Optra Engine Mounting Recall

Dashingd

Yeh, actually I do keep track religiously. Make it a point to reset my trip meter each time I top up. I get between 10/L - 12/L depending on 1) my style of driving for that tank 2) traffic in the morning (i take ECP-stupid jams along fort road).

Hi All,

Just came back from SA. Accordingly to the chaps at SA, they were told to just check/tighten the engine mounting according to specs.

So far so good, no more vibrations (not that much before but i very fussy), & quieter ride. Now only hear the stupid loud stock tires..... [thumbsdown] Time to change tires....

Hi, the service engineer have tested drive my Optra(A), he commented that everything is Ok except engine idling. Checked and no error code reflected. Thus he reset the engine idling problems. Now don't seen to have the vibrating problems after driving for 5 days. Anyone know how programmer write engine program? Will it have "Blue screen" [lipsrsealed] and cause the engine to Halt half way? [sweatdrop] Need to press "Clutch" + "Brake" and "Accelerator" to restart [laugh][laugh][laugh][bounce2]

Edited by Botak

[reply]

Anyone know how programmer write engine program? Will it have "Blue screen" lipsrsealed.gif and cause the engine to Halt half way? sweatdrop.gif Need to press "Clutch" + "Brake" and "Accelerator" to restart laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gifbounce2.gif

I guess it will be just like writing program for my Broadband routers, or wireless things.. so not much different, except that this thing, if hang, may kill ppl lor..

but I think there is a watchdog routine - Anything hang, stop everything..

One thing I still dunno is, if the computer running the ABS or EBD got problem, will it jam my brakes halfway when I am travelling on the highway ???? sweatdrop.gif

Oh, if BSOD (Blue Screen Of Death) appears, you dun have clutch lah.. :)

So have to press Accelerator, Brake, plus open and close driver side door simultanously..

Or some have to press Accelerator, open Driver door, open front passenger door, and close both doors while press brakes..

dizzy.gifdizzy.gifdizzy.gif

Hi Bros

how urs FC consumption?

I heard some ppl said that their spare part for Optra are expensive True or not?

Expensive? The killer is the damn A/C servicing which is mandatory at 20k. [mad]

Else, we can see if we can use Opel oil filters [sly] . The Aveo can use the 1.6L Astra G's bigger oil filter for more oil. Who knows, the Optra can use the Vectra's filter for even more oil!

You kana before.

(Else, we can see if we can use Opel oil filters . The Aveo can use the 1.6L Astra G's bigger oil filter for more oil. Who knows, the Optra can use the Vectra's filter for even more oil!) What do you mean? need advise before buy car

You see, how a car is protected is dependant on its engine oil. Now there are some oil crazy freaks out there that use these things called bypass filters or remote filters. They fix big 18-wheeler rig oil filters in their car. They increased their engine's lube capacity by a big amount.

Why is this the case? Well, oil degrades as you use it. If you have that amount of oil, soon it will be useless slush. Now if you have more lube oil in the engine, it will take a longer time for the oil to become rotten. The oil can go for what we call extended drain thus saving you money and protecting your engine.

The oil filters from Opel are compatible with the Chevies. As a kind poster has pointed out, he is using the Astra G's filter on the Aveo. The filter is bigger so can put in more oil for better performance. Not sure about the Optra but we can find out in the days to come.

They just adnust the screw on the mount only?

So no major problem with the mount at all. [sweatdrop][sweatdrop] .

I thought they will lift the whole engine and replace all the

the mounting with new mountings.

So just aligment problem.

When you changing tires, jio me also leh. Mine tires now [thumbsdown][thumbsdown]