Trex101 3rd Gear May 9, 2009 Share May 9, 2009 Thanks Trex101,helping me to order amsoil (SAE 10W-40 Synthetic Premium Protection Motor Oil ). Today just get my 20 cantons. . You are most welcome Adamvios ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
P4610yz Neutral Newbie May 11, 2009 Share May 11, 2009 can we mix. xw30 and xw20 oil togather...?? as i m afraid that my vios can't take the xw20 thinness of engine oil. Do advice.. Thanks Regards Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_dude Neutral Newbie May 12, 2009 Share May 12, 2009 can we mix. xw30 and xw20 oil togather...?? as i m afraid that my vios can't take the xw20 thinness of engine oil. Do advice.. Thanks Regards u wan to creat xw25 ???? cannot mix la....if you change engine oil..they will drain out the used one...then pour in new one.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear May 12, 2009 Share May 12, 2009 can we mix. xw30 and xw20 oil togather...?? as i m afraid that my vios can't take the xw20 thinness of engine oil. Do advice.. Thanks Regards i use 20wt amsoil on my camry, now switch to sso 30wt 30wt and 20wt noise level same, but 20wt smoother and rev freely can use lah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear May 12, 2009 Share May 12, 2009 You are most welcome Adamvios come back holiday bo jio Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
P4610yz Neutral Newbie May 12, 2009 Share May 12, 2009 as in i want to buy 2 bottles of W20 and 2 bottles of W30 mix them! Possible?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nom107 1st Gear May 12, 2009 Share May 12, 2009 look at cook oil some r flower, some r nut, some r veg... do u mix oil to cook ???? same 4 engine oil u dunno wat is inside so if u care dun mix. diff brand or diff grade w40/w30/w20. if u dun mine any oil can... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_dude Neutral Newbie May 13, 2009 Share May 13, 2009 as in i want to buy 2 bottles of W20 and 2 bottles of W30 mix them! Possible?? advise you use different grade at different time...to test out which one suits you better... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
P4610yz Neutral Newbie May 13, 2009 Share May 13, 2009 i m planning to use amsoil so thinking of xw20 and xw30 4 quarts needed total...so mix it 2 quart 2 quart respectively.. Yupz!! Any comments? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wushen Neutral Newbie January 17, 2010 Share January 17, 2010 Hi, Got a question. Currently my car is using castrol 5w40. I bought amsoil sso ow30. Wonder if i can just change the EO with out flushing the engine. Will the diff grade of EO affect anything? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eyke Supercharged January 17, 2010 Share January 17, 2010 Wonder if i can just change the EO with out flushing the engine. Will the diff grade of EO affect anything? Yes. No. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nmnhnlm Clutched January 21, 2010 Share January 21, 2010 I lvoe Amsoil. Its fantastic for protection and last long. Power not that great but for me I value protection more than power. Redline is good for power but protection is poor. check out UOA results and you will see that wear for Redline is rather high. Another brand thats good on protection is Castrol. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged January 24, 2010 Share January 24, 2010 i m planning to use amsoil so thinking of xw20 and xw30 4 quarts needed total...so mix it 2 quart 2 quart respectively.. Yupz!! Any comments? I wonder why are there so many "expert" here who insist that engine oil cannot be mixed. Im also wondering which oil or car manufacturer told them this... yes, ive checked with Amsoil and confirm can be mix. even other engine oil brand can be mix with amsoil, just that the extended OCI no longer valid. you need to follow the lower OCI if you mix different type of oil... eg, if mix mineral oil with amsoil, u need to change the oil before 5,000 km.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nmnhnlm Clutched January 24, 2010 Share January 24, 2010 I wonder why are there so many "expert" here who insist that engine oil cannot be mixed. Im also wondering which oil or car manufacturer told them this... yes, ive checked with Amsoil and confirm can be mix. even other engine oil brand can be mix with amsoil, just that the extended OCI no longer valid. you need to follow the lower OCI if you mix different type of oil... eg, if mix mineral oil with amsoil, u need to change the oil before 5,000 km.... Hoho I have no idea where they get the idea that engine oil cannot be mixed.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged January 25, 2010 Share January 25, 2010 Hoho I have no idea where they get the idea that engine oil cannot be mixed.... if u check around, you will realise that many of the MCFers strongly believe that mixing oil will cause chemical reaction between different engine oill.. some even claim that your engine may explode if mix diff engine oil... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stonesix 1st Gear January 26, 2010 Share January 26, 2010 if u check around, you will realise that many of the MCFers strongly believe that mixing oil will cause chemical reaction between different engine oill.. some even claim that your engine may explode if mix diff engine oil... whether or not mixing is good or hurting the engine...but why the trouble trying something you not so sure how much power you would get out from mixing it...in the same time not know whether your engine is 'happy' with it or not.?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear January 26, 2010 Share January 26, 2010 I believe different engine oil can be mix, but it won't be performing at its best if mixed. Its like baking a perfect cake, we need the ingrediant to be exact. Need the correct ratio of sugar, egg, flour, butter, etc. Different cakes the ingrediant are slightly different, we don't use the formula of sponge cakes to mix/bake a butter cakes. Similiar, different engine oil are formulated differently by professionals to achieve the optimium performance. Some having more calcium additive for long-life performance, some having more moly or boron for better wear additive, etc. If we anyhow mix engine oil, its like mixing up a perfect recipe to make a good cake. The resuls is, the cake will still be edible, but not that good tasting. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trex101 3rd Gear January 26, 2010 Share January 26, 2010 I believe different engine oil can be mix, but it won't be performing at its best if mixed. Its like baking a perfect cake, we need the ingrediant to be exact. Need the correct ratio of sugar, egg, flour, butter, etc. Different cakes the ingrediant are slightly different, we don't use the formula of sponge cakes to mix/bake a butter cakes. Similiar, different engine oil are formulated differently by professionals to achieve the optimium performance. Some having more calcium additive for long-life performance, some having more moly or boron for better wear additive, etc. If we anyhow mix engine oil, its like mixing up a perfect recipe to make a good cake. The resuls is, the cake will still be edible, but not that good tasting. Wow, this really sum it up. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...