Idling issue with Protege

Protege

I think you have to go back again and kick up a big fuss and tell them that one of the forum guys got the power module change and solve the problem. Then they will take note! Must be fierce and aggressive. Customer is always right!! [thumbsup]

Since your car is still under warranty should go back to agent. Idling RPM shouldn't be so unstable, unless there is a sudden heavy load.

I'm not sure if it's related but my car used to have this serious problem. When the engine bay is over-heated, i.e. slow traffic or super hot day, the RPM sometimes became very unstable and will even stall! sweatdrop.gif But after a few minutes of keeping the engine open and letting it cool down, the car will drive normally.

Finally brought back to agent, they changed the 2 black boxes sitting on top of the spark plugs. I believe those are the electronic ignition circuits. RPM is much more stable after the change!

There's this Shell Proserve at Bt Merah that I now send my car to. The boss told me they have the computer tuning tool. Can give them a try.

It's opposite the former HDB Building. Look for Richard Koh Tel: 62768567.

hey, my boss sends his car there too...thumbsup.gif

[reply]

There's this Shell Proserve at Bt Merah that I now send my car to. The boss told me they have the computer tuning tool. Can give them a try.

It's opposite the former HDB Building. Look for Richard Koh Tel: 62768567

Must say I've been quite happy with their service so far.

Richard is a very nice guy, always smiling and ready to give good advice. smile.gif

The other technicians are also very knowledgeable and friendly.

If after any service and there are problems, they'll rectify it.

And the best part is I get to loiter around the workshop, peering into the innards of the other cars there too. sly.gif

Bro, what car you driving? My problem only exist once in a while and only when the aircon compressor is not on. I will try to go back to agent and have a look.

Cheers!!

yep.. that what my boss said too.

and for him to be happy.. it means the shop is doing a good job. wink.gif

do you know if they can provide tuning services ?

Ford Laser, aka Mazda 323 in disguise. tongue.gif

With the compressor off, the rpm should be even more stable.

My problem then was quite bad, stalled quite a few times and in dangerous places too sweatdrop.gif

Initially thought it's the Broquet, K&N, Grounding, etc. but turns out not to be.

Bro, for me, the rpm goes lower when the airco compressor cuts off. When it kicks in, the rpm goes higher. Its when the compressor get cuts off that the rpm goes low and the engine starts to vibrate a little. Not stalling yet.

Cheers!!

Sorry, don't know for sure. Probably best to give them a call? smile.gif

Really depends on what car you're driving.

For example, Richard told me that he doesn't have the eqpt for the latest high tech models like BMW 7 series. sly.gif

Then it may be a simple case of tuning a higher RPM.

The RPM will dip a little when the load is cut off, but I don't notice significant dip to cause any vibrations.

Not sure if grounding will help. My car is "grounded" and has HVS, they seemed to help a little in this area. But in any case, the car without any additional grounding or devices should have stable rpm too.

The tuning have to done through using a computer to be accurate. Thats the main problem. Anyway I will get it check out during my next servicing. I also have HVS but have not done any grounding. Any benefits with doing grounding? How many points you do and where you do it?

Cheers!!

I think my grounding is 7 pts, can't quite remember all the places. I think it's 4 pts on different parts of the engine block, 1 at alternator, can't remember other 2. It's quite some time ago.

Effects of grounding? Some says they feel a difference, some don't.

I suspect that even if I take out grounding and HVS, prob won't feel any diff also. laugh.gif

How old is your car battery? I've heard people mention that a weak battery can also give problems, cos the battery acts as an electrical stabiliser of sorts. I changed my batt from a 45AH one to a 60AH, the max size that the batt holder can hold.

Where you did your grounding? I tested HVS before buying. Can feel the difference. As for grounding, I really dunno. Where you did yours? I dun mind doing it. My car only 1 year old next month. Battery still new. Will change to more power one when I change it in another year's time maybe.

I also tested HVS before buying. Also felt the diff. But later when I took out, felt no drop in performance leh. But anyway since bought already so I left it inside loh.

Grounding suppose to go hand in hand with the HVS. But some bros say it doesn't help so quite subjective I suppose. Mine was done by this other bro in the forum, don't think he's still around in the forum anymore. There are probably many others who still do grounding, can search the forum.