Jonathan Neutral Newbie September 4, 2004 Share September 4, 2004 Hi everyone, I'm new to this forum. Just ordered a new lancer which will be delivered in 3 weeks time. Money no enough so I got a basic lancer wef the exclusive package. Any ideas where to go to change the head and tail lights to make it look like the lancer sports version? Thks! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheeze Neutral Newbie September 4, 2004 Share September 4, 2004 hello there~ congrats on getting a lancer! I'm also currently driving a lancer n hope u will enjoy yr new car...as for yr question i think someone will reply with somthing useful soon Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic September 4, 2004 Share September 4, 2004 save the money for a set of 16" rims instead. the chio factor is higher. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lufu 1st Gear September 4, 2004 Share September 4, 2004 there are some mitsubishi stockist. I know where is it, but not the road name. sorry. try to do a search here http://login.prospero.com/dir-login/index....rforums%2Fstart Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonathan Neutral Newbie September 4, 2004 Author Share September 4, 2004 Really? Thot that would increase the FC? Was thinking of changing the lights and include in fog lamps to make it more chio instead. Want to change the front grill too to remove the chrome portion. Looks ugly wef it... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic September 5, 2004 Share September 5, 2004 the increase in FC is marginal but you'll get slightly better handling. changing the lights will onli make it look like another stock model which doesn't realli stand out if chio-ness is the priority. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ianteo Neutral Newbie September 5, 2004 Share September 5, 2004 hi Jonathan, I am also quite kin abt lancer. Which loan u took up? Citibank or DBS? and Y? I was thinking not going for the the $2500 exclusive package. can i get cash rebate?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheeze Neutral Newbie September 5, 2004 Share September 5, 2004 hello....what is the exclusive package ? what stuffs they throw in?? curious heh.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonathan Neutral Newbie September 5, 2004 Author Share September 5, 2004 I took up the DBS loan, which will give you 20% cash rebate off the interest. If you take up the citibank loan, you'll get either the exclusive package free, free 1st yr insurance, or $2000 cash rebate. However, t/cs apply. You 'll have to take up 70% of the loan for 7 years, which will work out to over $7k in interest. I took up a shorter loan instead. For the exclusive package, if you pay $2,500 more on top of your basic lancer, you'll get 15' OZ rims, leather seats, reverse sensors, remote central lock and sony 10cd changer. Sounds like a good deal so I took it up. Dunno leh, but the lancer would look more chio wef the 'sports' lights... anyone got lobang for this? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mantaone Neutral Newbie September 6, 2004 Share September 6, 2004 They are selling at Mcwell http://mcwellventures.com/cms/index.php?op...=116&Itemid=143 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rick76 Neutral Newbie September 6, 2004 Share September 6, 2004 this is my first post.anyway i'm also an owner of a new lancer some SFL.... think i paid about 72k for the sports version. which comes with the sports rims, cd changer, leather seats, auto, reverse sensor. fog lamp , air dams, exhaust tip sales rep gave me some bonet insulator, side windor visors and ralliart sports pedals .(on hindsight should also have asked for the front windscreen sunshade to be installed as well and ralliart mats. ) insurance i took the smallest amount. since i could pay most of it in full and still get the 2k rebate. all in all i must say the car has improved a lot since my last lancer 6yrs ago.the last time my windows stopped working one by one..and the plastic peeled badly. and 5th gear was unusuable up a gentle slope. went for a toyoto after that..now giving lancer a second chance 2generations later..and no regrets since.although i must admit the workmanship interior is far inferior to an altis. and there are few compartments inside. none the less decent for it's price..but the company has some financial crisis. the most important thing to me in a car is ultimately the abs and airbags. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheekg99 Neutral Newbie September 6, 2004 Share September 6, 2004 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zombie Neutral Newbie September 7, 2004 Share September 7, 2004 that's a wise choice I tot. But since there are so many sports version around, how about looking at other non-conventional mod to make your car look special??? sorry I don't own the lancer thus cannot offer advise on the parts, but off-hand can think off - Iridium Plugs (Denso) - air-filter - exhuast - voltage stabilizer (many brands to choose, eg RMK, Pivot etc) - chio 16" or 17" rims (but not OZ, cos too many OZ on lancers) - performance tyres - bucket seats - Defi oil temp, water temperature, volt meter guages Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonathan Neutral Newbie September 7, 2004 Author Share September 7, 2004 Wat strikes me is that the car is well designed and looks better than others in its class. The rear passenger seats have even more legroom than the altis, although the altis' boot is enormous! Was deciding between the 2. But think the price different between the sports and the basic is too much, so I decided to do up the basic model instead. Managed to bargain for a spoiler and rike cool, but had to top up $280. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonathan Neutral Newbie September 7, 2004 Author Share September 7, 2004 Thks for the info guys! Think I will stick to cosmetic changes first cos I'm afraid any internal changes to the engine may void the warranty. Thinking of changing the lights, front grill, install fog lamps and a body kit. Hope to keep budget within 1k. Heard that if you trade in your 15' OZ rims for a 16' one, you may even get some money back for change. Anyone knows if its true? Me newbie lah... quite blur... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zombie Neutral Newbie September 8, 2004 Share September 8, 2004 provided the new 16" is cheaper than OZ 15". May or may not. Well I did not suggest any change to your engine, did I???? Shouldn't void the warranty. Open-pod air filter may have a chance. The rest shouldn't. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blurcock Neutral Newbie September 8, 2004 Share September 8, 2004 Hi zombie. reading your post makes me interested in improving my lancer. Can u tell me wat does iriidium plug and exhaust and air filter do for the car? how does it help the performance of the car? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lancerddt Neutral Newbie September 8, 2004 Share September 8, 2004 Hi, Jonathan..you can try here. http://www.creativesports.com.sg/ ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...