Tweek Neutral Newbie July 27, 2004 Share July 27, 2004 My car has this problem once in a while... In first gear, move off from stationary. When engaging second gear, when the gear lever is about to slip into the 2nd gear notch, the gear teeth rattle as if they didn't mesh properly. Return to neutral, gear in to 2nd again and it was smooth. All this while the clutch pedal is fully depressed to the floorboard. The funny thing is this only happens once in a blue moon, and happens mostly when the car is negotiating a turn. Of the 1 year I've owned the car (secondhand), it happened about 6 times. And each time I was pretty sure the clutch pedal hits the floorboard so can't be that clutch wasn't properly released. Told my mechanic about this but he couldn't replicate the fault (it's once in a blue moon!!). I suggested that the synchromesh may be worn but he said no point changing synchromesh, if so might as well change the whole gearbox. He said to put up with it...shouldn't do much harm to the gearbox. Anyone can explain this?? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear July 27, 2004 Share July 27, 2004 There is two possibilities - one is the clutch linkage joints or hydraulic system need servicing, - the other is , as mentioned by you , the synchromech clutch is either worn out or there is forign matters present, that from time to time cause poor synchroming of the brass dog teeth clutch units. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tweek Neutral Newbie July 27, 2004 Author Share July 27, 2004 (edited) thanks.. but how to tell the mechanic that? My mechanic is that type "I test drove nothing wrong leh, don't know what to change". He already changed the gearbox oil for me twice already for precautionary. And I guess if this prolongs, the gearbox may be damaged right?? Edited July 27, 2004 by Tweek Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoppe Clutched July 28, 2004 Share July 28, 2004 change mech and see? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
En0203 2nd Gear July 28, 2004 Share July 28, 2004 how old is ur ride? i suppose it only happens on downshift? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoppe Clutched July 28, 2004 Share July 28, 2004 go approach several mechs, get their "free" consultation, then go back to your mech and explain the problem. That's the best way. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear July 28, 2004 Share July 28, 2004 My car has this problem once in a while... In first gear, move off from stationary. When engaging second gear, when the gear lever is about to slip into the 2nd gear notch, the gear teeth rattle as if they didn't mesh properly. Return to neutral, gear in to 2nd again and it was smooth. All this while the clutch pedal is fully depressed to the floorboard. The funny thing is this only happens once in a blue moon, and happens mostly when the car is negotiating a turn. Of the 1 year I've owned the car (secondhand), it happened about 6 times. And each time I was pretty sure the clutch pedal hits the floorboard so can't be that clutch wasn't properly released. Told my mechanic about this but he couldn't replicate the fault (it's once in a blue moon!!). I suggested that the synchromesh may be worn but he said no point changing synchromesh, if so might as well change the whole gearbox. He said to put up with it...shouldn't do much harm to the gearbox. Anyone can explain this?? looks like the 2nd gear synchromesh is gone liao if not repaired, you'l need to double clutch all the time before you select 2nd gear Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tweek Neutral Newbie July 28, 2004 Author Share July 28, 2004 about 3.5 years.. actually it happens on "upshifts" only, from gear 1 to gear 2. Well you push the gearshift down but it's consider upshift right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tweek Neutral Newbie July 28, 2004 Author Share July 28, 2004 that's what I told my mechanic. So it is possible, or does it make economic sense, to replace the synchromesh only? Or is it like what my mech says, might as well change the whole gearbox! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Milky33 Neutral Newbie July 28, 2004 Share July 28, 2004 My car has this problem once in a while... In first gear, move off from stationary. When engaging second gear, when the gear lever is about to slip into the 2nd gear notch, the gear teeth rattle as if they didn't mesh properly. Return to neutral, gear in to 2nd again and it was smooth. All this while the clutch pedal is fully depressed to the floorboard. The funny thing is this only happens once in a blue moon, and happens mostly when the car is negotiating a turn. Of the 1 year I've owned the car (secondhand), it happened about 6 times. And each time I was pretty sure the clutch pedal hits the floorboard so can't be that clutch wasn't properly released. Told my mechanic about this but he couldn't replicate the fault (it's once in a blue moon!!). I suggested that the synchromesh may be worn but he said no point changing synchromesh, if so might as well change the whole gearbox. He said to put up with it...shouldn't do much harm to the gearbox. Anyone can explain this?? is either you didn't apply the clutch properly,you try stepping the clutch to the end point and change to 2nd gear,see whether you still have this prob or not...if the prob still there ,then maybe you should get your gearbox fluid change... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tweek Neutral Newbie July 28, 2004 Author Share July 28, 2004 thanks for your reply, brother, but if you read my initial post carefully hor, you'll see that I was sure I floored the clutch pedal when it happened, so I already stepped to the end! and my second post I mentioned that my mech changed my gearbox oil twice already. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tweek Neutral Newbie July 28, 2004 Author Share July 28, 2004 Searched the net and found that for most cases, worn synchromesh usually cause crunching of gear when downshifting from 4 to 3 or from 3 to 2. And it happens each time you shift. Then what about my case?? only from 1 to 2. And long long then happen once. Each time the gears fight my heart pain.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear July 28, 2004 Share July 28, 2004 what's your ride??? to change the synchromesh is very labour intensive so most w/s in SG will not go ahead with the repair (some may not be skillful enough to do it ) as the profit vs labour is not to their advantage. Most would prefer a straight gearbox switch, easy job for them & higher profit, if got problem can just blame on the used gearbox. If they replair the 2ng gear synchromesh & later you complain got problem, they will have to open up again to check/repair, so a lot of 'hand-tail' (in hokkien) for the mech Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tweek Neutral Newbie July 28, 2004 Author Share July 28, 2004 I see... Guess the only thing to do is to live with it yah... thanks for your replies btw I'm driving an Accent. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear July 28, 2004 Share July 28, 2004 tell you what, meet me at Bishan MCF meetup this Friday & show you how to drive without using 2nd & 4th, unless necessary Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahliew Neutral Newbie July 28, 2004 Share July 28, 2004 no wonder that explains your STi-like FC on your focus high rev at 1 and shift to gear 3 ram on 3 and go 5 straight Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear July 28, 2004 Share July 28, 2004 don't really need to rev high to slot to 3rd from 1st lar! as long as the speed is around 35-40kmh, you can slot into 3rd liao. And when it's around 60kmh, can than slot into 5th Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bcyn Neutral Newbie July 28, 2004 Share July 28, 2004 y???u wanna join him arh? y not revvv gear 1. den change to 4 straight. dun use the rest unless nessesary. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...