Changing tire width

Ben123

I am using 175/70 R13 tires. Saw 175/60 R14 specs. Suppose this is a wider tire width. What is the difference other than it is costier?

Wider meh? 175mm vs 175mm wat. Just that the 14inch one is lower profile, meaning the sidewalls are shorter.

Supposedly, you get better handling with larger rims and lower profile lor.

But very often, when u increase rim size, the width also increases. But not in ur case lah.

Edited by Johnchong

175/70 R13 vs 175/60 R14 specs.

Wheel size bigger in diameter.

tyre thickness is lesser

width the same

overall the wheel circumference slightly more. I think

If you are currently using 175/70 R13, your RIM size is 13 inches and tire diameter is about 575.20mm. You can replaced it with a wider 185/60 R14 which uses a RIM size of 14 inches and the diameter is about 577.60mm which is very close to your original diameter.

175/60 R14 is a bit too small (diameter of about 565.60mm)

-Cheers

Thanks. You mean I can replace to 185/60 R14 without changing my existing rim? Would the mileage meter be affected by the change? Thinking of this switch but not sure what are the advantages...maybe better grip, looks nicer but at the expense of higher fuel consumption. Right?