ROH Wheels

Soya

How about OZ Chronos? They are pretty light too

OZ got light rims meh? I carried one before and I was very shocked at how much those metals weigh. Very high density but very shiong on concumption.

ROH wheels are very nice. But I believe also quite heavy. TurboB, correct?

Depends on which OZ model, the Superleggera and Chronos are lightweight whereas the Vela and Nova are heavier. There are other models but I have no experience with them.

ROH are darn heavy except for the Reflex.

Saw the ROH Fury (5 spokes). Think it'll look damn steam on the S40..... [inlove] .

Was the ROH fitted on your brick 17" too? Wondering how it would blunt the acceleration wif a plus-one upgrade since u mentioned that ROH wheels were heavy.

I had 17" Adrenalins on my brick and the effect was something like.....I modded my brick to gain 25bhp (crank) but after the wheels my 0-100km/h timing remained the same as stock [:/] So the wheels essentially negated my mod [shakehead]

But you're right, look damn steam [cool]

Actually what are the benefits of a heavy rims?Most people say it takes up fuel consumption etc but no one ever mentioned that heavy rims are good.

Are heavy rims like the ROH strong in the event of a jialat colision?

My guess is heavy rims would give better high speed stability but does not mean better impact resistance, a heavy but brittle wheel may just crack apart if impacted. [:|]

Hi Soya,

I've some friends who advice against SuperLegs. The spokes are too thin. One of them experienced a bent rim when going past some potholes.

How about the vela?

http://www.ozracing.com/products/wheels/monoblock/vela.html

Hmm...probably that's one of the pitfalls of a light rim. The Vela's not too bad. Looks quite similar to the ROH Fury. 5 spoke design is what i'm looking at now.

Easy to maintain too wif the never ending brake dust..... [:p]

25bhp is an expensive price to pay for a plus-one indeed! [:(] Driving it under normal circumstances, could u actually feel the acceleration being blunted tho there was plenty of power in your T5?

I did a plus-two upgrade on my previous ride and it was quite noticible given that power from the 1.6L wasn't fantastic to begin wif.

Edited by Soya

My T5 had lotsa turbo lag so the low end letharginess was not really further pronouced after the plus-1 upgrade for my brick....I suggest U search around more and perhaps play around tirerack.com to see more options.

I actually wanted to get Mille Migla wheels (also heavy) but the ROH's were too chio to pass up. For your T4 perhaps look at Superleggera III, they are two-piece alum wheels, cool stuff! [thumbsup]

Superleggera III? Too many spokes..... [:/] (brake dust cleaning nightmare!!!! [sweatdrop] )

Juz curious, how heavy are the Volvo OEM rims (mine's the Cyber 16) as compared to rims like ROH or Mille Migla?

Hi Soya,

Just to chk w u. How much mileage has your T4 covered? My Dad's ride has covered 7.5k & the brake pads are still emitting lots of dust. Having a hard time to clean the 11 spokes x 4 every weekend [sweatdrop]

My SE told me that the dust should become less....but I feel that it's almost the same as new. Your rims are the 6 spoked ones right?

Done abt 5.5k only. Guess the only time there'll be no brake dust is when the pads are botak! Mine's the Cyber model, 5 "fat n flat" spokes. Dun like the design tho. [:(] Prefer the ones's on the 1.8 Sport, more chio but cleaning is an even bigger headache wif 11 spokes..... [sweatdrop]

Edited by Soya

Soya, forgot to tell you this. 2 weeks ago, I was at Stamford Lok Yang and there is this ROH , I think is Blade selling for $700. Its 2nd hand but condition damn good. It only fits VW group of cars I believe as the PCD is 100 and 5 holes.

Its housed in ANTERA boxes which suggest to me the previous owners upgraded to ANTERA.

Thks. Yeah, think i saw it too. Thot it was a new set that somebody left there for fitting later. In any case, can't fit so no diff. Do u know any other shop besides Khai Wah that sells ROH?

ROH not many places selling...but saw quite a few chiong ones- the JRDs (i think) that looked almost alike! I thought these Aussie buggers would have copyrighted the designs which I thought are damn good... either that or we have some rims manufacturers who have brave hearts!

Hi Wintersonta,

you may want to check out toyo tyres (?, the one beside Thong Hin... Thong Hin is very tao, not friendly but got nice rims such as OZ chronos etc......) at Bukit Merah Alexandra Village Hawker center.. There are some nice JRD there (but heed the warning about JRD rims from the bros in MCF...) I just came from there.... the guy quoteed me cheap for the ROH...16" 200+ only...... [rolleyes]