Test Drive

Slonez

Hi everyone,

New here.

Looking for an affordable car preferably with some space for occasional lugging of goods.

Test drive the Cerato HB Auto last weekend. Quite impressed with the build quality, spaciousness and engine response. However the engine noise and vibration is quite shocking, could feel the vibration very clearly on the foot pedal.

Tried the Mit Lancer Auto, everything so so, cannot get used to the CVT gearbox, very rubbery.

Tried Matrix. Like the space layout and many thoughtful compartment. Engine and handling not bad but internal build quality ??? Can spot a few uneven plastic joints. Also worry abt high FC.

Quite like the Liana HB Auto. Look more solidly built and also higher quality material. Engine power & handling seem adequate for normal driving plus almost as spacious as Matrix.

Did not try the Vios, too long waiting plus ??? on service.

Sunny is no no for me. Just personal preference, no offence to Sunny owners.

Appreciate any user feedback on the above-mentioned model. Thks!

Hi Slonez,

Welcome to MCF ! Do enjoy your time here and come along for our weekly Friday evening meetups ! More details in the MEETUPS folder. nod.gif

For other automotive and contacts info, do check out the RESOURCES folder and the TIPS & TECHNICAL RESOURCES folder.

You might also want to take a look at our FORUM GUIDELINES in MCF.

What is your budget btw ? Any other particular priorities that you are looking for ? eg. FC, space etc ?

You can try test driving the following cars as well: Honda City, Toyota Vios.

Cheers tongue.gif

My personal note ...

1. Cerato - Good space, nice design and look. But engine not CVVT yet .. hence FC is poor.

2. Lancer - Nice and sporty design, space not as good, FC - slightly below Average.

3. Matrix - Nice design and space, solid build. FC - Auto bad, Manual OK.

4. Liana - Nice for the HB model, space good, But poor sitting position for the back row.

5. Viso - Very poor in term of space, worst then my preious 1000cc SEAT IBIZA.

6. SUNNY - FC is a BIG NO NO ... Space SO SO only ...

Above is just my personal experience and commend.

Are you sure the Liana HB is spacious? It has a wheelbase of 2480mm only.

Matrix is 2600mm. But I must say the door plastics at the shut line between door and dashboard is like a toy's. Look even closey its even worse. But from far its a nice car with walnut panels etc. I don't get why the Matrix was released in Europe only recently. I mean, it looks out of date to me liaoz. Or is it just Pininfarina's design...

[;)] Hi, me same as u looking for spacious car/SMPV, budget around $60k, I will also look into the omv of the car. Tested drive chevrolet vivant, matrix, liana, vois & cerato, now left choice of : 1st choice : Liana ($64,900 auto - omv $14,335 ), 2nd : Cerato ($58,999 auto w/package - omv $11,784), 3rd : Matrix ($58,888 auto - omv $12,387).

In term of space, vivant is the best, I love the car by 1st sight [inlove] , reason for not choosing vivant is because high price ($63,999 w/package - omv $11934)low omv, and the interior material [thumbsdown], very hard & shacky on the road. Not considering vois is because out of my cagetory. No offend to anyone lah, beauty is in the eyes of beholder mah. [;)]

Hi everyone,

New here.

Looking for an affordable car preferably with some space for occasional lugging of goods.

Test drive the Cerato HB Auto last weekend. Quite impressed with the build quality, spaciousness and engine response. However the engine noise and vibration is quite shocking, could feel the vibration very clearly on the foot pedal.

Tried the Mit Lancer Auto, everything so so, cannot get used to the CVT gearbox, very rubbery.

Tried Matrix. Like the space layout and many thoughtful compartment. Engine and handling not bad but internal build quality ??? Can spot a few uneven plastic joints. Also worry abt high FC.

Quite like the Liana HB Auto. Look more solidly built and also higher quality material. Engine power & handling seem adequate for normal driving plus almost as spacious as Matrix.

Sunny is no no for me. Just personal preference, no offence to Sunny owners.

Appreciate any user feedback on the above-mentioned model. Thks!

Thats really good for you to be able to test drive so many car. Like you, i have no chance to test the vios at the showroom, however, i had chance to test drive the Vios as my friend drove one. Power is a little in sufficient but the FC is superb [thumbsup] 15km/l is the average my friend vios has given him.

U r rite bro. long queue [shakehead] wait till u get the car to service/repair at their workshop...wait until u sian. i had my personal experience with them [furious][whip]

Thanks everyone for your feedback!

I think this is a great forum for exchange of info & exp. Feel comfortable here unlike some foreign forum modulated by some really cocky (you know what). Keep up the good work!

Aveo did not tickle my taste bud at the motor show but it received good review recently.

Optra 5 look quite delicious but at $70+k too ex for me. Got a friend with Optra Sedan Auto who complain FC problem.

Space is one of my consideration therefore minis (I don't mean cooper) are out.

Blame it on my limited $, looks like Liana in pole position on my list.

Test drove,

1. Liana HB - Steady ride, well built, but lack power when over-taking. But excellent family car. Spacious [thumbsup][thumbsup][thumbsup][thumbsup]

2. Aveo - ok don't flame me, personal opinion. CMI. I sat in there I can hardly see all the meters, the steering wheel is blocking it most of the time. (my height, 1.78cm) [thumbsdown][thumbsdown][thumbsdown]

3. Optra - Better than Aveo, but engine noise is audible, handling so, so. [thumbsdown]

4. Colt - Nice ride oso, love the bench seat in front. But its a bit too pricy cuz the same price I can buy a Liana HB. Engine responsive. [thumbsup][thumbsup]

Hi Stonez, r u intending to get the Liana? U r looking into the 1.3cc or 1.6 (auto or manual)? The new facelift has the clear cover for the rear light which looks extremly nice [inlove] (my side of view). As u can see liana is my first choice, hope the $$ will drop further [:p] Base on the present$ list, the 1.6cc (manual) is a better buy than the 1.3cc. [thumbsup]

since u'r paying so much for a car....i suggest before u sign on the dotted line,

go test drive Vios as well. no harm dropping by, tio boh? [;)][:)]

None taken on the Aveo. You buy cars based on your personal needs. The dang car doesn't come with a tilt steering wheel. Only the US one has. The local distributor thinks that the height adjustable drivers seat is enoughshakehead.gif

Thought the Optra-5 was at S$68K?

Did the CEO drop help in the price or are they pushing any special promotion during the currently running motor show?

Limited choice of color thoughblush.gif

Edited by DonDon

Hi

Liana, Liana all the way [thumbsup][thumbsup][thumbsup][thumbsup][thumbsup][thumbsup][thumbsup][thumbsup][thumbsup][thumbsup][thumbsup][thumbsup]

I would have bought a 1.3L Liana if hasnt been for the high

price ($60K in May'04) so ended with a Aveo instead.

Liana is a good car I can think of.

- ABS( EDB ) standard on 1.6L only

- 2 SRS airbags ( none on Aveo )

- Height Adjustable Seat Belt ( none on Aveo )

- Tilt steering ( None on Aveo )

- Immobilser ( none on Aveo )

- Lights off reminder ( none on Aveo )

- Rear 3-point full Seat belt w LATCH [thumbsup]

- Grab type door handles [thumbsup]

- Side skirts standard on 1.3L and 1.6L

- Silent chain drive

- twin 12V sockets

- map reading lamps and centre room lamps.

- Cool looking A/C dials ( glos in red )

- Cool looking Meter ( glows in red )

- Rear trapizoid ( Multi-link ) Suspension

Good value car with lots of space.

Imagine a 1.3L car that stands as tall as a

Toyota Wish.. [thumbsup][thumbsup][thumbsup]

Test drive the 1.3L Liana before and would say

the engine is much much more silent than the Aveo

Edited by Godfinger

Get the 1.3L and secretly lup in the 1.6L engine. sly.gif Or save more than enough money lup in the 2.0L Aerio engine with complete undercarriage, suspension and drivetrain conversion to AWD! thumbsup.gif So stock looking, nobody will notice a thing!

Edited by Genie47

Yah loh.. When I saw a Liana on the road and I pointed

to my wife that it comes with 1.3L too, She immediately

pull my ear and say Y I dont get it that time.. [blush]

Big car small engine also shiok..