En0203 2nd Gear October 2, 2003 Share October 2, 2003 "yeap yeap. all the way straight down NS HWY. i took about 5 hours the last time because many r&r along the way fr the older folks. heard some people done it in 4 hours" wah are u sure u took 5 hrs to reach there? u using old rd? for me old rd is the most 4 hrs (average speed only 60-70kph) if go by highway 2 hrs+ nia (~200km+ to reach melacca) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mmythos Neutral Newbie October 2, 2003 Share October 2, 2003 Choy!... Me still young man! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
En0203 2nd Gear October 2, 2003 Share October 2, 2003 precisely Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Smiley Neutral Newbie October 2, 2003 Share October 2, 2003 (edited) if every r&r station you stop to pee, how to shorten the travelling time? with old folks, either is pee or hungry or must stop to stretch. the drive too fast kenna . 5hrs is reasonable lah. Edited October 2, 2003 by Smiley Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Smiley Neutral Newbie October 2, 2003 Share October 2, 2003 old bird in malaysia lah. can cheat polis. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Smiley Neutral Newbie October 2, 2003 Share October 2, 2003 (edited) i got constraints mah.... see my post to en0203. Edited October 2, 2003 by Smiley Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
En0203 2nd Gear October 2, 2003 Share October 2, 2003 "if every r&r station you stop to pee, how to shorten the travelling time? with old folks, either is pee or hungry or must stop to stretch. the drive too fast kenna . 5hrs is reasonable lah." the distance is about 200km so even if u drive 100kph u'll reach there in 2 hours... 3 hrs for stopping is just not reasonable ler or maybe that's the timing for u to reach kl? did u remember correctly? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Smiley Neutral Newbie October 2, 2003 Share October 2, 2003 cannot be leh. next time i time again. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pauly75ts Neutral Newbie October 2, 2003 Share October 2, 2003 "5 hours the last time because many r&r along the way fr the older folks." Hi! there, Smiley, NEVER stop at R&R, unless it's those with food centres, and lots of cars in the carpark, ESPECIALLY at night. Rgds Paul Yong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Caaa Clutched October 2, 2003 Share October 2, 2003 I was confused when my first time driving into malaysia. Everyone seems telling me how long to reach certain places but my timing always seems long despite of the speed I am doing is the same with them. Later I realised that is actually how you start counting.........its about 2 hours or less (non-stop) if you travel around 100-130kmph if you start counting from NS H'way. But if you count from home (in SG), or after customer (SG or My), then there might be different timing plus the R & R, so to get the exact timing, its depend on where and when you start clocking the time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
En0203 2nd Gear October 2, 2003 Share October 2, 2003 yaya time again next time i am sure u are wrong but like what paul told, try not to stop too much especially those without food centers one.... a lot of ppl kena robbed there and some cars got stolen too... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
En0203 2nd Gear October 2, 2003 Share October 2, 2003 oh ya u r rite .. so maybe smiley start timing from home and got jammed in checkpoint i suppose? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shumbo Neutral Newbie October 2, 2003 Share October 2, 2003 (edited) Bayview (cheap and good) I second City Bayview... its cheap, very cozy, placed at centre of city and it has covered parking lots. Very safe Also, better use second link..much faster to go and avoid city traffic .. Edited October 2, 2003 by Shumbo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lufu 1st Gear October 2, 2003 Author Share October 2, 2003 thanks to all for the 'tips' how much is the highway toll by the way ? How about getting around the town ? Was thinking in case I lost my way in the town, should park at the hotel and take their local transport ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mmythos Neutral Newbie October 2, 2003 Share October 2, 2003 toll think 30RM total? not too sure... The town very small, very unlikely to get lost, try the famous chicken rice there with the rice ball... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hitman Neutral Newbie October 2, 2003 Share October 2, 2003 haha u sound like an expert in bargaining the $$ with My TP ler my is studying in melacca, so sometimes i'll drive up to see her using old rd coz no $$ average 4 hrs to reach there with my old beetle if not much car (at night) then maybe 3.5 h damn slow coz u can always find those kampung cars hogging the rd at 30-50 km/h and worst is lorries... "average 4 hrs to reach there with my old beetle if not much car (at night) then maybe 3.5 h" U think that is bad ... try this ; 1978 Celica Depart Singapore 5 am Arrival in Malacca 3 pm Average speed 90 kph .... even buses overtook me Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mmythos Neutral Newbie October 2, 2003 Share October 2, 2003 Ave speed 90kph? and u took 10 hrs??? how can it be? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unknown_G7 Neutral Newbie October 2, 2003 Share October 2, 2003 Equatorial hotel location was good but a bit EX . In fact I prefer Century Mahkota but their room was fully booked when I'm going to Malacca. So I choose Equatorial! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...