I didn't have a good experience with stockist. To you and me the part is very straight forward but than these ppl are looking at many brand and models and literally thousands of part. I was search a plastic cover for my handbrake coz it broke. I even forward them a picture of it dan they fax me a an exploded drawing of many of the car's interior. The drawing is from the car part menu of my car make and model. The drawings are not exactly acurate worst thing there are sub-models. Some parts are so small you can hardly make out what it is. I got a feeling the stockist know which part I'm looking for but he has to make sure. This is thru phone/fax communication.

The part from the exploded drawing of many parts is labelled with a bubble with a number in it. From another menu the stockist will search from the actually part number, go to their store and retrieve the item. Dan the most fantastic thing is after he confirm what part that is he told me no stock. Ask me to try AD and most likely it will be cheaper. LOL... so much for stockist. I rather go back to AD.

The thing is you have no idea what the stockist have at this very moment. TS might be stuck there if no stock. If going further but confirm can get stock it's a no brainer which one to go for.

Seriously i think it is good habit to check that all caps (Esp Engine oil cap, Coolant Cap aka Radiator Cap) are secured after trip to workshop as due diligence checks.....

Mechanics are also humans and they do make mistakes!

And dont understand why people like to top up coolant with water....isnt it diltuing the coolant percentage and decreasing its cooling properties? Go get a proper premixed coolant only for $7-8 for goodness sake....

The problem is my office is in City Hall area & my wk is at east side. Further more, there is no shop nearby selling the coolant. Now I'm worrking will it causes a bad demage to the car.

You got the answer actully but you still wan to try to ask

IMO if temp is max Liao

Tow

Would u risk that $50???

If not max , you r still able to maintain temp then diff story

I oso drove my car without ac on from custom to sin ming

But at low speed n monitor water temp

If the seal has disintegrated and TS didn't know it. It could be for quite a while already. The EO loss can be significant. That's for TS to check. No point arguing it here.

LOL...I think you guys do not have experience looking for stockist at all. To look for stockist I rather go to AD spare parts counter. Since I bought my car from AD(my car plate number registered with them) I buy the parts and fix myself I usually get a discount buying the part.

I didn't have a good experience with stockist. To you and me the part is very straight forward but than these ppl are looking at many brand and models and literally thousands of part. I was search a plastic cover for my handbrake coz it broke. I even forward them a picture of it dan they fax me a an exploded drawing of many of the car's interior. The drawing is from the car part menu of my car make and model. The drawings are not exactly acurate worst thing there are sub-models. Some parts are so small you can hardly make out what it is. I got a feeling the stockist know which part I'm looking for but he has to make sure. This is thru phone/fax communication.

The part from the exploded drawing of many parts is labelled with a bubble with a number in it. From another menu the stockist will search from the actually part number, go to their store and retrieve the item. Dan the most fantastic thing is after he confirm what part that is he told me no stock. Ask me to try AD and most likely it will be cheaper. LOL... so much for stockist. I rather go back to AD.

The thing is you have no idea what the stockist have at this very moment. TS might be stuck there if no stock. If going further but confirm can get stock it's a no brainer which one to go for.

Radiator cap is a common item. There are so many shops in Waterloo Centre. If it is not available at shop A, go to shop B and so on. I am quite sure he is able to get one from one of the shops there

It is only my suggestion, I am sure Ts is able make the decision that suits him best!

Hi all,

This morning while driving to work, noticed that the radiator temp lighted up. As I'm about 5 mins more to reach my office, I continue to drive it. Upon reaching my office carpark, I discovered the radiator/coolant cap has been disapeared/drop off. So, is it safe to drive the car to the workshop? or need to call for a towing service?

Thank you

Hi, Thanks for all your adivse:)

I have call up my ws, & they have send their guy down to assit me. He replace the radiator cap & top up the tank with tap water & start the engine & air-corn for 10 mins to mintor it. Nothing happen & advise me to bring my car to the ws for further checking. I just came back from the ws. They check & test my radiator tank & cap, all are ok.