Cashiertan Neutral Newbie October 20, 2004 Share October 20, 2004 that was some decent and neat modd there to bring your drunk matrix to give you back a decent FC of 10+km/l. well done ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sterrier Neutral Newbie October 20, 2004 Share October 20, 2004 one thing to consider is the potential resale value... if the typical korean car is 5k-10k cheaper than their competitors, then you can expect their resale value say 3-5 years down the road to be 3k-5k lesser than their competitors at the very least..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sam_wong_cm Clutched October 21, 2004 Share October 21, 2004 With the new car price so low ... All car do not have any good resale value ... So for those still think JAP car good resale value .. they are living back in the 90's ... I have a friend who is in re-export and 2nd hand car business. Now is all about Scape paper value + body ... that is all .. the most jap car can get about 5 - 7K for the body and Korean about 2 - 4K for the body depending on the age and the condition. With the different of about 3K only ... and when purchase new the different is about 10K for example, Toyota corolla vs Hyundai Matrix. When you seld off the different is only about 3K different ... who do you think lose out big time ... you go figure out yourself. Hence when people ask me about resale value ... I always tell them to forget about it .. just buy what you like and be prepare to lose a lot of money regardless whether you chose a conti, jap or korean made ... My friend just sold his Nissan sunny after 1.5 years ... he lose about 20K ... do you still think about good resale value ... think again. Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Biccat Neutral Newbie October 21, 2004 Share October 21, 2004 Agree. A simple rule of the thumb:- you buy high, you sell high. I have driven Continental, Japs and Koreans over the years and I am no worse from selling off my Korean make compared with the others. For those who continue to bitch about Korean makes with many problems surfacing after 3 yrs, I will re-iterate something which I have stated many times in this forum before plus another few additions:- 1) Nissan Pulsar - Alternator failure after 4 years 2) Toyota Corolla - Clutch pump failure after 4 years 3) Ford Escort - Fuel pump failure after 3 years 4) Honda Civic(used car) - Drive shaft failure after 5 years 5) Hyundai Elantra - No problems after 4 yrs except to change all the belts and water pump. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tanlee 1st Gear November 2, 2004 Share November 2, 2004 ABS, yes, but unfortunately still no airbag. for me, for safety reason, i will only buy car with ABS and airbag. i really envy malaysia hyundai matrix, at least their come with ABS and airbag. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sam_wong_cm Clutched November 2, 2004 Share November 2, 2004 If you think Airbag is a must to save life, think again ... how come no airbag for racing car le ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear November 2, 2004 Share November 2, 2004 well, i encountered ABS sencor problem, auto transmittion sencor problem, O2 sencor problem, aircon problem, power steering pipe leaking, TPS changed about 3 times, and the best is all the belting like power steering belt, fan belt, alternator belt had been changing almost bi monthly. send back until the TA and workshop managers knew me so well that i dont even have to queue for number. but with all those problem, still matrix is a class of it's own. a versertile and spacious min mpv. My gosh... It like machiam saying your wife has hongkong feet, bad breath, body odour, lousy attitude, demanding, high-maintenance, naggy, lazy, not loving to you... You complain so much to your friends that they know your wife's bad points liaoz but still you think that she's in a class of her own... A fully developed and functional . Got my drift bro? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Potheader Clutched November 2, 2004 Share November 2, 2004 Wah Lau.. You bloody "straight" man.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear November 2, 2004 Share November 2, 2004 I do have a "nasty" sense of humour that pops put every now and then! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tanlee 1st Gear November 2, 2004 Share November 2, 2004 construction of a racing car and ours day-to-day driving car is different. apple-to-orange comparison. there is many aspect when come to talk car safetly, just look at renault/volvo or others. but for me, i will only consider matrix if it comes with airbag. i can be a safe and steady driver, but i cant prevent other "fierce" driver/taxi driver will just cut into your lane and do a sudden brake and stop... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bfmstg Clutched November 3, 2004 Share November 3, 2004 (edited) well, depend how you interprid? a class of it's own that i meant it's a Mini MPV with space, joyful exterior, plenty of storage and legrooms in 1.6 cat. kena lots or less problems depends on individual luck. frankly after i sold my matrix and changed to toyota wish, also got problems (dont want to mentioned but not that serious). just sold it off recently and got myself another new ride to challenge and encounter problems again.....hahahaha car like human, sure kena sickness but depend how serious it will be. cheers man M2R Edited November 3, 2004 by Bfmstg Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freezy 1st Gear November 3, 2004 Share November 3, 2004 alamak.... matrix now costs $59,888!!! (after the COE dip) my heart really pain ah... i paid $62,888 just a month ago.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freezy 1st Gear November 7, 2004 Share November 7, 2004 so happy to see so many matrix in my MSCP, recently there are two new 'SFN' red matrixes... we would smile when we see each other, although we don't know each other Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheekg99 Neutral Newbie November 7, 2004 Share November 7, 2004 u will be waving to more matrix owners in 2005 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freezy 1st Gear November 7, 2004 Share November 7, 2004 err... i'm slow.... can elaborate? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheekg99 Neutral Newbie November 7, 2004 Share November 7, 2004 u will know in 2005 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freezy 1st Gear November 7, 2004 Share November 7, 2004 don't tell me that there willl be 2005 Matrix? if so, thats double blow to me, first is the COE drop, then new model..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vernon Neutral Newbie November 7, 2004 Share November 7, 2004 Is it some CVVT engine? I thought the I heard someone mentioning before that the new Matrixes now already have that engine? If so is it helping in the fc? Anyway, if hyundai now got CVVT (trajet for example), how come the price didn't go up at all? And CVVT stands for what? Continuously Varriable Valve Timing? And how come still got CVT for the new 2005 hyundai sonata? Constantly Varriable Transmission? Sorry lah I very curious and...stupid. But as I know the both is different right? CVVT is the engine and CVT is the transmission. Someone elaborate and hopefully answer ALL the questions. Thank you. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...