Mass grounding - DIY workshop

Tien

i have no idea, bro.

let's wait n see if this workshop go or no-go. if go, then maybe we can all go SLT buy the materials needed, then head straight for the DIY session.

just remember to check this thread once awhile thumbsup.gif

i think that's the round (or U shape) metal ring you attached to both ends of the cable, then easier to attached to those screws...

>~~~~~~~< = grounding cable.

assuming v shape ends above are U shape instead. with these 2 ends, it is easier to attach the cable to screws smile.gif

but those round eye ones more difficult to attach rite? must take out whole screw first then can attach sweatdrop.gif

but i do agree they are more secure compared to those U shaped ones... thumbsup.gif

i taken a walk in SLT last week...1 meter 4AWG wire cost around $4...ask around...some sell a bit more expensive then the rest...but I don't know the price of the connector to terminal....anyone know how much? I intend to do a 4 pt grounding to my sunny...

4AWG vs 8AWG cables. which one has lower resistance, hence easier for current to flow through?

sorry, no idea what those numbers stands for so m asking this silly qns. only know the lower resistance, the better the current flow and so the more effective the grounding is... sweatdrop.gif

the lower the number...the thicker the cable....for car...think 4AWG ok liao lor...quite thick already....the thicker the cable...the more current it can conduct....

depending on how you want to run the cables lor... [:)] and which point you want to ground.....after that you measure the length of cable you need lor....

Yes, you have to remove the screw if you are using those round type, but believe me, it would be safer.,...

You wun want to take the risk of having 'loose' grounding cable..

err... i have no idea leh, m a newbie to grounding also sweatdrop.gif

but heard it depends on your ride's engine bay layout and how you wanna route those cables...

Yoz Tien,

You sure you guys wanna DIY the cables? I mean its okay to DIY the installations, but from what one of my colleague shared with me, he had a couple of friends who tried buying the AWG8 cables from SLT, and crimped their own grounding cables. But after installing them, they felt no improvements or differences.

The proper grounding cables sold in accessories shop are usually those 99.99% oxygen free type of cables (similar to those hi-fi cables), and not just any normal copper cables. These cables also have silicone insulation to withstand the heat in the engine bay. Normal PVC or rubber insulation will breakdown after sometime. The copper will also oxidise, raising the cable's resistances.

Well I can help id the components in the engine bay if I am free to drop in, but I do not know what are the components that need to be connected. Mine was done by the shop. When and where you guys doing it?

If you guys are buying the cable separately, then better to have a wire cutter and also a lug shrinker ( the name I do not know ) to ensure the ends of the wire are securely fixed.

then must also see how thick the screw is then can get round eye lugs of correct diameter rite?

err... btw, is there a standard size for the screws they use within the engine bay? kekeke sweatdrop.gif