Proton Gen-2

Acemundo

by the way, "engine strain ..going uphill" is really a lame excuse thumbsdown.gif

I agree manz ... cant imagine a car that is designed locally and cannot take the local terrain. Like that Cameron Highlands how ?? Gen 2 all cannot go up also ah shakehead.gif

and bang, not to mention the cold weather in genting [shakehead][shakehead]

Thats why .... I think all drive with fingers crossed ....

No wonder on NSH , I see GEN 2 all on left lane .... they not speeding at all sia crazy.gif

all on left lane? sure bo? [laugh][laugh]

saw many gen 2 quite chiong-able one u know [thumbsup]

even one alfa owner who's wife owns a gen 2 commented that campro got similar driving characteristic with his 147 [rolleyes]

Familiar name, huh?

But I have a feeling some other party may have "chope" the name already.

[shocked][shocked] u sure this is from daihatsu??? [shocked][shocked]

it looks very similar to camry and with the name of altis somemore.. could it be a hoax? [rolleyes]

Familiar name, huh?

But I have a feeling some other party may have "chope" the name already.

[shocked][shocked] u sure this is from daihatsu??? [shocked][shocked]

it looks very similar to camry and with the name of altis somemore.. could it be a hoax? [rolleyes]

If it is indeed a hoax, I must applaud the prankster for a flawless execution of a scam so elaborate, especially since I pulled that image directly from Daihatsu's official Japanese website.

It is indeed a Daihatsu. Eversince GM started doing rebadging to sell cars, other companies have followed and that includes Toyota which incidentally owns Daihatsu.

IMHO, the best rebadger is VAG. Every car handles differently, feels different and looks different but many share the same platform. Ford follows close behind for being innovative for rebadging. 40 series Volvo, Focus and MZ3 share the Focus platform.

GM is the worst. They are damn lazy when it comes to rebadging. Just slap on a badge and that is it! The cars are just clones in different badges.

Daihatsu's latest "platform sharing" exercise with Toyota produced the Daihatsu Boon, which except for that little badge, is virtually identical to the Toyota Passo right down to specs and pricing. I guess GM's unique disease has already spread.

As for the Daihatsu Altis, it's doubtful that car will ever make it to our shores. Looks good though. Some may even prefer its looks to the other Altis.

[reply]

Daihatsu's latest "platform sharing" exercise with Toyota produced the Daihatsu Boon, which except for that little badge, is virtually identical to the Toyota Passo right down to specs and pricing. I guess GM's unique disease has already spread.

As for the Daihatsu Altis, it's doubtful that car will ever make it to our shores. Looks good though. Some may even prefer its looks to the other Altis.

Go to Daihatsu website, and look at this "Altis".. it is EXACTLY the same, internal as well as spec, with the Camry 2.0L here..(Before it was made in Thailand).

Then now, shift production to Thailand, and change front grille, so that it looks different.. I wonder why...

wah!from Gen2 now talking about Perodua.....then now about Daihatsu..... [laugh]

That's why it's so fun to "talk rot."

From Gen.2 chatter, out popped a photograph of "Gen.2 langgar Kancil" (or was it the other way around?), then came mentions of Daihatsu (which owns Perodua shares), which lead to talks about "badge engineering" that resulted from the marriage between Daihatsu and Toyota, and their Altis lovechild that followed.

Dunno how Samy Vellu found his way into our discussions though. Sure don't want to know whose lovechild he is... emoticon-vomit.gif

laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif .... thats courtesy from you and me lah laugh.giflaugh.gif