Meet Up - 6th July

Skoda_Man

Hey! Sorry I was late. Went there at about 3 plus. Guess all of you have left by then. Met Spotty there at CA showroom. Saw Skoda_man zooming pass when I parked at Toyota showroom to looksee looksee. So where did you guys go after CA. Coffee?

Wah! Octavia Classic at $85,800. I think CA did not really increase the price of the higher model like ambiente and elegance, but the entry model like octy classic and fabia price increase quite a fair bit. Guess Skoda will remain a niche marque.

Come to think of it, Skoda_man do you know where's kyl? He sort of disappeared after delphi. Is he here?

Hi Sonny,

Good to see u there ! I met Meow too when i arrived there. She was also just about to leave. DId u see the model car together with the key chains etc...? Yours like that too ?

Skodaman - Sorry for being late as well!! The movie ended later than expected. Did u guys adjourn somewhere else as the showroom is quite small, probably can't accomodate the whole gang... any updates or hot gossip ?? [:p]

regards,

spotty.

Hi Sonny,

Good to see u there ! I met Meow too when i arrived there. She was also just about to leave. DId u see the model car together with the key chains etc...? Yours like that too ?

Skodaman - Sorry for being late as well!! The movie ended later than expected. Did u guys adjourn somewhere else as the showroom is quite small, probably can't accomodate the whole gang... any updates or hot gossip ?? [:p]

regards,

spotty.

hmm... wasted chance to meet meow in person again, curious to see the cat in her faby... also never get to meet fabiaman yet... :(

but we finally met beanoyip for first time... :)

anyway, me and veron left at ard 240pm (i think), we met skodaman, 1stfabia, octaviafan+wife, beanoyip+family and greg, just chit chat, hang ard in ca and watched a 'dent-removal' demo....

btw, 1stfabia, if you are reading this, go register yourself in mycarforum!!... then you can join us in the lounge for some private discussions:) hehehe

Edited by Perry

Hi Perry and Veron,

How are u?

aiyah indeed ... wasted chance to see u all again. Perhaps we could all arrange and meet for a small dinner one of these days.

The showroom was fairly packed with visitors. A few people were enquiring and checking out the cars. Did see a fellow Skoda Octavia owner before i left. It was a lady but did not get a chance to speak to her as i was already in the car and moving off.

Also managed to speak with William and Sebastian briefly. They also did a 28 point check for my car. Anyway, i would be sending my car for 20000 km servicing by this week, but have not decided where to send to...... : )

take care.

spotty.

opps!!!! I just come out of Malayan Motors after booking a Jag lah. haha... kidding you man, where find the money.

I went elsewhere after the meet up and pick up my car later, maybe that's where you see me.

For those who are late - Too bad lah, I go there makan the snacks until shiok shiok, didn't leave anything for late comers haha

Alamak! No wonder the food all gone liao by the time I arrive, left crumbs only. Thanks, Skoda_man.

Anyway, this CA is selling the accessories at too high a price. The model car they are selling looks cheapo and definitely not worth the money.

Another thing I notice is CA is trying to sell the skodas with everything factory assembled. The classic they are selling doesn't list front powered windows as specs, which JTA had it installed in Singapore. Also, the silver ambiente/elegance? on display doesn't have the central console. With the reduced govt tax, no extra installation in Singapore, higher selling price, mmmmm....... what's CA thinking?

No need to thank me lah, my mama told be it is a sin to waste food so I finish on your behalf... [:p]

I didn't notice too much about the specs as too busy talking liao.. but the Display car very nice man. I will be asking for a quote to spray my engine cover from my painter, with the paint it look very nice man. But wonder how will the heat from the engine affect the paint work there.

Hey.. i think i just met 2 or 3 fellas which i didn't get to meet the last time. The rest were either late or didn't show up! *tsk* tsk* Anyways, lets hope we can have another meet up soon.

I was talking to John about my power window lifter, he said that the factory only warrants it 1 year, so i have to pay for labour and parts if i were to fix it. But he assured me that he'll do whatever he can regarding the amount. Anyway my dad thinks the service sucks and their staff cannot handle customers. O well, we'll see how things go.

I was also talking to chandra the other day and he told me about installing K&N filter and Iridium spark plugs onto the car. He said the response could be felt much better then those fitting on a Jap car. So maybe you guys wanna try it out.

Darryl: I heard you flushed your ATF right. How much was the oil/labour and stuff. Need to change mine during the next servicing already.

Ok talk alot of co*k already.

Hope we'll have a meet up soon.

Seeya!

HI Sonny,

The model car indeed looked a little cheapo... i remembered yours cost abt 3-4 times more. wah.. u are very detailed man - all the way to the specs.... !! [:p]

skodaman- u no good lah....food is meant to be shared!hee!hee! [:p] Anyway, i think the silver fabia with all the body kit looked good too....very tempted to change certain things but $$$$ is a major concern ! [:(]

Sorry guys, didnt make it this time. My son was rashes all over and we got a rude shock... sent him to the docs and its diagnosed as falsed measles... nothing to be alarmed.

Was the Skoda (chng by AutoVox) on display at CA? I would be curious to see the specimen. When Brinal of AutoVox described to me what he is gonna do to the Skoda, I was salivating...

Did anyone tried the free dent removal? If I am going there, this would be what I want as I had 2 dents on my Faby now.

Yes, CA seems to be selling their Skoda a bit on the high side... in the same tradition as how they market the VW. For existing owners, nothing to complain abt since it does one way or other help in the resale value of the 2nd hand Skoda.

i think the silver fabia with all the body kit looked good too....very tempted to change certain things but $$$$ is a major concern ! [:(]

Spotty, $$$ is a major concern if AutoVox is the appointed agent for Skoda accessories. Their pricing not exactly very affordable. They do carry high end nice stuffs but only good if you have a bulky wallet.

If I have it my way, I will definitely chng my Fabia until no horse run.... I will do the following :

- Sun roof

- Front bonnet vent

- Lower the car

- Repaint black!

I will be asking for a quote to spray my engine cover from my painter, with the paint it look very nice man. But wonder how will the heat from the engine affect the paint work there.

DId they spray the engine cover? I will be keen to spray mine too if its affordable... maybe SOG here can do a group deal with the painter?

wow... sun roof, lower the car sounds good!Sportily Fierce man.....! [:p] If fabia came in higher horsepower and faster acceleration - that would be a bonus indeed! Can't imagine that they are selling fabia 1.4 l manual at $78K. Way too expensive! Doesn't quite make market sense to me...

Hope your son is feeling better now.

regards.

spotty.

I didn't flust my ATF cause no $$$ [tongue]

I did a change of the ATF and the filter. The ATF is bought from JTA, Yacco, and the filter is original VW cost $67. Labour for oil change, oil filter change, ATF change, ATF filter change, spark plug change, and coolant change is $30.

If you want to flush, i will recommend a workshop, BVO at Sin Ming. They have the machine to flush and best part is they will hoist up the car and spend a good 15 minutes going thru your gears with enginbe running. this will clear up the debris very well.

Go buy the cheapo ATF for flush and buy the VAG ATF fluid that is to be used. the VAG ATF is a long life type (40K) but cost a bit on the high side ($20 plus per litre).

My estimate for the entire flush is about $250 or there about.

hey early bird get the worms okay??? I left some pop corn for you what, the rest of it cannot be put in the open for too long lah [;)]

AutoVox kits prices are on the high side. I would suggest you to do like Fabia man and import in yourself, then get a painter and workshop to fix it up for you, will be still cheaper then AutoVox prices.

Cause my wifey got into a little accident thus I need to re-spray some panels so I will ask the painter to spray paint the cover as well. I don't think it will cost too much in my case.

If SOG want to do it, I can help to organise, but will be cheaper if all decide on the same color. I will suggest RED as that will look more sporty.

As for the Dent removal, that guy not too bad skill, very nicely done. But it is limited to one dent per car. I didn't even get to have mine remove.. gggrrrr!!!!!

There wasn't much done to silver octavia on display. They added a rear spoiler (is this the correct term?) and another piece on top of the rear windscreen. Not much diff. Once I get my octy fixed, I may add them and then stick black sticker over the red rear lights, so from far everything black, look like Yakuza car lah .... [sly][cool][mad]

But the silver fabia in the workshop .... mmmmm ..... that's another story. Looks real sporty. Can't really remember much, but think got rear spoiler, piece on top of rear windscreen, nice rims and very very striking leather seats (orange front / black sides).

Also notice the octavias come with new shape front bumpers, with the bottom middle portion slightly sunken in. Looks sleeker and not so front heavy. Wonder whether I'll get them when I get my car fixed.

Meow........................during CA open house on last Saturday saw an Octy parked in front of C&C wiith left side front & rear door damage. It is yours???? [crazy] SDFXXXX

Meow.......... .................. ........................ ...... .............. ....... ..............