2015 Forester 2.0

subarudreamer

I think can easily cut a small hole in front the eye sight.

Does that meant the current XV owner with eyesight does not have solar film at wndscreen? That will be very glaring and hot during afternoon drive

Hi Lot,

Yes X2 .... if they are with solar film on windscreen, it is not from MI and they take their own risk as mentioned ...not only XV but Imprezza and future forester with eyesight which I cannot do so.

As such, me and wife held against the booking for the Imprezza 2.0 till date at great price of 95k with all the bells and whistles including eyesight which no other brands offers and forced to look elsewhere meanwhile.

Cheers,

Richard

Edited by richard_crl032

Hi Richard, nice meeting with you yesterday night! Your FXT really swee lah, comfort and sound proof... great car! Many thanks to help remove the scratches, I will going to place order for the proctetot and pink spring soon... hehe...

Can you share the TB link for the door seal which you bought it? Hope they are available for the whole car seal now liao...

Help me get the mirror! Lol

The new engine produces 182 hp and 176 lb-ft of torque, versus 170 hp and 174 lb-ft in the previous-generation Forester.

It’s quite a downgrade compared with the XT’s 2.0-liter turbocharged FA20 Boxer producing 250 horsepower and 258 lb-ft of torque.

https://www.torquenews.com/1084/subaru-gives-3-reasons-why-they-axed-popular-forester-20xt/amp

Hi Antelop,

This 2.5L option and its bhp and torque specification is quite typical for NA of all brands unless turbo or super charged ones.

It was just that 2.0l fxt being turbo charged is exceptional for entry level price against typically higher end conti cars with the exception of Harrier Turbo next at previous sgd20k more albeit driving response of Harrier Turbo still fall short of the fxt but still a good option with current indent price of sgd138k of the fxt or few Ks below latest price of Harrier Turbo basic Elegence variant.

Looks like Harrier Turbo from Borneo motors is the only next closest sub sgd150k option without going 200k+ e,g, GLC250 etc. unless you are ok with compact "crossover" of V40 T4 at promo of SGD120k+ which is also 2.0L turbo and even faster than fxt which was a very very attractive option being conti for wife's replacement car except too low, too small and worse of all with rear window blocked by 2 headrest that wife finds not comfortable to drive it around.

Cheers,

Richard

Edited by richard_crl032

Hi Lot,

Yes X2 .... if they are with solar film on windscreen, it is not from MI and they take their own risk as mentioned ...not only XV but Imprezza and future forester with eyesight which I cannot do so.

As such, me and wife held against the booking for the Imprezza 2.0 till date at great price of 95k with all the bells and whistles including eyesight which no other brands offers and forced to look elsewhere meanwhile.

Cheers,

Richard

Hi Richard,

A suggestion. Would you consider the Hyundai i30?

I test drove the i30 wagon a couple of weeks back.

1.4L TC. Pick up was impressive on Sports mode and the interior was not too bad IMO.

I think it's 103K at the moment for the wagon, but price was 99K when Cat A COE dropped in July.

Indeed, fxt is a rare breed. Even at its current sub 140k listed price. It was my only choice when i signed 13 months ago. At that price then, i cant buy anything else. Haha. And yeah at the 150k listed price now, only harrier is the remaining option in terms of perf on paper etc. Next up u hv to cough another 40k for the tiguan 2.0t. Vw's woes and reputation aside, this one has pretty solid performance and is pretty high tech.

https://www.caradvice.com.au/524281/volkswagen-tiguan-162tsi-highline-r-line-v-subaru-forester-xt-premium-comparison/

Then its another 30k more to touch the entry level lux realm for the likes of glc250. Zzzzzzz to the max. I consider v40 a hatchback :D

Edited by Scoobyfxt

Hi Richard,

A suggestion. Would you consider the Hyundai i30?

I test drove the i30 wagon a couple of weeks back.

1.4L TC. Pick up was impressive on Sports mode and the interior was not too bad IMO.

I think it's 103K at the moment for the wagon, but price was 99K when Cat A COE dropped in July.

Hi Imran,

Thanks !!!!

Did crossed my mind when I found out Tucson 1.6T is no longer available ... but this is more 5D sedan/hatchback or a bit low unlike crossover/compact SUV right ? 

For sedan, it would be mazda6 or same great price since at least you will feel pamper at a bit different level of interior trim as with class of 2.0-2.5L albiet the basic model vs the usual bells and whistles of Korean cars.

Thanks again and cheers,

Richard

Ahahaha the Left hand side small mirror.

Hi Zpliu,

Noted and thanks ... for parallel parking to avoid hitting rims or for blindspot during driving ??

If for the the initial, do consider the side camera mod into MFD like what Titanic had planned ... not too expensive with just camera and cable plus installation.

For blindspot, indeed small mirror unless you mod with BSM but nowadays around 750 instead of my previous 500+ including installation.

Cheers,

Richard

So what are the real options for your second car now,richard ?

Hi Scooby,

Going to test drive Q2 1.0 and 1.4 for SUV and conti this evening but A3 1.0l tested was "hollow" and not SUV as described by wife but only willing to pay sgd129k and 134k respectively if not "hollow" and got a bit of punch especially the 1.4l .. have to expect more issues after warranty but we are 56 yrs old and if not now then when for wife ? Q2 1.0 was 138k cos fully loaded which is too much to bother with test drive when we tested the A3 1.0l but we are ok without sgd7k virtual cockpit option.

Else CX5 for SUV at 118k or mazda6 at 103k both at basic trims looking as best bet since great price of 95k for Impreza for safe safe ride not likely due to the solar film-insurance claim concern .. will have to test deive CX5 though since only tested CX3 with unacceptable interior even for so called premium version at 100k+ and the mazda6 with very nice interior and great price also.

Cheers.

Richard

Edited by richard_crl032

Hi Imran,

Thanks !!!!

Did crossed my mind when I found out Tucson 1.6T is no longer available ... but this is more 5D sedan/hatchback or a bit low unlike crossover/compact SUV right ?

For sedan, it would be mazda6 or same great price since at least you will feel pamper at a bit different level of interior trim as with class of 2.0-2.5L albiet the basic model vs the usual bells and whistles of Korean cars.

Thanks again and cheers,

Richard

Hi Zpliu,

Noted and thanks ... for parallel parking to avoid hitting rims or for blindspot during driving ??

If for the the initial, do consider the side camera mod into MFD like what Titanic had planned ... not too expensive with just camera and cable plus installation.

For blindspot, indeed small mirror unless you mod with BSM but nowadays around 750 instead of my previous 500+ including installation.

Cheers,

Richard

For parking. The camera will render the MFD "useless" right? Meaning can only show the camera?

Actually considering 360 camera. Can use for both parking and blindspot. But the mirror is a good cheap option for now. Since he taking off i can take his mirror 2nd hand hahaha.

I have asked for a few quotes, 5 to 600 for universal blindspot monitor.

I thought u looking for a small car (the impreza) for the wife?

Edited by Zpliu

Hi Lot,

Cheers,

Richard

I checked with MI before. Front windscreen have solar film.

Hi Imran,

Thanks !!!!

Thanks again and cheers,

Richard

Hi Zpliu,

Cheers,

Richard

The new i30 wagon interior look very conti to me and with high spec also.

I checked with MI before. Front windscreen have solar film.

Hi Roadhogger,

For those subaru cars from MI with eyesight like new imprezza 2.0 or xv 2.0, you betta check again to avoid misleading bros reading this ..lol !

I was booking the Imprezza and this concern crop up and salesman is a veteran at MI who wants my order.

Cheers.

Richard

For parking. The camera will render the MFD "useless" right? Meaning can only show the camera?

Actually considering 360 camera. Can use for both parking and blindspot. But the mirror is a good cheap option for now. Since he taking off i can take his mirror 2nd hand hahaha.

I have asked for a few quotes, 5 to 600 for universal blindspot monitor.

I thought u looking for a small car (the impreza) for the wife?

Hi Zpliu,

Yes, looking for a small car but now hoping for SUV since 1st choice of Impreza at 95k looks not possible unless MI agrees to fix solar film at windscreen at their risk which they dun.

I like gadgets but refrained from 360 degree cos more dangerous than helping for blindspot with need to look into headunit and not sure the brand of those 500-600 aftermarket BSM but I had used mine from ADT at sgd500+ without shipping installation on system alone from my MO with 30 qashqai owners without issues.

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/-/32771504796.html

Cheers.

Richard

Edited by richard_crl032

Hi Zpliu,

Yes, looking for a small car but now hoping for SUV since 1st choice of Impreza at 95k looks not possible unless MI agrees to fix solar film at windscreen at their risk which they dun.

I like gadgets but refrained from 360 degree cos more dangerous than helping for blindspot with need to look into headunit and not sure the brand of those 500-600 aftermarket BSM but I had used mine from ADT from my MO with 30 qashqai owners without issues.

Cheers.

Richard

Actually regarding the solar film, i dont see whats the big issue with MI. They can always cut to avoid the camera.

Yeah the 360 not too good for blindspot. More of parking and getting out of lots when park head in.

The BSM i asked around for apparently similar to what u mentioned, using microwave.

Regarding the MFD and side camera, my understand is correct? The usual display gone right?

And MI haven't arrange the survey for me....claim that the liability is cleared and assigned surveyor liao. But still no news on when the survey

Edited by Zpliu