Citroen C5

P9993us

I tried the Rolla once, and found instead that the engine was really noisy, like a powerful sewing machine [:p] (joke joke dun flame me)

But the cruising was pretty ok, comfy i might add. Still cant get on with the looks though [:/]

I used to drive all jap cars, until i decided to try some conti cars and it got me hooked! [laugh]

sorry ah... me Conti blur king.!!![blush]

what is the difference between jap drive and conti drive?

me driving Galant and I find it wonderful and good enough for me...

pardon my blatant ignorance

Well the new civic is pretty safe if you ask me, cant base safety on the make of car now, just that i guess the feel of a conti car is somewhat different [:)]

now the japanese are catching up in terms of safety. but the feel of a conti car is still different [cool]

Hi! there, Magfocus,

I'd the chance to survive the poor handling of my '88 Civic 1.3GL, even though I did an upgrade to the suspension. That is enough to make up my mind to get the Alfa. Sadly, a friend told me of a friend that he knows, sold off all his Japanese cars and got a continental one when he lost his family when his wife had an accident which also killed his child.

Rgds

Paul Yong

[:/]

oh sorry to hear that, but that was the past i guess, cos the present batch i'm sure are much safer than previously. To judge them based on the past is not fair, they have made great strides in quality and safety! [:)]

Hi! there, Magfocus,

What is unfair is handling is not as advertised, and they dare to print it, as developed from race tech. To deceive just to achieve sales and in the end, everyone just jump onto the bandwagon. I don't need to highlight to you the high profile accidents of recent years, right.

An example, ECP- Changi Airport, the turn to Bayshore. An Alfasud made in 1970s can go round that bend at 140, with all tyres screeching. It happened to my brother in MY on a blind corner that he has never travelled before, and the car is front-wheel drive. To say, Holy Sheeit!, would be too late if nobody comes out alive.

Rgds

Paul Yong

To me, Conti quality build is more solid than Jap, U can go and try the door-Open & close, U'll hear the different. [;)]

thanks....

I believe the feel of the car is different.

I also know that Conti cars are characterized by higher torque but lower horses as compared to the Japanese counterparts.

Both have their pros and cons.

Not that I say Jap car not good, but average quality are not standardized among all Jan car makers.

My 1st was Mit Colt'82-Got power & Econ gear [shocked], for good build quality-Only Mit..

Any my dream machine isn't Porches or Ferrari, but Mit EVO VI or above [:p][cool]

mit is good for the value for money.

build quality- i have no basis for comparison, as I have always been drivng Mits.

Hi! there, Schroder,

Great driving can only be possible, when you know how to handle the car well. Many young drivers spend their time & money to mod their cars, but not on driver improvement. Take for instance, getting to know what you & your car can do, but what about the other cars & drivers around you.

Rgds

Paul Yong

IMHO, most Jap quality is quite okay.

Refering to your Colt. I had a chance to drive that the LancerF ( I think its for Fiona or something like that) and it had a 4 speed manual and another lever for power and econ....IMO all gimmick. To me its just a 5th ratio just put another lever to make it look chio !! [:p][:p]

After that most of the Japaness cars came out with 5 gear and that ended Mitsu's 2 lever car !!! HA ha ha ha ha ha ha

I got the colt in 82, but manuf.yr in ealier year (dun know wht year), Last time 5th gear not out yet meh, on that time really is new tech man. My one not another level for power & econ, it got one shift for power & econ next to normal gear shift. [shocked]

Ya lah....I think its the same one lah....need to depress the clutch to engage the 2nd lever one right ?

Normally I will leave it on power cos on econ....the pick up sucks and end up have to use more gas to get it going.....so I willl use Econ only on E'way and 4 gear....basically a cruising gear.

My 2 cents.......... [;)]