Wt_know Hypersonic July 20, 2014 Share July 20, 2014 (edited) youku, funshion and many chinese streaming sites stream blockbuster movies and hk/taiwan/korea dramas. do you think they will pay license fees? 1. piracy pays the highest profit margin. zero cost for content. 2. target audiences. the reason why youku, pps, pptv, funshion has millions of viewers simply because of free unlicensed content. i actually impressed by the success of netflix and appletv. why the usa consumers pay for content where they can get pirated version FOC from the internet. perhaps, they don't know how to read chinese to access chinese streaming site and download movie in HD? muahahaha Edited July 20, 2014 by Wt_know ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic July 20, 2014 Share July 20, 2014 youku, funshion and many chinese streaming sites stream blockbuster movies and hk/taiwan/korea dramas. do you think they will pay license fees? 1. piracy pays the highest profit margin. zero cost for content. 2. target audiences. the reason why youku, pps, pptv, funshion has millions of viewers simply because of free unlicensed content. i actually impressed by the success of netflix and appletv. why the usa consumers pay for content where they can get pirated version FOC from the internet. perhaps, they don't know how to read chinese to access chinese streaming site and download movie in HD? muahahaha People pay because the price is low. Just like apps where you can get most for $0.99, you would just pay for it rather than go the illegal way. Piracy is rampant when content providers price them too high. Football is the best example. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Hypersonic July 20, 2014 Share July 20, 2014 (edited) true ... like netflix as low as $8.99 subscription a month ... but for new blockbuster movie like T4 etc people still want to get it online asap hence, piracy will continue unless content provider want to provide content as soon as possible unlike current arrangement ... the simi blockbuster in hbo or cinemax is actually oldies liao in today fast moving context. any new movies released in cinema need to be made available online within 2-4 weeks People pay because the price is low. Just like apps where you can get most for $0.99, you would just pay for it rather than go the illegal way. Piracy is rampant when content providers price them too high. Football is the best example. Edited July 20, 2014 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic July 20, 2014 Share July 20, 2014 I just know that this industry is monopoly one. In other countries, its up to u who u want to subscribe or watch. Not they tap on starhub box so what infringement? They the one created the HBO shows ah? They the one film is it? HBO Asia bought rights from HBO USA to broadcast. They sell their service to Starhub and other operators in AP region. Payment can be in many forms, like number of subscribers or a fixed sum. So there's money involved, and big money. At one time, HBO knows that in a certain country, the operator didn't secure their channels. They threaten them to cut off their services. Now whether the android boxes are legal or not, since they are no longer "secure", the industries is bound to make some changes. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic July 20, 2014 Share July 20, 2014 HBO Asia bought rights from HBO USA to broadcast. They sell their service to Starhub and other operators in AP region. Payment can be in many forms, like number of subscribers or a fixed sum. So there's money involved, and big money. At one time, HBO knows that in a certain country, the operator didn't secure their channels. They threaten them to cut off their services. Now whether the android boxes are legal or not, since they are no longer "secure", the industries is bound to make some changes. But those apps got pay money to HBO right? As long as they do so i don't think theres infringement of copyright. Android boxes whether legal or not, they do have the permit to stream it. Cmiiw 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic July 20, 2014 Share July 20, 2014 (edited) Actually u all know it is illegal lah. Stop trying to argue for the sake of arguing. We do it cos it's cheap/free. Nothing more nothing less. Why angmohs pay more? Cos they don't watch asian content at all (people who watch anime are already very few, they have zero interest in our drama serials). Their american/European content is produced by them. They have a higher vested interest in paying the people who produce content well. And hence prevent piracy. But those apps got pay money to HBO right? As long as they do so i don't think theres infringement of copyright. Android boxes whether legal or not, they do have the permit to stream it. Cmiiw HAHAHA u think they pay HBO ar. LOL. It's like telling me pirated DVD/VCD manufacturers paid Warner brothers. Edited July 20, 2014 by Lala81 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Hypersonic July 20, 2014 Share July 20, 2014 (edited) it's all about money provider - what's wrong to collect more consumer - why stupid to pay if you can get it free "alternatively" - WC is a good example for recent case see who win lor ... muahahaha Edited July 20, 2014 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic July 20, 2014 Share July 20, 2014 Actually u all know it is illegal lah. Stop trying to argue for the sake of arguing. We do it cos it's cheap/free. Nothing more nothing less. Why angmohs pay more? Cos they don't watch asian content at all (people who watch anime are already very few, they have zero interest in our drama serials). Their american/European content is produced by them. They have a higher vested interest in paying the people who produce content well. And hence prevent piracy. HAHAHA u think they pay HBO ar. LOL. It's like telling me pirated DVD/VCD manufacturers paid Warner brothers. Aiyah as long as the box is not illegal why not Liddat u cant buy apps and stream live tv into ur handphone liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic July 20, 2014 Share July 20, 2014 But those apps got pay money to HBO right? As long as they do so i don't think theres infringement of copyright. Android boxes whether legal or not, they do have the permit to stream it. Cmiiw Seriously, I don't think so. They "steal" from HBO as well as all other providers, in one way or another. The black box makers, the chinese factories who produce them, are probably the same ones who operates the servers. For those who buy and watch, if you want a clean conscience, DON"T ASK. Unlike Netflix and others in USA, they legally pay for the service and subscribers in turn pay them. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic July 20, 2014 Share July 20, 2014 (edited) Aiyah as long as the box is not illegal why not Liddat u cant buy apps and stream live tv into ur handphone liao The box is definitely not illegal. It's just like how they encourage us to use fibre broadband. When they jolly well know that the majority of downloads are illegal here in SG. Seriously, I don't think so. They "steal" from HBO as well as all other providers, in one way or another. The black box makers, the chinese factories who produce them, are probably the same ones who operates the servers. For those who buy and watch, if you want a clean conscience, DON"T ASK. Unlike Netflix and others in USA, they legally pay for the service and subscribers in turn pay them. Yes. Rather than negotiate with HBO for example. it's way easier to just bribe the low level people on China side lor. Add one more link to your server or stealing content from say a regional tv broadcaster in china. Save time and money. I pay for Starhub content. But cos its 30+ bucks/month i don't mind. I baulk at paying $60 bucks for BPL and paying $12 a month for HBO/VV or what not. So it's just a matter of pricing. I think the Netflix or Amazon prime model can work here in SG. Rest of asia i don't know. Edited July 20, 2014 by Lala81 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aimnfire 4th Gear July 20, 2014 Share July 20, 2014 long time ago people ask me whether i support piracy and my answer is YES it is not only because im cheapskate imagine the world is free from piracy we are at the mercy of these merchants who will definitely charge as they like with piracy they have no choice but to lower their pricing but still make millions if no piracy god knows what obscene profit they will be getting for live example our transport system no challenge if there were black market buses allow to transport public with fractional fares dont you think the operators will force to lower their fares and yet earn milions 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic July 20, 2014 Share July 20, 2014 But if world full of piracy then jialat liao lor, companies wont be big until today. There wont be any technology advancement as people would just copy and copy instead of inventing 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged July 20, 2014 Share July 20, 2014 youku, funshion and many chinese streaming sites stream blockbuster movies and hk/taiwan/korea dramas. do you think they will pay license fees? 1. piracy pays the highest profit margin. zero cost for content. 2. target audiences. the reason why youku, pps, pptv, funshion has millions of viewers simply because of free unlicensed content. i actually impressed by the success of netflix and appletv. why the usa consumers pay for content where they can get pirated version FOC from the internet. perhaps, they don't know how to read chinese to access chinese streaming site and download movie in HD? muahahaha I believe in the pass no. But now yes. Because they will actually block u if ur ip is not from china. long time ago people ask me whether i support piracy and my answer is YES it is not only because im cheapskate imagine the world is free from piracy we are at the mercy of these merchants who will definitely charge as they like with piracy they have no choice but to lower their pricing but still make millions if no piracy god knows what obscene profit they will be getting for live example our transport system no challenge if there were black market buses allow to transport public with fractional fares dont you think the operators will force to lower their fares and yet earn milions What I saw is genuinely good company close down because of piracy. Btw, talking about PC games. Many close down because of piracy. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic July 20, 2014 Author Share July 20, 2014 Do they have Discovery Channel and History 1/2 channel ? Which box would you recommend? Thanks in adv I don't think have Xiaomi seems to be for china channels or video or demand If want net geo or histroy channel have to subscribe to netflix liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Hypersonic July 20, 2014 Share July 20, 2014 (edited) apple and amazon had learnt a great lesson in re-engineer their business model they want to sell you device that connect back to them for services instead of sell you a "box" - easily copy and re-produce google take it 1-step further ... they even give out android OS almost free they want to make money from google service instead of google android OS and device But if world full of piracy then jialat liao lor, companies wont be big until today. There wont be any technology advancement as people would just copy and copy instead of inventing Edited July 20, 2014 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic July 20, 2014 Share July 20, 2014 I believe in the pass no. But now yes. Because they will actually block u if ur ip is not from china. What I saw is genuinely good company close down because of piracy. Btw, talking about PC games. Many close down because of piracy. Sort of agreed. But with Steam, a proper distribution model, things are looking up again. Angmoh still one step ahead. But Alibaba is quite forward looking as well. that's why apply and amazon had learnt a great lesson they want to sell you device that connect back to them for services instead of sell you a "box" google take it 1-step further ... they even give out android OS free they want to make money from google services instead of google android OS But if world full of piracy then jialat liao lor, companies wont be big until today. There wont be any technology advancement as people would just copy and copy instead of inventing yes. China/India (the world's 2 biggest populations) have so far just been copying and copying every single thing the angmohs or japanese or europeans been doing. Until they start forging ahead themselves, they will always stagnate behind. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Hypersonic July 20, 2014 Share July 20, 2014 (edited) the world is changing rapidly more and more services is made available in the internet sooner ... microsoft will also facing problem selling their software email, word, office application, etc will be online service not selling software even big company selling server is facing enormous challenge now with cloud services more and more company not buying software, not buying server, not buying hardisk many subscribe to cloud services ... cheap and good ... mobile and can expand anytime amazon web services (AWS) and microsoft azure is really awesome cloud computing services just like SMS & MMS is history now with whatsapp, line, etc sooner ... voice call is also history ... or already partial history now Edited July 20, 2014 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aimnfire 4th Gear July 20, 2014 Share July 20, 2014 I believe in the pass no. But now yes. Because they will actually block u if ur ip is not from china. What I saw is genuinely good company close down because of piracy. Btw, talking about PC games. Many close down because of piracy. long long time ago rumours have it that piracy was started by some individuals of a company themselves they earn salary yet they make piracy as side income where got simple to use equipment back in the 50's to copy a media even it the 90s where double cassette deck it was not a big hohaaa its only when the birth of napster where individuals can share rather than earn profits that actually the voice of anti piracy was getting louder ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...