E36UDM Neutral Newbie March 10, 2004 Share March 10, 2004 (edited) Its for MCF members and normally its at Bishan golf range's coffee shop 9.30pm onwards.....hope to see you there Do check out the meetup folders http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/gforum.cgi...t=505081#505081 Edited March 10, 2004 by E36UDM ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seansene 1st Gear March 10, 2004 Share March 10, 2004 Errrmm.. the Optra does happen to be a Daewoo. It's just that being the new Nubira, we didn't see it on our shores before the name change. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear March 10, 2004 Share March 10, 2004 Hi there, How much is a Chervy? Can I get an auto sedan for less than $70k? Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rskc 5th Gear March 10, 2004 Share March 10, 2004 Oh...ok. From what I know(gathered from net weeks ago), it seems like it is a new car marketed in different brands in different parts of the world, some as Suzuki, some as Daewoo and others as Chevrolet as all come under GM now. I hope GM will apply the same quality standard for all under them especially it is produced along side the Opel Zafira at the Rayong Plant in Thailand. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rskc 5th Gear March 10, 2004 Share March 10, 2004 Hi, I think it has dropped a little since the annoucement of the tax(ARF) cut. I believe last week the price for the auto basic(w/o leather seats, 5 disc changer, sports rim) was $67988 . Pls add 2k for all the extras mentioned. It is better to check again for this sat's ad for the latest or give them a call. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sohc Neutral Newbie March 10, 2004 Share March 10, 2004 (edited) Edited March 10, 2004 by Sohc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_veo Neutral Newbie March 10, 2004 Share March 10, 2004 (edited) ohh...i see. well...maybe i'm wrong. but its good to learn something new today. maybe i din FOCUS well enuf....thanks anyway,DUDE. Edited March 10, 2004 by Ah_veo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seansene 1st Gear March 11, 2004 Share March 11, 2004 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic March 11, 2004 Share March 11, 2004 the optra is badged as the lacetti in other markets. read some positive reviews on it (which is quite rare for korean cars). here's an extract of it which explains it's european DNA: "Although the new Daewoo model will be made at Gunsan in South Korea, the European influence during its development was considerable. With its stylish Italian design from Giugiaro and its thorough steering and suspension tuning undertaken in the UK at the MIRA test site near Nuneaton, it is geared exactly to the needs of Europe. Many technical components also come from well-known European suppliers - Bosch, for example, will supply the ABS system, Siemens Automotive was the development partner for the airbags and the emission control system, and ZF and Aisin Warner will produce the automatic transmissions." Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear March 11, 2004 Share March 11, 2004 Hi there, Anyway, I don't see Chevrolet as a Korean Car. Look at the styling, its doesn't have that typical korean car like what you found in Hyundai and Kia. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic March 11, 2004 Share March 11, 2004 The styling is by Italdesign who do a lot of korean designs. The old daewoo leganza and even the 1st gen Excel was by them too. The Chevrolet Optra was designed in Italy and has an engine made in Australia which is assembled into a body built in Thailand. It replaces the Daewoo Nubira compact sedan that used to be sold here. In some markets, the Optra is also sold as the Daewoo Lacetti. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_veo Neutral Newbie March 11, 2004 Share March 11, 2004 errr...by any chance...anyone noes of any website Forum for chevrolet owners??? or any Meetups for chevy owners??? mmm...i think not enuf kakis. maybe can get some ambulance to join. (logo abt the same pattern mah...) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skoder Neutral Newbie March 12, 2004 Author Share March 12, 2004 Hey meetup up will be a good idea!! Then we can see if their is any improvements to be done to the car... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cavamay Neutral Newbie March 12, 2004 Share March 12, 2004 Hi all, I find the optra's pick-up a bit slow leh, probably coz it's heavy. Will the pick-up improve after run-in? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skoder Neutral Newbie March 12, 2004 Author Share March 12, 2004 Say, no use...meetup one day show or let you try something... can improve wil a bit of legal mods la... don't worry. anyway, how fast you wanna your pick up? too fast, I also dunno how. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cavamay Neutral Newbie March 12, 2004 Share March 12, 2004 Skoder, how long have you got your black chevrolet? went for first 1000km servicing already? i feel that the optra i test drove picks up faster than my new optra, so i guess the pick up will improve after run-in..i hope! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skoder Neutral Newbie March 12, 2004 Author Share March 12, 2004 .sorry to give u the impression that I had my optra... I think I can only pick up my new today or tomrrow only. currently driving an Octy.... I think you don't "loooot"(ram) your new car lah...Showroom one, everyone ram what, so ECU learn to use more power lor... new car no "looot", no learn... After run-in, floor the pedal, then see the power.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cavamay Neutral Newbie March 12, 2004 Share March 12, 2004 Yours is auto right? hee hee, bringing my car for servicing next sat... reaching 1000km liao. after that can RAM!!! Piesay ah...what does ECU stands for ah? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...