Considering Opel Meriva... help needed pls!

Hansia

Hi everyone,

Am thinking of buying Opel Meriva, which is gog to be my first new car purchase. Need some comments from owners abt the reliability of this car.

Got an irresistable offer for the car at $76K+ with leather seats thrown in, but not sure if it's gonna cost a bomb to maintain the car...

How's the gearbox like? Is easytronic reliable? Dropped Renault Megane after reading abt the horror stories abt M2 stalling for no good reasons. Some flywheel sensor issue.

Are spare parts expensive? My friend used to drive an old Opel Corsa, but it cost a lot of $$$ to keep it going...

Appreciate if you could help. Thanks!

Hansia

Fuel Consumption is one issue with this car. Becos it uses the Corsa platform, it is rather unpowered, even with a 1.6 engine. at best about 11km/litre.

Parts wise, it is slightly higher than jap cars, but you are rewarded with much better handling and body rigidity. Autoeuro cars are quite commited to aftersales services, though they are quite understaffed, resulting in slower services.

i am a bit confused.....platform means layout right? if that's the case it shouldn't result in poorer consumption.......but rather i tot its the power to weight ratio?

The platform is the basic design of the car. The Meriva has a different and heavier chasis put onto it, together with a different engine. As the car is heavier than a Corsa, the consumption will be higher loh.

Btw, the interior of the Meriva is not very conti... the finishing is not as good as other conti cars that I've looked at.

hmm...ok...i got the definition of platform a bit wrong.

anyway not that bad lah....

my corsa got 14km/h.......for meriva to get 11km/l its ok leh......heavy body some more.

oops, i kind of can't remember.

think its corsa b.

basically its the same as the latest corsa running on the road.

Edited by Acemundo

i had test drove this car when they launched together with some dog-theme thing...back in June.

I like the semi-auto gearbox....but found the interior abit plain. and for a price of abt 80k,,was abit on the high side....It is quite similar to the Matrix in term of space...but it has better torque...I tot the semi-auto gearbox will give good fuel economy rate,,but sad to learn it is only giving 10~11 km/l.

Hi bro, this price can get a Focus leh... Ever given it a thought? Excellent handling plus 5yr warranty... and comes with friendly SE too... [laugh][laugh][laugh]

eddie

Hi bro, this price can get a Focus leh... Ever given it a thought? Excellent handling plus 5yr warranty... and comes with friendly SE too... [laugh][laugh][laugh]

eddie

Hmmz... if Hansia looking for mini MPV, I doubt the Focus will interest him. Must match the product to the user's needs mah. [;)]

Anyway, how does the Focus C-Max compare to the Meriva in terms of price and seating flexibility? You're a Ford SE, right? Perhaps that's the car you should try to sell to him. Or else I help you sell, then we split commission between you, me and MyCarForum lah. [sly] [sly] [sly]

Good thinking, but the C-Max is a different proposition altogether, it's based on the upcoming Focus, and so is a full size (and price) larger than the Meriva. On the other hand, it only has five seats, so is not a direct competitor with the Zafira either. Given this, I won't be surprised if RM has already decided not to bring it in, seeing that locals wanting an MPV usually require the flexibility of seven. Comments, Eddie?

Edited by Seansene

Actually the management is considering bringing it in... No idea whether they have confirmed their decision on it yet...

eddie

What's taking them so long? It's been out in the market for eons already. Look at the response time of other dealers, they bring in the car when it's new, not one or two years old in the European market... [:|]

Not aimed at you personally, hor [;)]

I know... that is quite a norm for Ford actually... Remember last time the Focus was launched worldwide, it took more than a year to reach our shores...

eddie

My 1.6 Zafira can get more than 12.5 km/l. Surely the Meriva can do better. Cannot be Meriva heavier than the 1.5 ton Zafira right?