Voltage Stabilizer

Slonez

blush.gif

actually, it's the Alternator that's the cause of voltage fluctuations as the DC is never clean. Only way to provide stable DC is from batteries or switching-mode power supplies, batteries will drain and we need the alternator to charge them up, as for switching-mode power supplies, maybe someone can design one than can be used for the car's electronics, eg. ECU, Sensors, Fuel Injectors thumbsup.gifthumbsup.gifthumbsup.gif

hi bro. your avatar is thumbsup.gifthumbsup.gifthumbsup.gif. blush.gif -> "bo tao XIONG yong" kiss.gifkiss.gif

anyway, I'm newbie here Posted Image

after reading this thread, it seems like it a 'chicken & egg' thing... e.g. Egg come first? or Chicken come first?.

Nevertheless, I tried Z-stab. and it works for my case.Posted Image Yes I go agree, the effects there initially, after a while , it gone. IMHO, it is not goone.more explainably, the ECU had 'compensated' and your your humble right foot had got used to the effects. I had d/c-ed the Z-stab before, and *bingo*,Posted Image i feel the effects IMMEDIATELY....

Having said that, it is also dependent on the ride, my point of view is my experiences with my own ride. Posted Image

I also do agree, if the thing is good, why does the manufacturer doesnt include it in?. Simple reasons, that I thought, "scale of economics"., and definitely the cost of the car will go up, and naturally the selling price. .

Thus, IMHO, it is sort of like 'Buy & use @ your own risk.". if its works, Posted Image for u. Else, Posted ImagePosted Image, sell it it off .

lastly, dont smoke me okay Posted Image. I'm just a newbie here... voicing my 0.00000000001 cts of thoughts .:)

Posted ImagePosted Image

Excerpts!! [thumbsup][thumbsup][thumbsup][thumbsup]

Electrical modifications (grounding/stabilising)

Devices of this type include: Z-Stab

As well as the air and fuel related devices decribed elsewhere on this site, there are also many products that claim to improve economy and/or power via changes to the vehicle electrical system. Chiefly these are grounding wires (to fit between the engine block and the vehicle body) and various voltage stabilisers.

Certainly poor electrical systems can cause significant problems. Most obviously, a poor earth link between the engine and body makes starting very difficult, since there is a large voltage drop when the starter current (100 - 200A) passes through the high resistance. What is far less clear is that a vehicle whose electrical system is in pretty much "factory" condition could benefit from adding such devices.

Modern vehicle wiring and ECUs are already designed to operate in a harsh electrical environment. They cope with conditions from maybe 8V starting with a nearly-flat battery to 16V on a boost charge, and with electrical interference from mobile telephones etc, without failure. The ECU runs internally at 5V or even less and is heavily stabilised to ensure the processor runs fault-free at all times. Many modern ECUs repeatedly self-check and would shut down the engine entirely if any kind of fault condition occurred. Overall, it is hard to envisage how a marginally more stable electrical supply could significantly improve engine economy, emissions or performance.

Equally, extremely precise control of the engine is essential to meet today's strict emissions standards. If electrical problems really did lead to significant errors in fuel delivery or ignition timing on cars in good working order, it seems highly unlikely that such cars could pass emissions tests.

It is also worth noting that engines are generally developed on test beds using highly stabilised power supplies (not using the vehicle alternator), but the test results and ECU settings carry over quite accurately to in-vehicle use - ie there is no obvious worsening in performance with the "less stable" supply.

Where voltage stabilisers and the like probably are of benefit is in improving sound quality on in-car entertainment (ICE) systems, but that is not within the scope of this website!

hi bro. your avatar is thumbsup.gifthumbsup.gifthumbsup.gif. blush.gif -> "bo tao XIONG yong" kiss.gifkiss.gif

laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif everyone appreciated my avatar laugh.gifPosted ImagePosted Image

the last time I change to pics of my kids, have many messages asking me to put it back Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image

Ever wonder what burnt the 2 cars in recent weeks? Could it be the "Chiong" voltage stabilzers that cannot heck the heat and current? Always pay a bit more for reassurance.... [sweatdrop]

Hey ask u guys something ah..

pls correct me if i m wrong

Volt stab is mean to keep a constant steady flow.. If there is excess chrage. it will keep, and if there is lack, it will gif out rite?

So if the car is on the move. The alternater keeps charging the battery and there is excess, and the volt stab keeps the excess. SO my Question is. in the long run, will this shorten my battery life???? [dizzy]

Sorry if my statment nt too clear.Ang Moh nt tht good.... [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

so far think max volts got the best rating...but from wat I see, this particular VS though improves the car immediately, it may drain the battery, hence shortened its lifespan...cos a number of hyundai bros who installed it had their batt totally flat!

no worries bro...i mean out of the hundred plus vehicle that hobby installed, read only abt 2-3 hyundai bros got battery flat...maybe concidently their need changing mah..

Just installed pivot raizin stabilizer with 5 point grounding...immediately less engine vibration and quieter engine with better throttle..A/C also colder...good investment I must say

Mine diesel ride.

Got any daily diesel driver like me here [gossip]

I had trid a few brands liao.

But endup Diy my own VS for my way of ride [thumbsup]

Happy Diy [scholar]

I agree Pivot is a better brand. Anyone interested can pm me. Got lobang for it. Less than $150 with installation and come with 6 pts grounding.

Edited by Powerboi