COE Bidding – 2nd Round of July 2016

Carbon82

To the majority of car buyers here, Brexit and South China Sea issues are deemed very distant, compared to the recent surge in COE demand (MAS) and the not-insignificant cut in 3Q16 COE quota (LTA)!

Jul 20 bidding will be the last, with a material increase in quotas, before the expected cuts, starting August.

- new car buyers will surge to the showrooms to try get their bids in before Jul 20 ... last chance, until 4Q16, or later

- near 10-yr old car owners who cannot wait for another 3 months of >$50K PQP will throw in the towel and renew 5-yr COEs ... thus perpetuating the progressive cutbacks in de-registrations that would impact on the following quarter's quota release

So it's a vicious cycle that could go on, well into 2017!

I certainly hope so! :D

Edited by merc280v6

i think its clear that govt objective is not to let the COE drop too much. so those who think COE would crash by this year end. think again, don't look down on our govt. they will die die find a way to make COE HIGH again.

A 54k

B 58k

LOL... brexit, south china sea and even the nice truck attack already non event by now

STI inching toward 3,000 mark already

think i must be very weak.. as i grow older, i find that increasingly i cannot tahan public transport especially MRT.

last time in my 20s no problem.. but now, i don't mind paying for private car.. in my mind it is defintely worth it

Well said agreed. Today economic is all abt policy making just print more gbp euro used jpy and leave interests rate at zero Lor market will never tank

Which also mean holding cash will only devalue the nominal value by itself . Dun wanna buy car at least buy gold, property, equities or bonds just buy something lol

FYI since brexit that week more than USD$100 billion went into bonds as everyone expect interests hike around the world to delay...... Make till end 2017 or early 2018 now

Edited by D3badge

Luckily, no COE required to burn paper cars during 7th lunar month or else COE will chiong ..... ð

Still need but it is spelt as

See hor yee

(Die for him)

:XD:

Pretty sure it's going up. Already announced reduced quota liao. COE already scraped the bottom of the barrel. Better secure yours if you're on the fence now...

down for all cat a b e... 10k coe max..lai lai.....

With so much instability (ISIS, China economy, US racial problem and presidential electiion, euro crisis, natural disasters etc etc) every where, things sometimes move very fast. Fruit-tarts' patience will certainly pay off, as a matter of fact and time.

In the short run, Coe price will remain very competitive, thanks to the not so bad economy, crowded public transport, hot weather, 5Cs, loan relaxation,quota cut,blah blah blah....

• Dislike 1

With so much instability (ISIS, China economy, US racial problem and presidential electiion, euro crisis, natural disasters etc etc) every where, things sometimes move very fast. Fruit-tarts' patience will certainly pay off, as a matter of fact and time.

In the short run, Coe price will remain very competitive, thanks to the not so bad economy, crowded public transport, hot weather, 5Cs, loan relaxation,quota cut,blah blah blah....

Two rounds ago, already said that my son and daughter will wait together with Fruit-Tart. I think timing will be just right for them to get their rides

With the reduction in COE quota, I hope buyer wont chiong in and panic buy. Having to say that, thats how it works in SG... I guess this round bid should increase 3~5K for all Cat A, B and E. [shakehead] [shakehead] [shakehead]

• Praise 13

With the reduction in COE quota, I hope buyer wont chiong in and panic buy. Having to say that, thats how it works in SG... I guess this round bid should increase 3~5K for all Cat A, B and E. [shakehead] [shakehead] [shakehead]

If quota went down, most probably it is because many renewed their ride. As long as there is still growth in car population, price shouldn't be moving too much.

But......but......

I wouldn't say it is panic buy, or kan chiong spider, but everybody have different view with regards to movement of the coe prices .

So if you didn't buy because the price is too high, don't kpkb if coe go up.

If you buy now and price go down, don't feel too sad.

See order for this weekend le. If its good, AD will be quite aggressive to secure more before quota goes down and COE will go up. 

If not, given that last round bidding the bidding is quite slow and low (maybe due to alot of ppl renewing and not buying cars or Uber Grab reach their desired number), they probably will just sit back and let COE drop to their rebate level so that they can max their profits.

I predict down slightly because there are still some old commitments to clear. AD will try to close deals before adjusting prices for new sales.

Overall, economy didn't look good to me. Whether you are iron rice bowl or not, if you have gone through the series of recessions, you will understand what happen when it hits you.

My take, be prudent and good luck.

Quota increased not equal to coe premium decrease and quota decreased doesnt mean coe premium increase. Backlog after MAS loan curb relaxation cleared soon. This round all cat should remain or down a bit.

You are right to say that but this is Singapore, COE is one of them functioning without logic, the only logic is to meet the Gov's budget...

To the majority of car buyers here, Brexit and South China Sea issues are deemed very distant, compared to the recent surge in COE demand (MAS) and the not-insignificant cut in 3Q16 COE quota (LTA)!

Jul 20 bidding will be the last, with a material increase in quotas, before the expected cuts, starting August.

- new car buyers will surge to the showrooms to try get their bids in before Jul 20 ... last chance, until 4Q16, or later

- near 10-yr old car owners who cannot wait for another 3 months of >$50K PQP will throw in the towel and renew 5-yr COEs ... thus perpetuating the progressive cutbacks in de-registrations that would impact on the following quarter's quota release

So it's a vicious cycle that could go on, well into 2017!

I certainly hope so! :D

So is this the reason u bite the bullet now? :)

Pretty sure it's going up. Already announced reduced quota liao. COE already scraped the bottom of the barrel. Better secure yours if you're on the fence now...

Quota reduce is due to ppl renew Coe for 5 or 10 years, not total car population reduce. Means it take away some demand also. I decode as these ppl don't wish to pay more for Car. So is Coe going up? :)

Edited by Pirates