Mintex Brake Pads Tech talk.

Lordgt

Bros, Dudes, Comrades,

I had the pleasure of attending and speaking to Mintex ppl here in Singapore on Saturday. The Mintex guys are very concerned about their floating rumours about bad braking and sounds from their pads.

They have offered and would like to inform the VAG community that should any such incidents that might occure on their pads, please have their Mintex Authorised Warranty Centre checked.

Also, they would like to hold a meet the owners session where suggestions and feedback can be exchanged.

Although i might not have a very credible background here in MCF, but trust that this is for the better of ourselves. Learning more is better than knowing nothing. This session is offered to the VAG owners only, I would appreciate very much that those interested could give a show of interest. thumbsup.gif

Yea.. my all disc also using Mintex. Getting squeaky sounds from the front disc brakes at low speed braking. Where/What is this Warranty thing abt?

at Sin Ming #05-14 Autofix Services. There is a reason to your braking noise. Most likely you'll have to get it checked by them.

Anyway anyone interested with the Meet The Owners Session by Mintex? Till them you guys can ask them all about friction and braking.

Hi guys, I just changed my front rotors and discs pad about 1 month ago at Servotronics. Cross-drilled rotors were by Zimmermann (sp?) and brake pads were by Mintex. They charged me $580 the the job plus normal servicing using syn oil. After changing, the front brakes very extremely noisy. What's worse, the mech at Servo left some foil dangling on one of the calipers and it rubbed against the rims each time the wheel turned. Very malu. Each time I drive pass someone at low speed, they would look at my car as if something's very wrong with it. Then I brake and they hear the Eeeee noise. They shake their heads. Went back to Servo to tell them about the noise. They said that the brakes needed to be serviced. I relented. Due to the high volume of cars there, I had to wait about 2 hours before I go my car back. Phillip charged me $20. I wasn't happy* but too bad I had to pay up. Now the noise still persists and I am tired of the whole situation. Am I unlucky or is it so hard to get a job done right the 1st time in S'pore?

* Felt ripped off not because of the $ amount but because I was charged again even though brakes were 1 month old.

Latzu,

I fel sorry for you..........pay to have good job done , then pay again to rectify the error.......that's why I go to Dennis only........Philip's like that very $$$$$$ [sly] faced........

[cool][pirate]

ya lor. its a meet the owners session. so far this thing was conveyed to me last Sat. So I am hoping to rally some response for it lor.nod.gifnod.gif

Bro, the noise is due to improper bedding in. Better go get Autofix the warranty centre for Mintex to do it. Otherwise your rotors will go up the lorry as well.

Brake pads if you don't know by now, needs to run in as well. Its called bedding in and it has to be done in stages. Your was a fit and go thing, thus the noise. Rotors needs to be washed too, before the install and bedding process. Otherwise both rotor and pads will go up the lorry.

That's the problem you see. Wkshps pirate import the things, consumers go and buy cos cheaper. But without proper technical support behind, problems starts to arise and more often than not, the product gets the blame.

As for Servo, i think they need a wake up call. Denise is good, no doubt about that. But its the workers that is screwing things up. I was there for servicing sometime back. It took me 4hrs, the car was on the hoist for nearly 2hrs. Why? Cos the worker went for 30min smoke break. I even had time to wax my car while its on the hoist. Its really not a very good thing for Denise and Customers. I've brought this up to Denise already, he mentioned that he will do something about it. But i think he is too bz with his China investment. Bear with it and i think we will see light soon.

That I am told by many. but because Servo and you have some biz dealing so I didn't mentioned it here. Now you have said it.. haha, Guys, do look for Dennis for your works, else got to pay that little bit 'extra'.

Hi Skodaman,

please SMS me if you guys are going for the Mintex Brake pads tech talk

cause the company is shut for the chirstmas week and I will not be able to log in

thanks!!

aye i feel insulted man.

Doesn't mean that he is my dealer, i must die die defend him one. All things being fair, i am his customer as well. I too am not spared from the sloppy works that his boys dishes out. Doesn't mean i am special or i get a cut for what you all do there.

on the side, i do appreciate that he supports me fully on my coolers. But that's about all.

wah Hondaskoda.

So is your Skoda with a Honda Rear or Head? wink.gif I saw a Skoda Octy trying its best to mimic a 520 before. hahah.. nearly had an accident from laffing.laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif

Hello, dun feel insulted lah. Message is meant for Pete (C708) not you lah.. you new age senitive guy izzit???

Can tomorrow no prob man. Just SMS the time and we meet at Chandra's place. 98321543