Dashingd Neutral Newbie August 3, 2004 Share August 3, 2004 Hi all Optra owners, I just received a call earlier this evening from SA to send my car back to change my engine mounting. Some sort of recall involving selected vehicles. Claims the instructions came from US. Based on chassis number. Anyone else kena? Any idea what's happening? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Botak Neutral Newbie August 3, 2004 Share August 3, 2004 Hi, mine have the engine mounting problems which I reported to them 2 weeks ago. I demanded them to check and they suspect that it is due to the engine mounting problems. Scheduled to send in on 3 Aug. Problems: Engine noisy, vibrate when idling, no power, high fuel consumption, etc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lukie102 Clutched August 3, 2004 Share August 3, 2004 oh no...just when sales are picking up Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pern Neutral Newbie August 3, 2004 Share August 3, 2004 Thanks for the info Please keep us update more Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Botak Neutral Newbie August 3, 2004 Share August 3, 2004 Hi, at least they play their part to try to rectify the problems. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lukie102 Clutched August 3, 2004 Share August 3, 2004 i guess so...but they wouldnt be able to keep quiet too....everyone will know soon Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Botak Neutral Newbie August 3, 2004 Share August 3, 2004 Ya. Will let them have my car to rectify my problems I reported. Will them if problems still persist. Update you all after that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Editt Neutral Newbie August 4, 2004 Share August 4, 2004 Hi there, Also optra owner, can tell me when you bought your car? Just want to know whether same batch as you. A bit worry as well. Thanks, do keep us updated. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zacer Clutched August 4, 2004 Share August 4, 2004 at least they willing to admit the problem and doing recall. wonder if will release to press. cannot remember which jap make izzit mitsubishi? failure to recall car with problems and kanna fine Jialat Jialat!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sxrolet 1st Gear August 4, 2004 Share August 4, 2004 Hi, mine have the engine mounting problems which I reported to them 2 weeks ago. I demanded them to check and they suspect that it is due to the engine mounting problems. Scheduled to send in on 3 Aug. Problems: Engine noisy, vibrate when idling, no power, high fuel consumption, etc. -------------------------- BTW, when you got your car Wah, dunno if mine also have same engine problem as you..as my car has similar symptons , milage only abt 2600km ( Vibrate when idling - sometimes erratic vibration especially during cold..warm idling RPM 900, though can feel vibrate more than when new No power - always, thought because car is heavy for engine High FC - always, but how high is consider abnormal? have always thought was my problem with weight of right feet on expressways, usually 3 figure speeds range where the car feels at best condition. Not sure if symptons would worsen and if I should make noise to SA.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Luckcent 4th Gear August 4, 2004 Share August 4, 2004 No harmin sending it backt to the agent to check. If the same problem as others they will rectify. Dont worry, think they will not want their image to go down. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dashingd Neutral Newbie August 4, 2004 Author Share August 4, 2004 I got mine last yr Nov. Have already done over 30K...Have been complaining abt noisy engine sounds, but no action taken last few servicings. Recently noticed a bit more vibrations. Was going to ask SA to check it out in my 40K. Guess I was lucky they called first. So...anyone else had the recall? Cause the guy just mentioned they are going by chassis number as advised by US. Doesnt seem it affects everyone.....maybe the worker in Korea not happy anyhow fix a batch of engines....damn suay! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arah Neutral Newbie August 4, 2004 Share August 4, 2004 Maybe Tom Yam not hot enuff. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Editt Neutral Newbie August 4, 2004 Share August 4, 2004 I think i will kena also, I got mine last october, so maybe same batch. But mine is a manual so, maybe kena maybe not, will call them as well lah. Is your vibration very serious like idling, the car shake like hell or just more sound??? Btw, our optra build in thailand, maybe consume too much alcohol on the job. . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dashingd Neutral Newbie August 5, 2004 Author Share August 5, 2004 Mine's auto. My friends & wife say not noisy behind, very normal for 1.6L car. but my ears feel otherwise leh... I feel more vibrations actually. As for sound, it really depends on the engine. Sometimes I get very irritated by the sound, other times not so loud. Noticed when I pumped 95RON, sound is quieter. Wonder why? Today just noticed my Fuel tank light is blown. Not too sure if its blown or something wrong (maybe thus causing the fluctuation problem?). Called SA up & they said they'll have to check. I actually managed to load up 59L of petrol this morning!!!!! did not spill out yet...must have either 1) driven till almost dry or 2) the tank is >60L. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Editt Neutral Newbie August 6, 2004 Share August 6, 2004 Hi botak, I presume that you got your Engine mount rectified. Any feedback or details? Thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Editt Neutral Newbie August 6, 2004 Share August 6, 2004 Do you keep track of your mileage for every full tank you pump? If you do, you will definitely notice that you are traveling much longer distant than usual. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jagash Neutral Newbie August 6, 2004 Share August 6, 2004 Hi all Optra owners, I just received a call earlier this evening from SA to send my car back to change my engine mounting. Some sort of recall involving selected vehicles. Claims the instructions came from US. Based on chassis number. Anyone else kena? Any idea what's happening? Mounting problem quite siong! I remember my 1980 Accord Auto had the problem and car vibrate quite badly when idling in gear. Nothing much could be done to solve the problem. I hope they can solve your problem with today's technology otherwise damn irritating, man! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...