AVI user comments welcomed

Nitrogenarian

a bit off topic ah

haha.. guess wat. i just discovered.. my damm port in my box loose man.. haha.. damm woofer was sucking the port into the box lor.. until when i was like nudgin it today.. it went into the box.. hahaha.. best man.. now my woofer baby at the shop..

Dyns durability issues is well known in the audio industry.

Even home audio speakers using Dyns drivers need more frequent replacement compared to the other branded drivers, imagine in a car ....

If your friend get the chance, remove the speakers & take a good look at it. One of the common problem is the surround which gets crumpled or torn. You may not noticed it if you don't see it or if you're not playing them loud enough.

[;)]

>>Dyns durability issues is well known in the audio industry.

Even home audio speakers using Dyns drivers need more frequent replacement compared to the other branded drivers, imagine in a car ....

If your friend get the chance, remove the speakers & take a good look at it. One of the common problem is the surround which gets crumpled or torn. You may not noticed it if you don't see it or if you're not playing them loud enough. >>

This problem as far as i know applys to the current batches of dynas on the market. A very common issue for the tweets or driver to have problem.

*I still has a pair of old dynas tweeters(more than 10yrs) in good condition

don poison me la.. wah lau.. i still in a fix la.. hey. u got cedric's number? i wanna contact him regardin his sound proofin material.. i just cant afford ah heng's sound proofing.. gonna DIY. goin try experiment on the door panel..

aniway.. wat subs u got? i want 10 inch power power one.. hehehe.. i still headache cos even if i get ur OZ audio. i still wanna keep my RF in the car .. thinkin how to wire up.. unless the audioart wire up to 1 RF and 1 OZ.. then become 1 ohm.. wat u think?

eeh.. till date.. i spent $180 on woofer box leh.. damm sian one leh.. first box too big *ironic thing is it was built to specs on the manual*.. then now 2nd box port kena suck in.. hahaha..

u sponsor me lor.. hahaha

Dyns tweeter are not the problematics ones, its the mids thats the problem.

Early Dyns mids surround crumple with 1 month of installation (if they're installed on rear panel & under direct sun). Worst I've heard is a few days! [sweatdrop]

We replaced quite a few drivers for home audio speakers that uses Dyns mids. Drop by my showroom & I can show you how they look like [laugh] .

Phew! [sweatdrop][sweatdrop][sweatdrop] Surprise to hear from u that even home audio dynas are having some problem ,lucky my contour are still serving me well [sweatdrop]

Agreed wif u that mids are one of the problem. My friend's 240GT's mid crashed within a couple of months, not once but twice, but good thing Dynas distrutor replace it one for one [flowerface] But i not sure if this problem attributes to the type of music ones' play [hur][hur][hur]

*can sms me your shop address, so can also see the famous Butler(if u still have my number)

u never come the meetup meh? butler rocks man.. heard from my cousin tat he zeng his tubes.. sound even sweeter.. hahaha.. but his amps rottin at home..

aniway.. come down the meetup la..

Well......maybe it takes hearing to believe......an AVI on 110Wrms.....and AVI on 350Wrms.......world of difference.......nothing changed at all(cross-over point, wiring, gain setting, HU, speaker position).....simply just swopping from 2ch(350Wrms) to 4ch mode(110rms) on the same amp VRX4300......I totally agree with you on Dynaudio MKII......but after hearing feeding speakers with adequate or excess power.....I'm possessed to upgrade my amp when I've got the extra to spent on ICE.......I've heard of Iridium being fed more then 300Wrms into mid-bass alone.....QSD on 350Wrms.....and their power ratings only stated ard 100Wrms to 180Wrms max......Last time I don't believe in over power giving magic to car audio speakers.....but now I'm a firm believer of over-powering to squeeze out all the juice from the speaker...but of course...nice clean source and no clipping anyway and play within the speaker SPL limit.....I believe alot of cars are under-feeding power to the speakers.....so not doing full justice to the speakers.....reason maybe some of the amps ratings are either over-rated or they are rated at 14.4V instead but our car mainly hover ard 13-13.8V or for some other reasons like S/N ratios, slew rate etc.....Anyway just my opinion......but I'm also fan of Dyn MKII......yet to heard the new Dyn D series thou......

Edited by Reymund