Yoong Neutral Newbie September 22, 2003 Share September 22, 2003 With E68/Airmax, while idling it is still sucking air in. unlike eco-tek If u are stuck in traffic, the leaner a/f tends to run a higher running temp. revving hard on acc do help with the gadget. but i thnk i had to mob my E68. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andrewkb Neutral Newbie September 22, 2003 Share September 22, 2003 Just curious ... Ecotek has the spring loaded valve for "leak on-demand" basis, whereas others are permenantly bleeding devices. So, what's the pros & cons of each ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Esky Neutral Newbie September 22, 2003 Share September 22, 2003 Ecotek's "leak-on-demand" spring-loaded valve will have varying opening levels, according to the vacuum present. More vacuum = bigger opening = more air going in. On the other hand, the others with fixed opening let in less air during high vacuum situations, compared to Ecotek. While I haven't tried all sorts of AIs in the market, I've tried Ecotek, AI and a pirated Power Jet, and I must say the Ecotek's difference is most noticeable. Made my carby Iswara 1.3 more responsive, and gave less jerky engine braking when releasing the throttle while in lower gears (1st to 3rd), which is a nuisance with carbureted engines. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yoong Neutral Newbie September 22, 2003 Share September 22, 2003 the "leak on-demand" is aka vacuum relief valve. depending on maker, it has adjustable relief setting, which mean at harder acc, air will be introduced. other wise it would run rich or the usual a/f ratio. giving it a boost of air when require. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andrewkb Neutral Newbie September 22, 2003 Share September 22, 2003 My case, the MicroCompressor shows better low end performance than Ecotek leh .. but I must agree, the Ecotek seems better at high end ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Esky Neutral Newbie September 22, 2003 Share September 22, 2003 (edited) Do I sense Project EcoCompressor coming?? By the way, how's the fuel economy after MC? Is yr MC installed before or after the PCV? I think it shd be after, like other AIs, to make use of the vacuum, but last time 1 acc shop assistant actually told me it's installed BEFORE the PCV, i.e. on the vacuum hose between the air filter hose and the engine cover... I was like, "Can meh like dat?" Edited September 22, 2003 by Esky Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andrewkb Neutral Newbie September 22, 2003 Share September 22, 2003 OK, Ecotek being a "leak on demand" can install on brake vacuum hose ... whereas MicroCompressor cannot install on a Brake Vacuum hose, else I think not enough vacuum for brake to work properly I've both .. but I dun dare try EcoCompressor :-P I've it installed on the PVC line going into the area after the ThrottleBody .. the other end goes to the PVC ... so I dunno if this is "before" or "after". On the same car, ModelDriver had installed 2 MicroCompressor, one on the PVC, the other on the brake vacuum hose ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andrewkb Neutral Newbie September 22, 2003 Share September 22, 2003 Just had MC installed over the weekend, so too early to tell. Ecotek wise, I've done several mods after installing Ecotek, and well, consumption didn't drop .. so I guess Ecotek is working ?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andrewkb Neutral Newbie September 22, 2003 Share September 22, 2003 Modeldriver had 2 MicroCompressor installed ... actually I wonder if it sucks in way too much air ? (Sorry Modeldriver, not meant to critize your purchase, but one is already very POWERFUL) Afterall, the vacuum hose isn't meant to leak rite ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yoong Neutral Newbie September 22, 2003 Share September 22, 2003 thertically the vacuum is not meant to be leak. but airmax/E68/Ecotek uses the EGR system as a mean to boost the rich a/f ratio during hard acc. IMHO, a leak during normal running is not good as it runs hotter and wear the spark faster thou more fuel efficient and better power. thou 1 is enuf but with 2 u have a better air in-rush during acc, but it has to be in parallel and not daisy cos 1 tubing has high air resistance than 2. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andrewkb Neutral Newbie September 22, 2003 Share September 22, 2003 CHEAM ah ... in meeting .. so cannot think .. will think later and try to figure what you says Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yoong Neutral Newbie September 22, 2003 Share September 22, 2003 if i may say, more like a BOV (blow off valve) working in reverse in vacuum... hee more confusing? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andrewkb Neutral Newbie September 22, 2003 Share September 22, 2003 This one I can understand .... the reverse of BOV ... But the rationale of introducing air leak into a supposedly air tight vacuum hose make me uncomfortable ... BUT then again, I had both Ecotek and MicroCompressor ... Ecotek is sitting at home .. should I have it running in parallel ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GDIzen Neutral Newbie September 22, 2003 Share September 22, 2003 Maybe you should just sell it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andrewkb Neutral Newbie September 22, 2003 Share September 22, 2003 Trying to ... you want to buy or not ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Esky Neutral Newbie September 22, 2003 Share September 22, 2003 >>> I've it installed on the PVC line going into the area after the ThrottleBody .. the other end goes to the PVC ... so I dunno if this is "before" or "after". >>> That would be after. Before would be between air filter hose and engine cover. With both MC and Ecotek, I guess u'll need to use the MC to set the idling leakage, and the Ecotek to set the cruising/hi-rev leakage. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yoong Neutral Newbie September 22, 2003 Share September 22, 2003 i got E68 already but need some changes.. dont like running lean all the time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andrewkb Neutral Newbie September 22, 2003 Share September 22, 2003 What changes are you doing ? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...