Voltage Stabilizer

Slonez

The VS contains capacitors. This helps "steady" the currents - The DC current provided by the alternator is DC insofar as it does not dip below the 0V line for a negative voltage return.

Some companies sell aftermarket tachometers that connect to your cigarette lighter outlet! This proves that the device can actually read the pulses present in the outlet "DC" supply to display the RPM.

The capacitors present in the VS help with momentary voltage requirements, such as during cranking - your headunit will stay alive... [thumbsup]

Aiya I know got cheaper ones for only $75 even cheaper if you DIY. But $85 include pivot VS ?? Got fake look alike from Taiwan leh. And then the thickness of the cable used. Got gold plated or not, got rubber insulation ??

It's not Pivot. But it works just as well. The thickness of the cable is 8, with thick insulation.

Once the engine is running the alternator charges the battery and supplies power to all the systems. That is why you can still run around with an almost dead battery but not with a dead alternator. The alternator's supply isn't that steady so the go in-between is the battery.

I've travelled in a car with an almost dead battery before. The alternator was doing the job as long as the car is running. Have a dead alternator, forget about travelling far even if your battery is alive. shakehead.gif

that's why, the important thing is the Alternator but there is one condition that you'll won't be able to jump start a car with a dead battery, ie, the battery have short circuited sweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif happens to my friend's 33 QV, wasn't able to jump start, check the batt with a meter & discovered that it had short circuited dizzy.gifdizzy.gifdizzy.gif

I Did suggested to him to remove the battery connection & jump start then drive to a shop to change batt but he wasn't keen laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif

Just for fun, I install the Pivot VS (grey box). Immediately I can feel better engine response, smoother rev, similar to the effect I get when I had the E-Power VS.

IMO, VS really works but you cannot expect huge boost in power, FC, etc. But for $100+, I think it is worrth it. [thumbsup]

Edited by Slonez

The Pivot cost me $130 inc installation & a simple small bracket.

My grounding was done 2 mths ago in JB, cost RM90.

hi to all bros...i called up a mobile accessories company tdy to find out abt their Pivot voltage stab. What that guy told me was that pivot this brand kinda outdated liao...Alot of pple complained gt probs. He also added that in Taiwan or Japan now, digital ones are the in-thing.....Asked abt the price, he said $275 plus installation....Any bros can verify???

Chances are that the Pivot price ia already very open so no lobang or incentive for him to sell.

New digital version probably give him better profit margin since it is not common yet.

If a passive one like the Pivot got problem, what make the "digital" (I assume it is active) will be less problematic? [confused]

well makes me wonder also sia....He say if want pivot one, can gif me for 85 cos nobody want liao...But he say i scared your car gt prob after that then cum find me again...