Pocus Turbocharged August 26, 2016 Share August 26, 2016 (edited) Dear Forester Owners, I am thinking of getting a new Forester XT but have some reservations after reading online reviews about the followings issues: 1. Excessive oil consumption issue - https://www.cars.com/articles/2011-15-subaru-oil-consumption-update-1420683845519/; - http://www.torquenews.com/1084/subaru-settles-oil-consumption-lawsuit ; 2. Head Gasket Engine Issues in the past models. - http://www.licmotorsports.com/blog/2014/01/30/dreaded-subaru-head-gasket-issue Are the above issues still plaguing your new FXT? Have you guys experienced the above in your ride ? What are some of the other problems that you face with your ride if any? By the way, is it also true that all four tyres had to be replaced for Subaru AWD vehicles if one of the tyres punctured? What is also the typical FC like so far? Sorry if the questions above had been asked before as there are 300+ threads and it is difficult to read through all. Appreciate your kind advice Thank yo u very much !! 1. Happens to FB series engines. FA20DIT is not affected. Having said, The incident happens only for USDM models. For models in Japan, Australia and other export version, problem not reported. So suspect it's a QC issue in US plant. 2. SJ Forester are 2013 built and currently still too early to know if there are any gasket issues. Anyway gasket leaks are quite common for high-mileage engines exceeding 100,000km. If you do regular maintenance your mechanic would have detected notify you for replacement before it does further damage. Current FXT, so far didn't hear of any major mechanical issues that is a show stopper. For my 1 year old ride apart from occasional squeaks I didn't get any show stopping failure, but then too early to tell. Someone who own it since 2013 (true first batch) just had one of his wheel bearing replaced. there are reports of inconsistent rev during idling, turns out to be a air duct issue which Subaru recalled to replace. affects pre-FL 2015 models only though. One guy's steering leather peel liao after 3 years. 2 or their pre-FL headlamp LED lights turn greenish (not the current FL which is different type of headlamps).There is even 1 guy reports roof leak rain from the 3rd seatbelt roof attachment, but so far only him and no other report. Some say leather seats not fitted properly and poor QC by local fitter. Radio reception abit weak for shark fin antennas. Some got funny squeaks here and there which cannot be solved. But take note all this are consolidated issues from hundreds of Forester owners in our chat group(s) and previous pages. It doesn't mean you will kena all of them at the same time or kena any of them at all. So keep an open eye. No car model is perfect. For tyres, according to the tech advisors, flat tyre change one pairs can liao like normal B&B, don't need all 4s. The AWD is flexible enough to cater for it. change only 1 tyre is not advisable unless the the tyres are still low mileage. FC is subjective. For bros in the chat group(s) and here getting as high as 12km/l and as low at 7km/l on local roads. My average is 8 to 9km/l with highest been 10.5km/l and lowest being 7.5km/l for most short-mid distance 70% urban driving. hope all this info helps. Edited August 26, 2016 by Pocus ↡ Advertisement 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SJGDKK8 1st Gear August 27, 2016 Share August 27, 2016 Changing wheel bearing is common, if one style of drive always full clock the steering wheel, higher chance to wear them out quickly... My family Toyota have chance 3 sets over a period of 10 years... Likewise just change for my other car at C&C recently too... Changing wheel bearing is common even for conti... But the frequency is dependent on driving habits and terrain Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Detach8 5th Gear August 27, 2016 Share August 27, 2016 (edited) 1. Happens to FB series engines. FA20DIT is not affected. Having said, The incident happens only for USDM models. For models in Japan, Australia and other export version, problem not reported. So suspect it's a QC issue in US plant. 2. SJ Forester are 2013 built and currently still too early to know if there are any gasket issues. Anyway gasket leaks are quite common for high-mileage engines exceeding 100,000km. If you do regular maintenance your mechanic would have detected notify you for replacement before it does further damage. Current FXT, so far didn't hear of any major mechanical issues that is a show stopper. For my 1 year old ride apart from occasional squeaks I didn't get any show stopping failure, but then too early to tell. Someone who own it since 2013 (true first batch) just had one of his wheel bearing replaced. there are reports of inconsistent rev during idling, turns out to be a air duct issue which Subaru recalled to replace. affects pre-FL 2015 models only though. One guy's steering leather peel liao after 3 years. 2 or their pre-FL headlamp LED lights turn greenish (not the current FL which is different type of headlamps).There is even 1 guy reports roof leak rain from the 3rd seatbelt roof attachment, but so far only him and no other report. Some say leather seats not fitted properly and poor QC by local fitter. Radio reception abit weak for shark fin antennas. Some got funny squeaks here and there which cannot be solved. But take note all this are consolidated issues from hundreds of Forester owners in our chat group(s) and previous pages. It doesn't mean you will kena all of them at the same time or kena any of them at all. So keep an open eye. No car model is perfect. For tyres, according to the tech advisors, flat tyre change one pairs can liao like normal B&B, don't need all 4s. The AWD is flexible enough to cater for it. change only 1 tyre is not advisable unless the the tyres are still low mileage. FC is subjective. For bros in the chat group(s) and here getting as high as 12km/l and as low at 7km/l on local roads. My average is 8 to 9km/l with highest been 10.5km/l and lowest being 7.5km/l for most short-mid distance 70% urban driving. hope all this info helps. I think wheel bearing issues highly dependent on driving style, driving route, wheel alignment and also mileage (not age). Wheels with more camber (or camber changes, or wide tyres) will tend to have bearings fail earlier. Peeling leather I think is just lousy Jap quality. Even Mazda have the same problem. Actually I would request NOT to have locally fitted leather. The quality does not seem fantastic. The original fabric from Japan is very good and will stay nicely fitted up to 10 years. I have seen some Suzuki Swift and Honda Stream coming to 10 years with original fabric and they look really good. Radio is not using the shark fin. Shark fin is for factory fitted GPS and GSM (if you have a phone module or adaptor, which I think the FXT does not). The radio antenna is actually in your rear windscreen disguised as part of the heater matrix and is already a diversity antenna. If you know how analog signals work, what matter is the size. The bigger the antenna the better the reception. Some aftermarket radio units have noise cancellation / signal processing and signal boost capabilities for FM radio, hence it sounds better. Squeaks are the most difficult issues to resolve, though. Need to really take time to find the source. Edited August 27, 2016 by Detach8 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Codling Neutral Newbie August 27, 2016 Share August 27, 2016 I think wheel bearing issues highly dependent on driving style, driving route, wheel alignment and also mileage (not age). Wheels with more camber (or camber changes, or wide tyres) will tend to have bearings fail earlier. Peeling leather I think is just lousy Jap quality. Even Mazda have the same problem. Actually I would request NOT to have locally fitted leather. The quality does not seem fantastic. The original fabric from Japan is very good and will stay nicely fitted up to 10 years. I have seen some Suzuki Swift and Honda Stream coming to 10 years with original fabric and they look really good. Radio is not using the shark fin. Shark fin is for factory fitted GPS and GSM (if you have a phone module or adaptor, which I think the FXT does not). The radio antenna is actually in your rear windscreen disguised as part of the heater matrix and is already a diversity antenna. If you know how analog signals work, what matter is the size. The bigger the antenna the better the reception. Some aftermarket radio units have noise cancellation / signal processing and signal boost capabilities for FM radio, hence it sounds better. Squeaks are the most difficult issues to resolve, though. Need to really take time to find the source. My model comes with shark find but the HU does not have GPS (mine was just before MI announced the upgraded HU with gps). Don't think there is GSM as the phone is connected via Bluetooth. So... The shark fin is for what in this case? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocus Turbocharged August 27, 2016 Share August 27, 2016 (edited) My model comes with shark find but the HU does not have GPS (mine was just before MI announced the upgraded HU with gps). Don't think there is GSM as the phone is connected via Bluetooth. So... The shark fin is for what in this case? Relax, What he say are generic stuff and not Forester specific. So his comments on the shark fin antenna is totally inaccurate for this case. Edited August 27, 2016 by Pocus Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocus Turbocharged August 27, 2016 Share August 27, 2016 Changing wheel bearing is common, if one style of drive always full clock the steering wheel, higher chance to wear them out quickly... My family Toyota have chance 3 sets over a period of 10 years... Likewise just change for my other car at C&C recently too... Changing wheel bearing is common even for conti... But the frequency is dependent on driving habits and terrain Yes I agree changing wheelbearing is a wear and tear thing and not a fault....... but 3 years? I felt its a little to early. My old car's bearing lasted 8years before kaput. My other hot batch, due to its harsh driving stance, at least lasted me for 5 years. Hope its an isolated case though. Most of us haven't hit 3 yrs so time will tell. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Codling Neutral Newbie August 27, 2016 Share August 27, 2016 Relax, What he say are generic stuff and not Forester specific. So his comments on the shark fin antenna is totally inaccurate for this case.Ah I see. Thanks for clarifying! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackhawk81 Clutched August 27, 2016 Share August 27, 2016 1. Happens to FB series engines. FA20DIT is not affected. Having said, The incident happens only for USDM models. For models in Japan, Australia and other export version, problem not reported. So suspect it's a QC issue in US plant. 2. SJ Forester are 2013 built and currently still too early to know if there are any gasket issues. Anyway gasket leaks are quite common for high-mileage engines exceeding 100,000km. If you do regular maintenance your mechanic would have detected notify you for replacement before it does further damage. Current FXT, so far didn't hear of any major mechanical issues that is a show stopper. For my 1 year old ride apart from occasional squeaks I didn't get any show stopping failure, but then too early to tell. Someone who own it since 2013 (true first batch) just had one of his wheel bearing replaced. there are reports of inconsistent rev during idling, turns out to be a air duct issue which Subaru recalled to replace. affects pre-FL 2015 models only though. One guy's steering leather peel liao after 3 years. 2 or their pre-FL headlamp LED lights turn greenish (not the current FL which is different type of headlamps).There is even 1 guy reports roof leak rain from the 3rd seatbelt roof attachment, but so far only him and no other report. Some say leather seats not fitted properly and poor QC by local fitter. Radio reception abit weak for shark fin antennas. Some got funny squeaks here and there which cannot be solved. But take note all this are consolidated issues from hundreds of Forester owners in our chat group(s) and previous pages. It doesn't mean you will kena all of them at the same time or kena any of them at all. So keep an open eye. No car model is perfect. For tyres, according to the tech advisors, flat tyre change one pairs can liao like normal B&B, don't need all 4s. The AWD is flexible enough to cater for it. change only 1 tyre is not advisable unless the the tyres are still low mileage. FC is subjective. For bros in the chat group(s) and here getting as high as 12km/l and as low at 7km/l on local roads. My average is 8 to 9km/l with highest been 10.5km/l and lowest being 7.5km/l for most short-mid distance 70% urban driving. hope all this info helps. Thanks for the detailed explanation. Much appreciated it. By the way, i find the colour options for forester is unappealing but the colours for Levorg are more attractive. Does MI allow customers to choose other than the standard colour options or one has to find external workshop to respray it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic August 27, 2016 Share August 27, 2016 Thanks for the detailed explanation. Much appreciated it. By the way, i find the colour options for forester is unappealing but the colours for Levorg are more attractive. Does MI allow customers to choose other than the standard colour options or one has to find external workshop to respray it? Most of the owner are middle age with family. What type of colour you expecting? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocus Turbocharged August 27, 2016 Share August 27, 2016 (edited) Thanks for the detailed explanation. Much appreciated it. By the way, i find the colour options for forester is unappealing but the colours for Levorg are more attractive. Does MI allow customers to choose other than the standard colour options or one has to find external workshop to respray it? While I totally agree with you on Forester's color options, unfortunately NONE of the car makers in the world will adhere to your request for custom paint unless it's part of their option or the car is highly customized like a Bugatti Veyron. The Forester did had a short run for their Signature Blue Mica for that Forester tS lineup (like my avatar), but alas it's limited edition and strictly only in Japan and Australia market. I suggest you get used to the color options. Or you may do your own body wrap or respray but with added costs. But Factory paint is still the best. Edited August 27, 2016 by Pocus Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackhawk81 Clutched August 28, 2016 Share August 28, 2016 Most of the owner are middle age with family. What type of colour you expecting? Not looking for outrageous colour but I will be happy if the colour options on Levorg are available for Forester. While I totally agree with you on Forester's color options, unfortunately NONE of the car makers in the world will adhere to your request for custom paint unless it's part of their option or the car is highly customized like a Bugatti Veyron. The Forester did had a short run for their Signature Blue Mica for that Forester tS lineup (like my avatar), but alas it's limited edition and strictly only in Japan and Australia market. I suggest you get used to the color options. Or you may do your own body wrap or respray but with added costs. But Factory paint is still the best. The Signature Blue Mica is a nice colour. Its a pity that it's not available in Singapore. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Detach8 5th Gear August 28, 2016 Share August 28, 2016 My model comes with shark find but the HU does not have GPS (mine was just before MI announced the upgraded HU with gps). Don't think there is GSM as the phone is connected via Bluetooth. So... The shark fin is for what in this case? Continental cars like BMWs definitely have the FM embedded in the rear windscreen above the heater matrix. If the car is not equipped with GPS or GSM, then the fin is for show only, makes your car look more sart kee. There may be a GPS receiver in there with wiring but not used (unlikely in modern manufacturing). Anyway, I checked the 2015 FXT parts catalog, and I may be wrong... the FXT shark fin is indeed also the radio antenna, and that is actually bad news... that means it is a small antenna. When it comes to FM antennas, size DOES matter, that's why the old days the cars had antennas that you could pull out to extend, and back then even driving up around 100KM into NSHW we could still get reception for FM radio. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BenTong Turbocharged August 28, 2016 Share August 28, 2016 (edited) Not looking for outrageous colour but I will be happy if the colour options on Levorg are available for Forester. The Signature Blue Mica is a nice colour. Its a pity that it's not available in Singapore. Looks like you and the FXT are not fated to be together....so many things not in sync. But then most if not all FXT owners buy it for the 240 horses..: Edited August 28, 2016 by BenTong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
L23 6th Gear August 29, 2016 Share August 29, 2016 Continental cars like BMWs definitely have the FM embedded in the rear windscreen above the heater matrix. If the car is not equipped with GPS or GSM, then the fin is for show only, makes your car look more sart kee. There may be a GPS receiver in there with wiring but not used (unlikely in modern manufacturing). Anyway, I checked the 2015 FXT parts catalog, and I may be wrong... the FXT shark fin is indeed also the radio antenna, and that is actually bad news... that means it is a small antenna. When it comes to FM antennas, size DOES matter, that's why the old days the cars had antennas that you could pull out to extend, and back then even driving up around 100KM into NSHW we could still get reception for FM radio. New batches one from June 2016 come with GPS Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wahtk 2nd Gear August 29, 2016 Share August 29, 2016 Take a look at this video, something most of us alredy know: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jthl 2nd Gear September 1, 2016 Share September 1, 2016 wah. topic not moving at all...:) Based on Aug pricelist wo discount FNA 118K FT 130K LEvorg 131K Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jthl 2nd Gear September 1, 2016 Share September 1, 2016 Your stock is here :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
JuzFXT 2nd Gear September 1, 2016 Share September 1, 2016 wah. topic not moving at all...:) Based on Aug pricelist wo discount FNA 118K FT 130K LEvorg 131K Yah lor got 1 day no chat at all ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...