Tips on Auto trans...

Bfg22

once my kid gets bigger, then it's back to manual for me.... hopefully I can still coordinate hand to foot to pedal...smile.gif

but until then, it's still an auto for me.....

"I think the gears transmission tends to wear off faster when engaged with the brake pedal depressed. Also your fuel economy will increase... "

is it? hmmmm... wonder what the other bros do then, i dun shift to 'N'. have read in AA magazine that there's no necessity to do that...

and i wonder what 'things' u are referring to! tongue.gif

that's why it's subjective....from what is described from mag to mag and mech to mech....

At most maybe the gear shift switch will wear off , but is it better than wearing off an entire transmission ?

each time you are on the brakes, u are actually preventing the transmission from moving forward (creating resistance).. this would wear off the gear teeth and bearings over a period of time. Friction results in heat, which results in a quicker wear n tear.

If the gears were to be set at N, then it'll be revolving freely until u next engage the gears.

Just my 2 p... perhaps others can join in.

yups.. its between the stress on the gear teeth and shifting to N, which wears down the torque converter...

thou most commented torque converter will go first, tat why betta to step brake than shift N. the better of the 2 evils.. scholar.gif

people say one..

but if no resistive load to the torque converter, the how would it get damaged ?

its between the stress on the gear teeth and shifting to N, which wears down the torque converter...

thou most commented torque converter will go first, tat why betta to step brake than shift N. the better of the 2 evils

I very shy one [rolleyes] never come for meetup one [sweatdrop]

Never met? [confused] Got la.. the durian at ms. You came later and I was packing up ready to go home liao [laugh][:p]

Anyway, your dirty laundry all over the place [laugh][laugh][lipsrsealed]

tink torque converter is the auto version of clutch plates. So when shifting (auto/manually) it disengage the flywheel to the tranny. so the more you shift the more wear lor...

people say one..