Australia: Brisbane - Sydney - Canberra - Melbourne - Adelaide Dec 2025

On 4/3/2025 at 9:33 AM, Lala81 said:

If u are not traveling, eating in aussie is very simple. 

Their rottiserie chicken is about 12-14 aud in the bigger wooly or coles. It's better than the ones here. 
Can just cook some plain pasta etc. Buy salt/black pepper and a small bottle of olive oil. 

Just get some ham and cheese, fruits u are good to go. Buy yogurt packs and granola packs, fresh milk etc.

But have to say groceries prices in aussie has increased ++ over the years. 

Eating well is part of the travel experience mah.... 

If eat cheapest option might as well pack and eat sandwich from BF to dinner.

On 4/3/2025 at 9:39 AM, Volvobrick said:

If in city, just eat out. But eating angmoh food out in the boondocks, sometimes cannot tahan lah. Especially since breakfast also pick up some pies/pastries etc. Need some chinaman/home style of food.

Anyway it rained quite a bit when we were there the last time, so just stay in apartment and nuah. 

last time i was at halls gap, the whole town restaurants shut on wed. 

anyway since he has a limit on the budget. So just suggest lor. 

I don't eat well but i don't eat poorly on holidays also.  Whatever is convenient within reason. 

On 4/3/2025 at 9:46 AM, Lala81 said:

If in city, just eat out. But eating angmoh food out in the boondocks, sometimes cannot tahan lah. Especially since breakfast also pick up some pies/pastries etc. Need some chinaman/home style of food.

Anyway it rained quite a bit when we were there the last time, so just stay in apartment and nuah. 

I don't eat well but i don't eat poorly on holidays also.  Whatever is convenient within reason. 

I think their food have always been decent. In city no need to touch ang moh food. Outside the typical cafe/restaurant also no complaints. 

On 4/3/2025 at 9:51 AM, Volvobrick said:

I think their food have always been decent. In city no need to touch ang moh food. Outside the typical cafe/restaurant also no complaints. 

haha i cook because i want to. definitely not for cost consideration.

Cooking is always a bit of a chore. 

Angmoh food eat too much bit heaty. Especially since got snacks etc. 

Their rottiserie chicken is about 12-14 aud in the bigger wooly or coles. It's better than the ones here. 
Can just cook some plain pasta etc. Buy salt/black pepper and a small bottle of olive oil. 

Just get some ham and cheese, fruits u are good to go. Buy yogurt packs and granola packs, fresh milk etc.

For ladies, one of those pies is probably very filling liao. 

Nice! We like that kind of meals too... thanks!

On 4/3/2025 at 9:39 AM, Volvobrick said:

Yes... definitely... must be good value also lar... definitely will have some good meals... but we're pretty simple... meat + veggies & carbo will do... 

On 4/3/2025 at 9:44 AM, inlinesix said:

Aussie portion are huge.  2 adults order could feed your family of 4.

Seems like not the case all the time now... a lot depends on the restaurant... at least when I was in Perth in 2019, it wasn't like that all the time... some meals like in some lavender garden cafe was like Singapore portion size...

Edited by teomingern

On 4/3/2025 at 9:46 AM, Lala81 said:

Agreed... also cannot ang moh food all the way... as much as I like ang moh food... it's also limited in terms of cooking styles and tastes... definitely pho is one I will eat often cos really love it... especially my family... 

Edited by teomingern

For ladies, one of those pies is probably very filling liao. 

Yah. Their supermarket has many marinated chicken or chicken parts.  Which is very cheap. Easily cook using the oven in the Airbnb , which always will provide aluminium foil.

Photo is chicken baked using the oven.

Also other food we cook and BBQ at Airbnb. 

BBQ was mainly done by me and food cook by my girls.

This also good for family bonding when we prepared the things together.

Also ingredients provided in one of the Airbnb. 

20241215_203642_copy_4000x3000_copy_1600x1200_1.jpg

20241221_201745_copy_1600x1200_1.jpg

20241221_204100_copy_1600x1200_1.jpg

20241221_205053_copy_1600x1200.jpg

20241229_205553_copy_3000x2250_copy_1200x900_1.jpg

20221217_134200_copy_1209x1612.jpg

20221217_134210_copy_1612x1209.jpg

20221217_134216_copy_1209x1612.jpg

On 4/3/2025 at 10:24 AM, teomingern said:

Seems like not the case all the time now... a lot depends on the restaurant... at least when I was in Perth in 2019, it wasn't like that all the time... some meals like in some lavender garden cafe was like Singapore portion size...

Yeah, no longer very big servings most of the time.  One adult (even ladies) eats won't have much left.

• Sad 1

On 4/3/2025 at 9:51 AM, Volvobrick said:

I had one of the best Xiang Cai (Hu Nan style) at Melbourne. So much better than those in Singapore. 

On 4/3/2025 at 10:40 AM, Tohto said:

I had one of the best Xiang Cai (Hu Nan style) at Melbourne. So much better than those in Singapore. 

The Bowltiful La Mian and 酸菜鱼also very good. Which Hunan place is that? Will try next trip.

On 4/3/2025 at 10:42 AM, Volvobrick said:

The Bowltiful La Mian and 酸菜鱼also very good. Which Hunan place is that? Will try next trip.

Will check the location with my girl and let you know. She found it and we just follow her walk there from our AirBnB.

On 4/3/2025 at 10:29 AM, Tohto said:

Yah. Their supermarket has many marinated chicken or chicken parts.  Which is very cheap. Easily cook using the oven in the Airbnb , which always will provide aluminium foil.

this one is cos your atas airbnb or apartments then will have. 

the more basic ones not necessarily will have. Usually my main gripe is always give some lousy knives which actually are dangerous. 

I usually buy my own table salt. black pepper. And i will buy a small bottle of truffle olive oil. Good enough for basic pasta or just for blanched broccoli/veggies. 

I would suggest bringing a small paring knife with cover. At least if i go again in future, I will bring that. their knives sometimes more dangerous than useful. 

On 4/3/2025 at 11:16 AM, Lala81 said:

the more basic ones not necessarily will have. Usually my main gripe is always give some lousy knives which actually are dangerous. 

I usually buy my own table salt. black pepper. And i will buy a small bottle of truffle olive oil. Good enough for basic pasta or just for blanched broccoli/veggies. 

I would suggest bringing a small paring knife with cover. At least if i go again in future, I will bring that. their knives sometimes more dangerous than useful. 

Not always atas lah.

Some of them also only have basic things like oil, salt, and pepper. That is enough to cook a meal.

If not, can just buy some and carry around. Since he is driving throughout, it is easy.

Same as you, we also love to cook some food and enjoy it in the apartment, along with some wine 😊

Yah, their knife are sometimes quite bad.

Edited by Tohto

On 4/3/2025 at 10:29 AM, Tohto said:

Your AirBnB is the atas type lor... my only entry type lor... heh heh... anyway we also don't drink coffee tea type... so got also not much use...

On 4/3/2025 at 11:16 AM, Lala81 said:

Totally agree about the knives part... yes we have our own knife plus scissors... cos of the kids...