Tested the Optra yesterday

Stary

Ok guys..thanks for all the help on my previous thread, so I guess I should write a bit here after testing the Optra yesterday

But before that, I actually went to C&C to test the Lancer. Interior wise I didn't like the protruded out panels. Driving-wise it's more noisy than I like and I am not use to the "transmission-less" technology. Without hearing the changing of transmission, I can't get the feeling it's picking up. Maybe I am just not use to it. But I like the turning radious...very small...only 4.9m

After that I went to StarAuto for the Optra. Interior-wise, it's very luxury...but I didn't like the wooden trimmings. Unfortunately they don't have a black/gray interior. Yellow interior will need a lot of polishing, if not, black stains will settle on the leather. Changing the wooden trimmings to silver may not match the interior...so I guess I will just leave it as it is.

Driving-wise it's very quiet. Pick-up from start wasn't that bad although it's a heavy car (I rev quite a lot) . Engine is still a bit coarse compared to the Civic, but better than the Lancer. Road handling is superb and doesn't lose to the Ford Focus. The brake on the test car is a bit soft, but I believe that can be tuned. The surround sound wasn't too bad, but bass a bit high which can be tuned of course.

Overall, an excellent car for the price. It's interior matches more of a 2.0L car, very luxury and the engine sounds like one too. Has a very very conti feel to it. I donno how they can actually sell this car at such a price.

Conclusion overall? I bought one on the spot. It's a Denim Blue one. Gold is too "uncle" for me....and black will need some polishing work to retain the shine.

Only regrets is that they don't have a black/gray interior. What a waste. Wish the interior is like this:

03optra_3.jpg

Edited by Starry

good choice,bro! another Chevian here! welcome to the Chevy Family!!

look fwd to seeing u in our coming meetup!! [thumbsup]

[bounce2][bounce1]

dunno whats wrong this is the 4 time typing this..

Good choice starry and welcome to the chevy family, I am into my 1 week of driving the optra, excellent car esp handling, stable, spacious and the "loook' of it. Thot wood trim abit uncle but after a week kinf of acepted it and the matted surface look better than the glossy one in sunny and altis. braking is superb, when you apply the brake, you not feel that it brake immdiately but before you realised that it actaully decelerate quickly to a stop. so no worry, bass of the sound was good but if you don't, gimme..laugh.gif.

Did you get the premuim with reverse sensor, fog lamp, sunglass holder ??? you might to fit the rear speakers as well.

Welcome..thumbsup.gif

dunno whats wrong this is the 4 time typing this..

Good choice starry and welcome to the chevy family, I am into my 1 week of driving the optra, excellent car esp handling, stable, spacious and the "loook' of it. Thot wood trim abit uncle but after a week kinf of acepted it and the matted surface look better than the glossy one in sunny and altis. braking is superb, when you apply the brake, you not feel that it brake immdiately but before you realised that it actaully decelerate quickly to a stop. so no worry, bass of the sound was good but if you don't, gimme..laugh.gif.

Did you get the premuim with reverse sensor, fog lamp, sunglass holder ??? you might to fit the rear speakers as well.

Welcome..thumbsup.gif

So you mean the brakes are tuned to behave like this? like that the car braking is damn interesting leh... [thumbsup]

Ok guys..thanks for all the help on my previous thread, so I guess I should write a bit here after testing the Optra yesterday

But before that, I actually went to C&C to test the Lancer. Interior wise I didn't like the protruded out panels. Driving-wise it's more noisy than I like and I am not use to the "transmission-less" technology. Without hearing the changing of transmission, I can't get the feeling it's picking up. Maybe I am just not use to it. But I like the turning radious...very small...only 4.9m

After that I went to StarAuto for the Optra. Interior-wise, it's very luxury...but I didn't like the wooden trimmings. Unfortunately they don't have a black/gray interior. Yellow interior will need a lot of polishing, if not, black stains will settle on the leather. Changing the wooden trimmings to silver may not match the interior...so I guess I will just leave it as it is.

Driving-wise it's very quiet. Pick-up from start wasn't that bad although it's a heavy car (I rev quite a lot) . Engine is still a bit coarse compared to the Civic, but better than the Lancer. Road handling is superb and doesn't lose to the Ford Focus. The brake on the test car is a bit soft, but I believe that can be tuned. The surround sound wasn't too bad, but bass a bit high which can be tuned of course.

Overall, an excellent car for the price. It's interior matches more of a 2.0L car, very luxury and the engine sounds like one too. Has a very very conti feel to it. I donno how they can actually sell this car at such a price.

Conclusion overall? I bought one on the spot. It's a Denim Blue one. Gold is too "uncle" for me....and black will need some polishing work to retain the shine.

Only regrets is that they don't have a black/gray interior. What a waste. Wish the interior is like this:

03optra_3.jpg

Denim blue is chiou! [gorgeous] one of my fav colour. thou i personally find aveo in denim blue looks better [laugh]

Hi, welcome to the family of Denim blue Optra. So far, I have seen most of the Optra with either Gold or black. My wife always distrub me that it looks like Comfort TAXI. When I went to petrol kiosk recently, I was approached by other drivers asking info about this Optra. Even I went to multi-storey carpark, I was approached too. [bounce2]

i think these people just want to get to 'KNOW YOU' better lah...isit??! [sly][sly]

using the car as an excuse nia....btw, they are boy or girl???

depends on gals' look lor...

if chio looking, then change suspension cum interior.

if [thumbsdown] looking, then i change petrol pump station.

[laugh][laugh][laugh][laugh][laugh]

Change to more "happening" seats?? sly.gif Then your wallet will be quite siong everytime a chiobu ask you about the car! But honestly, how many gals will actually come up to you and ask you about the Chevy?? More chances if you are driving a M3! sly.gif They will jump right in!

Welcome to the Chevy family Starry! [bounce2]

Denim Blue was my second choice. [thumbsup]

You'll enjoy your Optra...promise! [nod] When is you expected delivery?

Had initial misgivings about the beige interior too. But now it seems to match my black car well. Guess it'll grow on you la. Yes...due to it's light colour...must take care.

Don't get me started on the Lancer. [shakehead] Hated the drive...and feel behind the wheel.