Orixy 2nd Gear July 7, 2004 Share July 7, 2004 Hi there. I have colleagues using the Mich Precedas and I'm very impressed with its comfort and braking powers. Only setback is its higher price... Can almost buy 2pcs of g-Force Sport with the price of 1 Precedas!! Any idea where are Mich tyres made? I know the g-Force Sport in Singapore is made in Thailand. Cheerios! :) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Orixy 2nd Gear July 7, 2004 Share July 7, 2004 Hi Vtim, when I bought my g-Force Sports, I noticed that the threadwear is somehow not stated. The wording THREADWEAR is there but the rating that is normally next to this wording is blank... But both my ES100 and GIII indicated 'AA'. Hmm... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Orixy 2nd Gear July 7, 2004 Share July 7, 2004 Greetings! Hmm... I had compared the 3 tyres as same category as I found that they all peformed almost similarly - giving good grip while not sacrificing a lot of comfort. I had bought the g-Force Sport as recommended by friends who goes on track with these tyres and they commented the good grip it gives considering its lower price. Cheap and good! One other comment on the Kumho Ecsta 712: I had sat in a friend's car using the Kumho 712. The tyres screeched when he corners casually at 70Km/Hr!! I almost chose the 712 for my next tyre change cos its very cheap, but gave it a pass after experiencing its "sound effect" first hand. Its really too "loud" for me! Cheers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear July 7, 2004 Share July 7, 2004 IC, thanks for the info Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowpoke156 Neutral Newbie July 7, 2004 Share July 7, 2004 http://www.tirerack.com/tires/bfg/bfg.jsp The g-Force Sport is just a performance "summer" tyre. I would think twice about going to track with it, or maybe I'm just not good enough. The Kumho 712 has been getting very rave reviews, more good than bad. One mechanic friend of mine told me a couple of his clients got into trouble with the Kumhos on the track. Others tell me the tyre rocks. At the end of the day, try and you will know. I've had Potenza GIIs (predecessor of the GIII), Eagle F1s and Potenza RE 040s before and I loved them all. Now just waiting to try the SZ50. I'm giving the g-Force Sport a miss though, I have misgivings about that tyre. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leonknapp Clutched July 7, 2004 Share July 7, 2004 Try the australian website: http://www.bfgoodrichtyres.com.au/ The list is almost the same as whats avilable here. Not that in the desription of the Gforce the word comfort or noise is not mentioned at all! strange right? they dscribe it as an outright performance tyre but still not at the level of the Profiler G. jus look at the suggested make of cars for each tyre to see what I mean. For the SZ50 EP yop there are great reviews but IMHO the sidewalls looks so ugly!! so boring and round even for 45 series tyres.. I have a thing for nice flat sidewalls such as those on yoko dbs, es100 etc.. even the ST115. but too bad their performance for the price. BF Gforce has a nice sidewall and so score here. But I guess its a very silly point.. Rumours also the CSC2 price is headed downwards so maybe worth waiting a while. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leonknapp Clutched July 7, 2004 Share July 7, 2004 forget the threadware rating. conti tyres last much longer than jap ones. preceda is rated at 220 or 240 sorry forgot the exact but it still outlasts the ziex512 rated at 360! es100s are rated at 280 but last only bout 40k. considering BF is made bt michelin i suspect can last as long as the preceda. note that the threads for the preceda are shallower than the Gforce so might indicate better wear. not sure though bro need more feedback from u!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Orixy 2nd Gear July 8, 2004 Share July 8, 2004 My feedback for threadwear would only come much later cos I've only clocked less than 5000km on them!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowpoke156 Neutral Newbie July 9, 2004 Share July 9, 2004 CSC2 is known to be overrated and too expensive, I wouldn't put down that kind of money for that category of tyres. The only thing I like about it is the noise and comfort levels, simply amazing for that class. How much are the g-Force Sport tyres for 205/55R16? A ballpark figure would be good, at least it keeps my options open, though, still a bit about them. The SZ50s are not that expensive lah, just don't buy the EP lor! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leonknapp Clutched July 10, 2004 Share July 10, 2004 I think you would be looking at no higher than $140 for 205/55r16. btw jus saw the threadware rating of the Gforce. its 340 Traction AA. Cheers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluecity Neutral Newbie July 14, 2004 Share July 14, 2004 Kumho actually also not bad leh. 1 and the half year ago I was using ST115. My car almost been throw out of the road and hit the wall when I was doing a sharp corning (approx. 85-90deg) in Jurong West (travelling 70km/h). KNN, heard the tire sneaking sound & it goooo... Wah lau... cold sweat man. It still remain about 80%-75% (Used 7 months) thread before i throw away that ST115 for Kumho powermax 769. Personal feeling is that, kumho is more cheap (bough at $60) and it's quite a good rubber too. It perform well on wet and dry whether. Some more can give me some sound on the same corner I took, but the sound is different from that ST115. It sound like it's gripping the road very hard and almost over to pull the road off. Well, it's going to wear off soon and my next change will stick back to kumho again. But this time will be the Ultra high performance grade liao (712). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
King 1st Gear July 14, 2004 Share July 14, 2004 agree on CSC2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear July 14, 2004 Share July 14, 2004 I agree with you on the ST115 & Kumho 712. The ST115 will have 'verbal' warning but by then it's already over the limit liao Where as the 712 will be 'verbal' at the slightlest push thru the corner & it gest louder & louder when it near the limit I prefer the 'stiff' side wall of the ST115 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leonknapp Clutched July 14, 2004 Share July 14, 2004 (edited) http://www.tirerack.com/tires/bfg/bfg.jsp The g-Force Sport is just a performance "summer" tyre. I would think twice about going to track with it, or maybe I'm just not good enough. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Hi Bro, The Gforce has since been upgraded to the "Ultra High Performance" class. So more or less these tyres are on par with level A tyres such as the ES100 and the GIII. Now Im looking forward to reviews on the Pirelli Dragon and Yokohama C.Drive. Both are Level A tyres and promise "lifetime comfort" So looks like now the 4 tyres that can really boast to be High Performance and Comfort are the Gforce Sport, Preceda, Dragon and the C.drive. Edited July 14, 2004 by Leonknapp Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiacarens Neutral Newbie July 15, 2004 Share July 15, 2004 Yes, I agree. Kumho tyres are quite good considering the price. I was using the 712. Good grip, dry and wet. I am now using the KH11. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leonknapp Clutched July 15, 2004 Share July 15, 2004 Im quite confused by the KH11, its touted as a comfort tyre yet it has the Traction AA ratings like the Preceda and ES100. So is it a comfort or performance tyre? Well at least I can see that it follows the thread designs of the new Dragon and C.Drive so I guess it should be in the same mould. Any reviews? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluecity Neutral Newbie July 15, 2004 Share July 15, 2004 bro, when you install your KH11? how much? My Kumho 769 is due soon and going to change it. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...