Junyi Neutral Newbie August 19, 2007 Share August 19, 2007 Guys, just got my ride 2days ago.. Was wanting to change my headlamp but dunno which is approved.. LTA website quoted 15000 candles but how do i check if the bulb i buy is no more then that?? Like Philips Diamond Vison is 5000K lums means is it approved? Any kind souls care to intro those Bulbs thats white and bright(can see far)? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Totallypatrick Neutral Newbie August 19, 2007 Share August 19, 2007 I'm also looking for one and have been researching for some time. As a rule of thumb, the higher the ratings (e.g 5000k) the whiter it is and the shorter the throw. THis is because the bulb filter out the yellow portion retaining the white portion which can't shine far. My friend who changed to HID (illegal) damn bright but he say during raining can't see sxxt.. That's why he never change his fog lights to white so that he can see during rain. My recommendation is philips crystal vision which is 4300k which is pretty white with a bit of yellow. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Accord Clutched August 20, 2007 Share August 20, 2007 Hi Junyi, white light is allow to be on the road just that 'they' expect us to cheange it back to yellow light when we go for inspection. Anyway you just got your new car, so thatz mean your nxt inspection will be 3 years later lor. If you looking for approval bulbs, currently only Vision Plus, BlueVision, SilverVision from Philips, those from Osram & Borsh. It really depend on what you expect & whaich types of light output you want, If you want something white, only Diamond Vision could meet your reqirement or CrystalVision which gives you a nicer look & same time gives you the normal light output. If not, Vision Plus will give you 50% more light then your OEM bulb. FYI: XtremePower will be coming in last quater according to the Philips Distributor in Singapore, it gives you 80% more light output,WoW...VERY BRIGHT. Only HID could give you the colour Temperature which you wants & same time the brightness, If your car headlamp comes with projector lamps then it ok for you to install it but max with 6000k only, those with 8000k or even 10000k all will be very obvious to attract the ROV to stop you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Josephteo 1st Gear August 20, 2007 Share August 20, 2007 Hi Bros, I just went to check out the Bosch H4 4000K bulbs yesterday and was quoted $55.00 (I think with installation). Is that reasonable? or am i being "chopped" haha.. Any bros out there have install the Phillips H4 type? can tell me roughly how much (with installation)? The guy at the shop told me Phillips one more expensive. But I didn't ask how much coz I was there with my cousin to install new car horn. Joseph Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Accord Clutched August 20, 2007 Share August 20, 2007 Hi Joseph, That should be the Bosch market price for it, dun worry. As for the price for Philips, should be around the price for BlueVision to which is oso 4000k. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Junyi Neutral Newbie August 20, 2007 Share August 20, 2007 Bro, does that mean ill not get stop 'not 100% lah' but almost if i fit in diamond vision? and whats the market price for diamond vision? i saw at some shop selling 90+ for H4.. the place tye blah blah at toh guan i went but nv see the shop leh.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Josephteo 1st Gear August 20, 2007 Share August 20, 2007 (edited) When i went to take a look yesterday, the boxes on the bulbs all have the LTA approved sticker. Just check again with the boss to confirm that they are LTA approved. Then you won't get caught. But if you install HID lights on car models not designated for it. You will get stopped. Confirmed and checked. :P Oh..and one more question.. can my 2004 Mitsubishi Lancer take the diamond vision bulbs (H4)? Any bros know? Edited August 20, 2007 by Josephteo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zerstorer 2nd Gear August 20, 2007 Share August 20, 2007 (edited) Seems like this will give us what we want: http://www.nam.lighting.philips.com/us/aut...ystalvision.php http://www.suvlights.com/index.php?cPath=39 Crystalvision ULTRA. Edited August 20, 2007 by Zerstorer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Accord Clutched August 21, 2007 Share August 21, 2007 Hi Junyi, I sure the ROV nowsaday dun care abt white lights fitted in our cars unless it other colours such as blue or even HID lor, as for the place which you had mention, they are not the distributor since 2003 if not wrong. For H4DV, the retail price is $90 correct. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Accord Clutched August 21, 2007 Share August 21, 2007 Hi Bro, those stickers are xtra, all of us know that if the colour temperature falls below 4000k, all are approved. No meaning for it to be there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingkong 5th Gear August 21, 2007 Share August 21, 2007 So sorry for the very late reply... Received the bulbs around 2 weeks back before went to answer the call of the nation... RESERVICE! So didn't get to go online. The bulbs are definitely much brighter and had a further throw than my stock. But the illumination was not evenly spread, most likely due to my headlamps design. I have not tried VP before, so can't comment on the improvement if any. Bros interested can give it a try. But those hoping the get close to HID brightness and spread can give it a miss. It's still far from it. Bro, how's the color like? Amber-like, or blue/whitish? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Josephteo 1st Gear August 21, 2007 Share August 21, 2007 oh...haha.. so those 6000K ones, Crystal Vision etc are not approved? i'm very keen on installing the Bosch Plus White 4000K one... maybe will install soon. Anyone using the Bosch Plus White 4000K? how is it? pic on the jap brochure looks good http://www.bosch.co.jp/jp/aa/products/group.asp?id=PlusWhite Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zerstorer 2nd Gear August 21, 2007 Share August 21, 2007 I don't think any of the halogen ones are 6000k. Diamondvision is closest to white and its about 5000k. Too bad its so darn dim. 4000K bulbs like Bluevision are just slightly less yellow than stock, they still clearly look yellowish to the eye. Bulbs like Crystalvision at 4500k are nearly white and I think have the best balance between cosmetics and function. Best if u can find a place to actually test the bulbs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluemice 2nd Gear August 21, 2007 Share August 21, 2007 i noe some of the bosch series is LTA approved, do u noe if the + white is ? 10s mice Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Junyi Neutral Newbie August 21, 2007 Share August 21, 2007 i have just change to crystal vison and after fixing it i realise its much whiter then the ones i saw at autobac "those tester" is it normal? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Josephteo 1st Gear August 22, 2007 Share August 22, 2007 bro junyi.. how much did it cost u to change to Crystal Vision (including installation) and where did u install it? not sure if the prices @ autobacs are cheapest..coz i know some stuff there more ex than outside.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Josephteo 1st Gear August 22, 2007 Share August 22, 2007 i went that day to take a look... the 4000K plus white one has the LTA approved sticker. so shld be ok. but like some bros here said..i think generally below 4000K is approved. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Accord Clutched August 22, 2007 Share August 22, 2007 most of the Philips Dealers had demo for testing. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...