Madarmour Neutral Newbie March 19, 2002 Share March 19, 2002 Yeah man! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear March 20, 2002 Share March 20, 2002 Yes yes....I also want more grippy tyres....but like I said...my kar no the power lah....under normal driving condition.....can hardly breach the performance envelope of the dBs liao..... That is why my next set will be the Toyo Guwn.....R1R is a waste on good rubber on my car !! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sparetyre Neutral Newbie March 20, 2002 Share March 20, 2002 Hmmm... cxxxc no power than dunno what has power?? BTW, currently using the Aspec DB also. Find that they are really quite. But cannot comment on the grip as I have not really push the car (kia si!!). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madarmour Neutral Newbie March 20, 2002 Share March 20, 2002 I think the Guwns are quite good too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Abcd Neutral Newbie March 20, 2002 Share March 20, 2002 I am currently using Dunlop SP9000 and I am looking aroung for a quieter tyre, is there any advice ? The grip for SP9000 is good (I guess as I am a relatively new driver for about 2 years) but sometimes, depending on which part of the expressway you are on, it gets quite noisy. I do not really chiong, normal speed about 100km/h or less. The max I go so far is 130km/h. Are you guys able to recommend ? BTW, mine is 225/45/R17. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie March 20, 2002 Share March 20, 2002 A couple of choices are: Bridgestone Potenza Grid III Toyo Guwn Kumho Ecsta Supra 712 Falken Azenis ST115 Yokohama A539 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Abcd Neutral Newbie March 20, 2002 Share March 20, 2002 so, of those listed below, which one is quieter than SP9000 then ? A couple of choices are: Bridgestone Potenza Grid III Toyo Guwn Kumho Ecsta Supra 712 Falken Azenis ST115 Yokohama A539 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie March 20, 2002 Share March 20, 2002 Just a guess, Azenis ST115 quietest. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magfocus 5th Gear March 20, 2002 Share March 20, 2002 Well heard from frnds using the ST115s that they get noiser after sometime... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madarmour Neutral Newbie March 21, 2002 Share March 21, 2002 I think all tyres gets noisier after some time. Maybe some more than others! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magfocus 5th Gear March 21, 2002 Share March 21, 2002 Thats true but ST115s really get much noiser after a period of time, cos in the beginning they are really quiet! Its all relative i guess Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear March 21, 2002 Share March 21, 2002 cxxxc good for blowing away disgusting trishaws, SBS/TIBS buses and Taxis only..... But dun even have enuff power to wheelspin man !! But the dBs are fun in a way....cos the handling is gentle....when the grips breaks, the tyre will drift slowly....but you can always catch it back by modulating your throttle..... Kenna once trying to overtake a slow taxi on a wet corner....took the corner a bit too fast and the tyre lost grip....but no panic....just let go of the throttle slowly and car started to drift a bit then when tyres grip is back just floor it !! Ha ha ha ha ha ha....I think the taxi balls drop before mine did man....cos taking a corner and seeing a car drifting towards you is not funny !! But did not intend for that to happen lah....just my stupidity to take the corner at that kinda speed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spaceman Neutral Newbie March 22, 2002 Share March 22, 2002 so guys, as a guide, how much should I be paying for the aspec db for a 205/50/16? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magfocus 5th Gear March 22, 2002 Share March 22, 2002 Do you know if the Aspec DBs come in a 60s profile? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear March 22, 2002 Share March 22, 2002 Frankly I have no idea man....but I think dun have for the 60 series cos I remember seeing the Yoko AVS TWII on 60 series. These two tyre is indentical and so I dun think the local agent will carry both the same series. But that is just me guessing....maybe wrong. Better that you check with your tyre shop. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magfocus 5th Gear March 22, 2002 Share March 22, 2002 yup ok thanks. So if i wan a 60 profile one gotta get the Yoko AVS? Know anything about them? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear March 23, 2002 Share March 23, 2002 AVS TWII.....IMHO..."fake" AVS !!! But the AVS TWII is a good replacement OEM tyre. If you are going for comfort rather than sports....you will not be disppointed. But the AVS TWII is no where near those top of the range AVS range. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madarmour Neutral Newbie March 23, 2002 Share March 23, 2002 Just like Azenis ST115 ---> fake Azenis! A lot of ppl bought it becos they associate the name 'Azenis' with the top-of-the-range Azenis, and came out disappointed. However, they are above average road tyres, so as long as one don't think of it as track tyre, they are fine. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...