Newbie26 Hypersonic July 29, 2016 Share July 29, 2016 Got Heart and Money to Buy Sure can get further discounts lah Just that "discounts" for trade in of your old car are not exactly discounts Those who have gotten it at 159999 The record still stands Hello to all XE drivers. Understand the servicing interval is 34k for the diesel engine. Will you guys stick to that interval or service the car earlier?I visited the showroom recently. Price has risen up to 171k as quoted by SE. Not sure how much room avail to nego given the crazy surge in COE. ↡ Advertisement 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xoloto 2nd Gear July 29, 2016 Share July 29, 2016 am doing a ebay GB for XE rear window sunshade in jag club if anyone keen. :) not sure if its against any rule to post ebay link here? Ps: If anyone got lobang for XE like those laser shades, do share. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xoloto 2nd Gear August 4, 2016 Share August 4, 2016 I remember vaguely that my SE had mentioned that the local XE was detuned (as in tuned down), anyone knows anything on this? Specs wish seems to be be the same as UK, so just wondering if the information given was wrong. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pontiac Clutched August 5, 2016 Share August 5, 2016 I remember vaguely that my SE had mentioned that the local XE was detuned (as in tuned down), anyone knows anything on this? Specs wish seems to be be the same as UK, so just wondering if the information given was wrong. My SE did not mention this, but I did not ask too The more significant thing for me is the power distribution. Insufficient power on the low gears and then suddenly too much on the higher gears.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ahboy86 3rd Gear August 6, 2016 Share August 6, 2016 I remember vaguely that my SE had mentioned that the local XE was detuned (as in tuned down), anyone knows anything on this? Specs wish seems to be be the same as UK, so just wondering if the information given was wrong. There are 2 specs of the Ingenium 2.0 diesel. One 180 hp (we are getting this) and a 200 hp one with higher torque. 'Detuned' in a way. but no, they are 2 separate spec engines. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercury1 Turbocharged August 6, 2016 Share August 6, 2016 There are 2 specs of the Ingenium 2.0 diesel. One 180 hp (we are getting this) and a 200 hp one with higher torque. 'Detuned' in a way. but no, they are 2 separate spec engines. The higher tune one would be competing against the 330i would think the hp would be about 240 250 or so Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Audi2016 5th Gear August 6, 2016 Share August 6, 2016 The higher tune one would be competing against the 330i would think the hp would be about 240 250 or so I find it weird considering most 2L turbocharged engines in the market now provide 200-250BHP with 350nm of torque or close.. This one in the XE is max 197BHP 280NM of torque. While the 2.0L turbocharged unit in the XF gives a healthy 237BHP 340NM of torque. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
flashbang Turbocharged August 7, 2016 Share August 7, 2016 There are 2 specs of the Ingenium 2.0 diesel. One 180 hp (we are getting this) and a 200 hp one with higher torque. 'Detuned' in a way. but no, they are 2 separate spec engines. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jaguar_XE#Engines For diesel engine we got the top of the line one, 178bhp 431Nm. However for petrol we seem to have gotten the lowest range one at 197bhp 320Nm. The more powerful 2.0 with 237bhp 340Nm is being used in our local XF. It is probably an attempt to differentiate the XE and XF. If you look at the diesel specs, exact same engine for XE and XF, so XF will feel underpowered. It becomes a choice of body type. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Audi2016 5th Gear August 7, 2016 Share August 7, 2016 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jaguar_XE#Engines For diesel engine we got the top of the line one, 178bhp 431Nm. However for petrol we seem to have gotten the lowest range one at 197bhp 320Nm. The more powerful 2.0 with 237bhp 340Nm is being used in our local XF. It is probably an attempt to differentiate the XE and XF. If you look at the diesel specs, exact same engine for XE and XF, so XF will feel underpowered. It becomes a choice of body type. Correct me if I'm wrong but when I visited the showroom for the XE.. it was stated as 200BHP 280NM of torque. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
flashbang Turbocharged August 7, 2016 Share August 7, 2016 Correct me if I'm wrong but when I visited the showroom for the XE.. it was stated as 200BHP 280NM of torque. That's probably the same engine, maybe rounding errors in the bhp. However from the wiki page, XE supposedly has one model with a better 2.0 petrol engine (237bhp 340Nm). That's not available in SG. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Audi2016 5th Gear August 8, 2016 Share August 8, 2016 That's probably the same engine, maybe rounding errors in the bhp. However from the wiki page, XE supposedly has one model with a better 2.0 petrol engine (237bhp 340Nm). That's not available in SG. 60nm of torque is a lot of diff.. I guess they didn't want the XE's performance (if it had the better specs 2.0 turbo unit) to affect the sales of the XF. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xoloto 2nd Gear August 12, 2016 Share August 12, 2016 That's probably the same engine, maybe rounding errors in the bhp. However from the wiki page, XE supposedly has one model with a better 2.0 petrol engine (237bhp 340Nm). That's not available in SG. hmm...this probably could be it when the SE mentioned "detuned". As in the engines for both the 200hp and 237hp are totally the same? Just different hp? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Douglam 4th Gear August 13, 2016 Share August 13, 2016 I find it weird considering most 2L turbocharged engines in the market now provide 200-250BHP with 350nm of torque or close.. This one in the XE is max 197BHP 280NM of torque. While the 2.0L turbocharged unit in the XF gives a healthy 237BHP 340NM of torque. Nothing strange. With the use of turbos, power can vary a lot based on tuning and design. It all depends on the car manufacturers marketing strategy, pricing and their competitors offerings. When the competition is tough, we as consumers will benefit because the manufacturers will offer "more" to gain or maintain market share. For instance, we are starting to see Honda, Toyota and Nissan jumping on the turbo train to catch up. BTW, the Bmw 520 2L turbo has only 180+ hp as well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Audi2016 5th Gear August 13, 2016 Share August 13, 2016 Nothing strange. With the use of turbos, power can vary a lot based on tuning and design. It all depends on the car manufacturers marketing strategy, pricing and their competitors offerings. When the competition is tough, we as consumers will benefit because the manufacturers will offer "more" to gain or maintain market share. For instance, we are starting to see Honda, Toyota and Nissan jumping on the turbo train to catch up. BTW, the Bmw 520 2L turbo has only 180+ hp as well. BMW 5er 2L engine options have 2 tunes.. one is 180BHP or so as you mentioned, labelled as 520i, another is the 240BHP+ version, labelled as 528i. The thing is Jaguar XE in Singapore only offers 1 state of tune for the 2L petrol turbo. And the performance figures from this unit is really modest when you consider engine capacity, other competitors' performance figures with same engine size, or in this class segment. Also, I believed it is detuned because my friend's XE overseas has 320nm of torque for the same Ingenium 2L petrol turbo, compared to the same unit offered locally with 280nm of torque. Not sure how consumers benefit from this. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
east41st 3rd Gear August 13, 2016 Share August 13, 2016 BMW 5er 2L engine options have 2 tunes.. one is 180BHP or so as you mentioned, labelled as 520i, another is the 240BHP+ version, labelled as 528i. The thing is Jaguar XE in Singapore only offers 1 state of tune for the 2L petrol turbo. And the performance figures from this unit is really modest when you consider engine capacity, other competitors' performance figures with same engine size, or in this class segment. Also, I believed it is detuned because my friend's XE overseas has 320nm of torque for the same Ingenium 2L petrol turbo, compared to the same unit offered locally with 280nm of torque. Not sure how consumers benefit from this. I thought local XE 2L petrol is still using Ford sourced engines? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
flashbang Turbocharged August 13, 2016 Share August 13, 2016 I thought local XE 2L petrol is still using Ford sourced engines?Still ford meh? I thought they are already using Ingenium hmm...this probably could be it when the SE mentioned "detuned". As in the engines for both the 200hp and 237hp are totally the same? Just different hp? Not sure, I only see online. I couldn't find the exact engine specs, but both are 2L engines with different bhp and torque Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
car50 Twincharged August 13, 2016 Share August 13, 2016 Jag XE Diesel is Ingenium Jag XE Petrol still a Ford But sooner or later will be an Ingenium Still ford meh? I thought they are already using IngeniumNot sure, I only see online. I couldn't find the exact engine specs, but both are 2L engines with different bhp and torque 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
flashbang Turbocharged August 13, 2016 Share August 13, 2016 Jag XE Diesel is Ingenium Jag XE Petrol still a Ford But sooner or later will be an Ingenium Interesting, when will that be? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...