Simi Battle for Merger?

AhJason

my collick who is in PAP grass loots bought the simi Battle For Merger Book, brought it into office and left it in the lounge for everyone's reading pleasure. :ph34r: Where got time?

I kacao him for a summary, he IMed me this link:

http://mothership.sg/2014/10/12-quotes-on-why-lee-kuan-yew-had-successfully-auditioned-as-a-dj-if-pap-lost-the-battle-for-merger/

The PAP grassroot machinery is so well oiled..... im impressed...

Talk 1:

1. And the story begins: “Soon you will have to decide on your future…In the series of broadcasts, I hope to tell you what merger means, why it is good for all of us, why it is coming, and why some people are deliberately creating trouble and difficulty over it to prevent it from taking place”. Radio Talk 1 – Merger and the Stakes Involved

Talk 2:

2. Exposing how his opponents operate: “Because the Communist Party is illegal in Malaya none of its followers go about telling people that they are Communists. Publicly they will always pretend to be democrats; privately they keep on recruiting as many effective persons as they can persuade to join them in the Communist cause”. Radio Talk 2 – The Communist Challenge

Talk 3:

3. Praising his opponents: “I came to know dozens of them. They are not crooks or opportunists. These are men with great resolve, dedicated to the Communist revolution and to the establishment of the Communist state believing that it is the best thing in the world for mankind”. Radio Talk 3 – How the Communists Operate

Talk 4:

4. On opposition leader Lim Chin Siong: “Lim (Chin Siong) was the most important open-front leader the M.C.P. had built up. By 1955 he knew that I knew this. He is a friendly and quiet person. He is prepared to devote his whole life to working for the creation of a Communist Malaya”. Radio Talk 4 – A Lesson for Socialists

yawn.. 12 of them... [knife] sian liao

my collick who is in PAP grass loots bought the simi Battle For Merger Book, brought it into office and left it in the lounge for everyone's reading pleasure. :ph34r: Where got time?

http://mothership.sg/2014/10/12-quotes-on-why-lee-kuan-yew-had-successfully-auditioned-as-a-dj-if-pap-lost-the-battle-for-merger/

I have to agree, their "media" machine is very well oiled and on the blitz at the word go!

How to fight when you compare this with 2 people ranting and raving like lunatics in a park?!

Communist ppl are lazy.

But Capitalist ppl are evil.

Cannot have everything good. :ph34r:

Communist is the exploitation of man by man.

and Capitalist is the opposite.

Only lesbianism is good

its about women loving women and

cos no man is involve to cock it up.

Talk 1:

1. And the story begins: “Soon you will have to decide on your future…In the series of broadcasts, I hope to tell you what merger means, why it is good for all of us, why it is coming, and why some people are deliberately creating trouble and difficulty over it to prevent it from taking place”. Radio Talk 1 – Merger and the Stakes Involved

Talk 2:

2. Exposing how his opponents operate: “Because the Communist Party is illegal in Malaya none of its followers go about telling people that they are Communists. Publicly they will always pretend to be democrats; privately they keep on recruiting as many effective persons as they can persuade to join them in the Communist cause”. Radio Talk 2 – The Communist Challenge

Talk 3:

3. Praising his opponents: “I came to know dozens of them. They are not crooks or opportunists. These are men with great resolve, dedicated to the Communist revolution and to the establishment of the Communist state believing that it is the best thing in the world for mankind”. Radio Talk 3 – How the Communists Operate

Talk 4:

4. On opposition leader Lim Chin Siong: “Lim (Chin Siong) was the most important open-front leader the M.C.P. had built up. By 1955 he knew that I knew this. He is a friendly and quiet person. He is prepared to devote his whole life to working for the creation of a Communist Malaya”. Radio Talk 4 – A Lesson for Socialists

Wah, so chim leh :D

Good to know abt history, but its a bit too political liao;

moreover its one sided, so just see and listen lor.

I think more people, especially the youth, should read this - though bearing in mind that this is just one side of the story. Read the other side as well, and form their own opinions and conclusions.

As we all know, merger did not work, and singapore at that time had to accept the position of 'adek' or 'little brother' in the relationship - a misconception that persists to this day among the politicians in malaysia.

But the alternative was worse - the communists could have steered the country in a direction that would not be consistent with a multi-racial concept, and would definitely provoke a reaction in neighbouring malaysia and indonesia.

Yesterday (Sunday) @ 10.30am, I saw WP whole team members (include LTK, Pitam Singh, CSM, .......etc.) at Lor 1 Toa Payoh market walk-about... [sly]

It's good that MPs walk the ground and not stay in their offices...

You have to remember that LKY is a lawyer by training, so of course he is best at talking and persuading people, especially Singaporeans at that time with little education.

In a way, I think people with humanities or law education, will make better leaders.

Currently we have too many technocrats, engineers and finance background people at the top. All logic and numbers, but hardly persuasive and little EQ...

In a way, I think people with humanities or law education, will make better leaders.

Currently we have too many technocrats, engineers and finance background people at the top. All logic and numbers, but hardly persuasive and little EQ...

We need the right people in the right places.

Those in charge of infrastructure (transport, housing etc), best to be engineer

Those in charge of money, best to have finance background obviously.

Diplomatic affairs (foreign minister etc), good to have someone who can talk, like lawyer.

People-related portfolios (health, education), can get those with social services background.

Defence then obviously army guy lah.

Not difficult what. Then why do we have a comedian in charge of health and housing, and a clueless army guy in charge of transport?

We need the right people in the right places.

Those in charge of infrastructure (transport, housing etc), best to be engineer

Those in charge of money, best to have finance background obviously.

Diplomatic affairs (foreign minister etc), good to have someone who can talk, like lawyer.

People-related portfolios (health, education), can get those with social services background.

Defence then obviously army guy lah.

Not difficult what. Then why do we have a comedian in charge of health and housing, and a clueless army guy in charge of transport?

My mistake, I did not clarify in my original post.

I meant humanities or law background seem quite suited for the top leader of a country, i.e. prime minister.

Agreed. [thumbsup]

Lawyers are snakes. [laugh]