Jaguar XE

Damienic

Tested the XE Diesel today. The drive is excellent. Feels light and steers well. Torquey as expected. However, it's rather noisy when taking off. Insulation dun seems to be sufficient or is it because it's a diesel?

2,000km

And counting

to? 3000 ? than can whack ah?

i 2800s km liao......soooonnnnn.....

Tested the XE Diesel today. The drive is excellent. Feels light and steers well. Torquey as expected. However, it's rather noisy when taking off. Insulation dun seems to be sufficient or is it because it's a diesel?

I guess cos its diesel. Noisy on 1st and 2nd gear..esp more obvious when climbing slope at mscp.

But you cant hear it when its cruising...

Diesel clatter sound will always be there. Idling or 1st or 2nd gear mostly. Install a good sound system n solve the prob. Also when i see how much im paying for a full tank the clatter sound is music to my ears.

Reminds me of a Mechanic friend who advised me not to bother fixing my old ride knocking sound. Just turn the music louder....

Carsg on a XE? Did u change the stock speakers etc?

I see a lot of similarities... Jag looks classier and sleeker, Giulia looks more sporty.

But the Giulia V6 is really quite something, if they eventually get around producing it.

Btw, I noticed that the sound of the XE parking brake engaging is very cool.
So here's what you should do...
Turn off the engine without putting on the parking brake.
Open the door, music will shut off.
Then engage the parking brake...  It sounds like a high end machinery. 

Do try.. if you have nothing better to do.. LOL

post-172607-0-47523600-1462329767_thumb.png

Edited by ninerzero

Here are some tips:

1) Upgrade to Meridian Sound system and enjoy the music to drown out the clatter.

2) Put the car perpetually on Dynamic + S mode, it gets pass the clatter a lot faster.

3) Put a pillow between the bonnet and engine.. (Just kidding...)

Yes to Helix entry level system.

Nice...did the installer have any issues with a jag? Care to PM installer contact?

I have got some 6.5" entry speakers ($400 plus many years back, cant remember the name) that's lying in the storeroom, in a way i reckon that would be better than stock?

Are the existing 6.5"?

Nice...did the installer have any issues with a jag? Care to PM installer contact?

I have got some 6.5" entry speakers ($400 plus many years back, cant remember the name) that's lying in the storeroom, in a way i reckon that would be better than stock?

Are the existing 6.5"?

pmed u bro!

I see a lot of similarities... Jag looks classier and sleeker, Giulia looks more sporty.

But the Giulia V6 is really quite something, if they eventually get around producing it.

Btw, I noticed that the sound of the XE parking brake engaging is very cool.

So here's what you should do...

Turn off the engine without putting on the parking brake.

Open the door, music will shut off.

Then engage the parking brake...  It sounds like a high end machinery. 

Do try.. if you have nothing better to do.. LOL

20" rim and low profile tyres so swwweetttt......

pity ours come with 17" and fat tyres.....

But than again, price of a 17" tyres just nice to my pocket....

I just got invited to an Induction Program on 14/5.

Anyone of you guys going?

What is the Programme about?

I not invited leh..

SE sent to me:

10am to 12.30

14/5

At JLR

Lunch provided

Get to know svc team

Learn car features, warning light, messages

What to do when accident

Fcfs basis

Can call JLR to book

One participant/ car

Mmmmm..... I also not invited......

SE sent to me:

10am to 12.30

14/5

At JLR

Lunch provided

Get to know svc team

What to do when accident

Fcfs basis

Can call JLR to book

One participant/ car

When you want to get a diesel car, mentally you got to be prepared to accept the clattering sound 

If you are not mentally prepared, then wait and test more cars, esp different diesel models if your current one is a petrol

Those who jump at first instance bec diesel price is cheap and bec of the high torque may get disillusioned when the clattering sound appears louder when the novelty wears off and as the car ages

There is not much to complain about diesel cars if you are mentally prepared to have a little more noise and the risk that resale will not be easy bec the pool of buyers will not be big as many are still not familiar with diesel cars and worry about its maintainence cost etc 

Having said that the new Jag XE clattering sound is already so much better than the old XF diesel. If you happen to have an XF diesel drive past you in an enclosed carpark, you will better appreciate the XE D.

SE sent to me:

10am to 12.30

14/5

At JLR

Lunch provided

Get to know svc team

What to do when accident

Fcfs basis

Can call JLR to book

One participant/ car

Saturday ah...will pass on it...

They havent got back to me on how to preset my passenger mirror dip angle to my preferences.......go there also doubt they got clue...

whats the avg maintenance costs of XE ?

I was considering to buy XE but my opel dealer warned me :

Suspensions cost is $15K..... advised me to consider and maintenance is super exp.

I am considering :

1. Jag XE

2  Merc B / C

3. Opel Insignia

any advise ?

whats the avg maintenance costs of XE ?

I was considering to buy XE but my opel dealer warned me :

Suspensions cost is $15K..... advised me to consider and maintenance is super exp.

I am considering :

1. Jag XE

2  Merc B / C

3. Opel Insignia

any advise ?

Isn't it obvious the opel dealer would "warn" you on his competitors?