RadX Moderator July 29, 2013 Share July 29, 2013 Update firmware?? Then its even more crappy. I had some problems with the mio TV system recently and had to get a technician to come down. I told him about the freezing during channel change but he did NOT tell me that the problem can be resolved by a firmware update. Anyway, to each his own. I am much happier with Starhub then Mio. The only programs I watch is BPL, F1 and VV drama (the uncle in me). Will be terminating my Mio very soon. And also their landline... which is useless to me but a necessary subscription cos of the mioTV. yup...mine is gg too....had enuf ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic July 29, 2013 Share July 29, 2013 Update firmware?? Then its even more crappy. I had some problems with the mio TV system recently and had to get a technician to come down. I told him about the freezing during channel change but he did NOT tell me that the problem can be resolved by a firmware update. Anyway, to each his own. I am much happier with Starhub then Mio. The only programs I watch is BPL, F1 and VV drama (the uncle in me). Will be terminating my Mio very soon. And also their landline... which is useless to me but a necessary subscription cos of the mioTV. I had absolutely no problem with my MIO TV. Only when the modem 12V adapter kaput, I called them. They told me I can either collect a new adapter from their outlet or a technician deliver to my house. I chose the technician. The technician came, he was very professional. Checked this and that, when I tot he was just to hand me my 12V adapter. He told me my modem firmware was outdated. So he did the updating on the spot. Me with MIO since BPL went to them. Technician only came down once for a 12V adapter swop. My farking SH hubstation, SH technician came down three times. Twice hubstation HDD up lorry, once the hubstation card reader up lorry. So u see my experience, who is worst? MIO or SH? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
OTOT 1st Gear July 29, 2013 Share July 29, 2013 my place still haben install fibre optic oh that could be a problem then.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic July 29, 2013 Share July 29, 2013 oh that could be a problem then.. Me still on ADSL. No problem lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
OTOT 1st Gear July 29, 2013 Share July 29, 2013 Me still on ADSL. No problem lah. maybe you have separate dedicated line for mio tv and broadband. that will help. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic July 29, 2013 Share July 29, 2013 maybe you have separate dedicated line for mio tv and broadband. that will help. Yup, on separate lines. Now paying $30+ for 10mbps per mth for ADSL BB and $25+ for MIO TV(with sports). So if as per their bundle for fibre, $69.90 for both 100mbps n MIO TV(with sports). No brainer for me. Sure sign up. Only $10+ more and upgrade to fibre. But will still keep SH, cos of History, CI, BBC, Discovery and AXN. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scholesy 4th Gear July 29, 2013 Share July 29, 2013 im on adsl too but cable feed to mio box (instead of wireless). it is stable when watching jus one channel but whenever switch channel, it wil stil freeze for 2 sec. somehow my biggest grouse w mio is the non-full screen display of BPL - the top n bottom are cut off. not sure abt u guys. complaint to helpline they asked me to adjust aspect ratio. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scholesy 4th Gear July 29, 2013 Share July 29, 2013 Yup, on separate lines. Now paying $30+ for 10mbps per mth for ADSL BB and $25+ for MIO TV(with sports). So if as per their bundle for fibre, $69.90 for both 100mbps n MIO TV(with sports). No brainer for me. Sure sign up. Only $10+ more and upgrade to fibre. But will still keep SH, cos of History, CI, BBC, Discovery and AXN. I also LL hv to keep SH becos of wife's TVB channels. damn... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic July 29, 2013 Share July 29, 2013 im on adsl too but cable feed to mio box (instead of wireless). it is stable when watching jus one channel but whenever switch channel, it wil stil freeze for 2 sec. somehow my biggest grouse w mio is the non-full screen display of BPL - the top n bottom are cut off. not sure abt u guys. complaint to helpline they asked me to adjust aspect ratio. U need to update ur modem firmware. Call them to come do it. My used to freeze too esp when switch between HD and non-HD channels. After update, no such problem liao. Now switch here n there no problem at all. Esp now with so many free preview, keep channel surfing. I had no problem with BPL display. Mine is full screen. Is ur tv Full-HD capable? Go to MIO TV select screen settings. Ensure ur tv is 16:9 ratio and capable of HD or Full-HD. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear July 29, 2013 Share July 29, 2013 I had absolutely no problem with my MIO TV. Only when the modem 12V adapter kaput, I called them. They told me I can either collect a new adapter from their outlet or a technician deliver to my house. I chose the technician. The technician came, he was very professional. Checked this and that, when I tot he was just to hand me my 12V adapter. He told me my modem firmware was outdated. So he did the updating on the spot. Me with MIO since BPL went to them. Technician only came down once for a 12V adapter swop. My farking SH hubstation, SH technician came down three times. Twice hubstation HDD up lorry, once the hubstation card reader up lorry. So u see my experience, who is worst? MIO or SH? Some lucky I guess. My friend also no complain about Mio...but another friend complain like seow. He told me to watch BPL...have to turn on the set earlier...if you on the dot then switch on...sometime cannot get in...and by the time you managed to get it...could be 20mins into the match. I have no issue with SH...the Hubstation I used for 6 yrs already...no issue. But they do recycle their units...so depend on your luck. I managed to get a brand new one that time...the only complain I have about SH...their stupid remote. Its like a Alfa Selespeed GB...retarded one !! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
OTOT 1st Gear July 29, 2013 Share July 29, 2013 Some lucky I guess. My friend also no complain about Mio...but another friend complain like seow. He told me to watch BPL...have to turn on the set earlier...if you on the dot then switch on...sometime cannot get in...and by the time you managed to get it...could be 20mins into the match. I have no issue with SH...the Hubstation I used for 6 yrs already...no issue. But they do recycle their units...so depend on your luck. I managed to get a brand new one that time...the only complain I have about SH...their stupid remote. Its like a Alfa Selespeed GB...retarded one !! sometimes depend on the line. if old house or old lines, then may be affected. also if mio tv and broadband on same line, then will be affected. for mio tv, should have separate dedicated line from the broadband. however, no issue if with optic fibre.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silklee 3rd Gear July 29, 2013 Share July 29, 2013 (edited) must ask him he was told by who?? i am on fiber and using wifi exclusively in my house. To clarify... My MioTV setup is connected wirelessly. I dont know the technical term for it. This means the modem is connected somewhere else, away from the setup box which is connected to the TV. My telephone point is NOT besides my TV. The 2 are connected via 2 homeplugs over the power lines (as far as I understand). In this configuration, I sometimes encounteer problems with juddering and the screen hanging. And I was also told by Singtel themselves that, in this configuration, it is advisable NOT to have any fibre broadband, cos it might interfere with the MioTV. They cannot guarantee it will work. This thread here will give some useful information http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/next-gen...ug-3970283.html Edited July 29, 2013 by Silklee Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear July 29, 2013 Share July 29, 2013 sometimes depend on the line. if old house or old lines, then may be affected. also if mio tv and broadband on same line, then will be affected. for mio tv, should have separate dedicated line from the broadband. however, no issue if with optic fibre.. IMHO old Mio TV tech was rubbish...a telephone line wanna transmit a wide broadband... But no say which is good and bad...as long as they serve their purpose...use who lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged July 29, 2013 Share July 29, 2013 To clarify... My MioTV setup is connected wirelessly. I dont know the technical term for it. This means the modem is connected somewhere else, away from the setup box which is connected to the TV. My telephone point is NOT besides my TV. The 2 are connected via 2 homeplugs over the power lines (as far as I understand). In this configuration, I sometimes encounteer problems with juddering and the screen hanging. And I was also told by Singtel themselves that, in this configuration, it is advisable NOT to have any fibre broadband, cos it might interfere with the MioTV. They cannot guarantee it will work. This thread here will give some useful information http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/next-gen...ug-3970283.html ah okay. thats more clearer. yeah. home plug doesnt work verywell. but i dont think its because of fiber. i do loss lot of data speed if i am using homeplug which if use on MIO.. doesnt make it attractive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic July 29, 2013 Share July 29, 2013 To clarify... My MioTV setup is connected wirelessly. I dont know the technical term for it. This means the modem is connected somewhere else, away from the setup box which is connected to the TV. My telephone point is NOT besides my TV. The 2 are connected via 2 homeplugs over the power lines (as far as I understand). In this configuration, I sometimes encounteer problems with juddering and the screen hanging. And I was also told by Singtel themselves that, in this configuration, it is advisable NOT to have any fibre broadband, cos it might interfere with the MioTV. They cannot guarantee it will work. This thread here will give some useful information http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/next-gen...ug-3970283.html OIC. I used to use home plug too. But with the home plug, I cant watch HD channels. It will be jerky. So I use direct cable from modem to set top box. No issues. My telephone point also not next to tv, just run the cable along the skirting of the walls. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rayleigh 6th Gear July 29, 2013 Share July 29, 2013 (edited) Singtel are not stupid. They know still got many Singaporean can't live without EPL. and Singtel is smart. Regardless of how many jump ship to starhub, money just keep rolling in with min overhead, lower complains and freeing up their bandwidth. Isnt that genius? Edited July 29, 2013 by Rayleigh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cluboxed 1st Gear July 29, 2013 Share July 29, 2013 too bad people are not united enough to boycott..haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear July 29, 2013 Share July 29, 2013 honestly without BPL, would MIO TV have lasted this long? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...