KIA K3 Owners check-in!

TTT

Cos I prefer to be as quiet as possible so can enjoy music in my car ma.

Eh.... I just type in google "cycle and carriage kia service" and all you were looking for is there leh.

http://www.kia.com/content/dam/kwcms/sg/en/pdf/KIA_CareServicePlan_Aug2016.pdf

I saw that pdf also...but it only provides price for servicing plan (4 servicings in 2 yrs)..it does not give individual pricing for the 20k servicing only leh...

My 4 doors double layer, wheel arcs side fender, boot lid, STP sound damping mat. FC still the same.

Bro how much for the 4 wheel arc does autoimage quote?

K3 generally sound insulation quite good le..my only concern is wind noise and road noise..floor insulation is too hardcore for me..next best to do is wheel arc liao..to min tyre noise..

Does it really helps? There are reports stating that the R&D have done whatever soundproofing already. Cause they knows where the problem are. If you look at our K3, there are area with padding or dampers pasted, these are area need attention. This is just my perception...But I think it's good to improvise too.

Yes, me too. My previous ride was a V6 2.7L, the engine is very smooth and quiet. At highway speed, you can't hear any roar of the engine. So I believe if you quiet ride, other than tires, soundproofing, engine also plays an important part.

Actually I hate the wind noise of our car. Every time I go above 80km/h, can hear the wind noise. I called the service ctr and told them I want to change my rubber seal to stop the noise. They say the sound is from the side mirror and need to drive very fast to have it. But it is damn annoying

K3 generally sound insulation quite good le..my only concern is wind noise and road noise..floor insulation is too hardcore for me..next best to do is wheel arc liao..to min tyre noise..

He quoted me $320 for double layers. Ya. Actually our stock insulation is good. But wind noise is horrible.

Does it really helps? There are reports stating that the R&D have done whatever soundproofing already. Cause they knows where the problem are. If you look at our K3, there are area with padding or dampers pasted, these are area need attention. This is just my perception...But I think it's good to improvise too.

Yes, me too. My previous ride was a V6 2.7L, the engine is very smooth and quiet. At highway speed, you can't hear any roar of the engine. So I believe if you quiet ride, other than tires, soundproofing, engine also plays an important part.

The stock damping is on the min. I'm using high end ice and need to improve on damping. I damp the entire door double layer so as to create a speaker box for the speakers. And damping on boot cos my 12" woofer is vibrating the boot lid, so it absorbs the bass.

I didn't do at auto image. Done at audio solution at $250 for front 2 wheel arcs and fender.

I saw that pdf also...but it only provides price for servicing plan (4 servicings in 2 yrs)..it does not give individual pricing for the 20k servicing only leh...

Previously free 1 year/2 servicing finished already.

I took the 2 years/4 servicing at $1000 nett during my 20K servicing last week. Peace of mind for the next 2 years.

Actually I hate the wind noise of our car. Every time I go above 80km/h, can hear the wind noise. I called the service ctr and told them I want to change my rubber seal to stop the noise. They say the sound is from the side mirror and need to drive very fast to have it. But it is damn annoying

He quoted me $320 for double layers. Ya. Actually our stock insulation is good. But wind noise is horrible.

U can experiment by manually closing the side mirrors when travelling above 80km/h to see whether noise still there. If no than LL.

This thread discusses side mirror design to combat wind noise

http://f30.bimmerpost.com/forums/showthread.php?t=872307

Edited by Sotong1977

Why not add another layer of rubber seal? I did that to my ride.

This just means not enough wind tunnel work... usually wind tunnel work required to check out wind flow and shape of the wing mirrors will be adjusted to reduce wind noise as much as possible... basically it takes time and time is money... the wind noise could be due to the A pillar design as well... or even the shape of the wind screen...

My suspicion will be on the windscreen, glass windows or A pillar if there are any holes. I have fix additional rubber strip to the door and have that vacuum effect. Wind noise shouldn't come from the door for my case.

Manually reclosing windows help if the wind noise comes from the window. Sometimes help sometimes dun.. which means it must be coming from somewhere else as well..

Edited by Kwoni

Anyway, attached is the video of my boot opening after 1 day. It opens quite slowly and when it reaches the top, it stops quite gently. 

The stock damping is on the min. I'm using high end ice and need to improve on damping. I damp the entire door double layer so as to create a speaker box for the speakers. And damping on boot cos my 12" woofer is vibrating the boot lid, so it absorbs the bass.
I didn't do at auto image. Done at audio solution at $250 for front 2 wheel arcs and fender.

I am a very long time customer with Autoimage liao. I did my first car there also. My GF also. My bro-in-law also. The service is top notch. Their prices is not the cheapest in the market. But aftersales service is incredible. 

I dekited my old helix sound system which is 9 years old and installed on the K3. End up 1 side of the speaker spoil liao due wear and tear. They just gave me a new speaker and didn't charge me anything other than the original agreed labour fee for kitting. 

U can experiment by manually closing the side mirrors when travelling above 80km/h to see whether noise still there. If no than LL.

This thread discusses side mirror design to combat wind noise

http://f30.bimmerpost.com/forums/showthread.php?t=872307

Didn't tot of that. Thanks man, I will try it and update here again.

Why not add another layer of rubber seal? I did that to my ride.

I did, but the door couldn't close properly. Harder to close is expected. And it is supposed to become easier to close after 1-2 weeks. But got 1 day the door got stuck. Cannot open. End up Autoimage also refund me. 

Aiyo,don't expect a B&B Korean car,as quiet as Conti cars...

No la bro. I compare with my old Hyundai Verna. Not fair to compare conti to ours since there is a significant price difference.

video_2017-01-07_14-55-50.mov

Edited by Whattheheck

Wrong. It is closer to conti cars than most jap cars in terms of sound insulation.

I tried Altis, the next Jap car that claims to have much improvements in comfort.. sound intrusion is more obvious than K3...

But if u talk about engine performance..Koreans are still behind..but they are catching...maybe in years to come..may overtake the japs?

Edited by Kwoni

Wrong. It is closer to conti cars than most jap cars in terms of sound insulation.

I tried Altis, the next Jap car that claims to have much improvements in comfort.. sound intrusion is more obvious than K3...

But if u talk about engine performance..Koreans are still behind..but they are catching...maybe in years to come..may overtake the japs?

Lol. actually our korean cars are better than jap cars already.

My dad's 6mth old Toyota Altis can only get 11km/lit. And he goes to work at 10am and leaves office at 430pm. No jam. Highway all the way. And he drive slow on lane 2. 

He brought it back to the agent and complain. They told him he got 11km/lit is not bad liao. Manufacturer says 15.4km/lit.

It just means Toyota inflated their so called fuel efficiency numbers. 

Our K3's fuel efficiency is way better than Altis. Our K3 is rated at 14.7km/lit and I hit it before in SG. I even hit 16km/lit in SG also. 

Korean cars already overtaken japs. Just that people choose not to believe. Honda and Toyota have been having major recalls on engines. Kia not even a single recall.

Yup. I still rmb when I shortlisted Altis and K3 for my car. I brought my dad to see Altis first. He went in, he saw the car, saw the price. He turn and tell me to lets go to Kia instead. LOL.

Dec 15 period, my K3 SX selling for 107k. Altis Elegance selling for 127k. BM very firm with price. No further discount etc. I take it as they don't want my business so I left.

End up he himself bought Altis after 6mths cos the agent willing to offer him super low price. And good trade in value of his Camry. 

Dono if it is cos I wear tshirt, shorts and slippers to showroom. Lol.

I always find it very amusing that all this condo/car salesman like to judge ppl by their dressing.

The real rich ppl in SG are actually damn low profile one. 

My gf's neightbour works in a marine industry. He wears his company's coverall and drive their company lorry to work everyday. But he has a bloody Audi R8, BMW 7 series, Lexus GS450 at home.

Edited by Whattheheck

What makes you think that a Continental car is quieter than a Korean car? We pay more for the brand name in Singapore cos Singaporeans are brand snobs... cars in the same categories cost about the same in other countries, especially in the US or Europe...

Correct bro. Cars in USA are dirt cheap. I drove a brand new Merc GLE for only $90K SGD in LA. Singapore's Conti cars are ex due to the heavy ARF. Actually they are just German's homemade brands. Nothing fantastic. In Europe and USA very few people drive Conti cars. They go for jap/Korean cars. BMW only hot cake in Asia.

A car is ok to have some road noises wind noises. It cannot be isolated like in a studio or vacuumed space. Boeing are ex but still noisy right.

Correct bro. Cars in USA are dirt cheap. I drove a brand new Merc GLE for only $90K SGD in LA. Singapore's Conti cars are ex due to the heavy ARF. Actually they are just German's homemade brands. Nothing fantastic. In Europe and USA very few people drive Conti cars. They go for jap/Korean cars. BMW only hot cake in Asia.

A car is ok to have some road noises wind noises. It cannot be isolated like in a studio or vacuumed space. Boeing are ex but still noisy right.

I don't understand the Boeing example bro...  [sweatdrop]

I won't say that Europe doesn't drive Continental brands... VW, BMW, Mercedes, Audi, Seat, Renault, Citroen, Peugeot, Fiat, etc are all mainstream brands that sell thousands of cars in Europe... the Japanese and Korean marques sell perhaps in lesser numbers for certain countries... Vauxhall, Ford are mainstream brands in Britain... with Japanese brands like Toyota, Honda and to certain extent Nissan having major presence too... Korean brands are just making inroads into Europe... It's in the US that the major Continental brands do not have substantial presence... Only BMW and Mercedes are more common, while Toyota, Honda, Nissan, Mazda, Hyundai, Kia, are the major car brands outside the US brands like Ford, Chevrolet, GM... with Subaru of late getting a hot streak of sales...