Soya Supersonic November 20, 2002 Author Share November 20, 2002 Nice! Does it cost about the same as the ROHs? Hmmm...but think something wif less spokes may be more practical for me otherwise I'll be spending half my life cleaning the rims wif all the frequent brake dust buildup. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sparetyre Neutral Newbie November 21, 2002 Share November 21, 2002 Cleaning is really tough , but I am a sucker for muti-spoke rims.... I am not sure about the price but the weight is very light...about 7kg for 17". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic November 22, 2002 Author Share November 22, 2002 My OEMs are 205/50/16. The plus-one recommended by KW is 215/45/17. Is this correct? BTW, do u think the $1500 quoted after trade-in is ex? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madarmour Neutral Newbie November 22, 2002 Share November 22, 2002 7kg for 17" can be considered light liow. My stock 16" Speedlines is 10.5kg each! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zen Neutral Newbie November 22, 2002 Share November 22, 2002 In general, expect about $300 for 17" wheels, and $150-$220 for average tires (should be lower for 215/45/17, I use 225/45/17 as a guide). So with that, $1500 should be quite alright, considering the trade in value is normally not high unless you sell directly to another owner. Of course, if you can get replicates, it should save you another $400-500. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic November 22, 2002 Author Share November 22, 2002 Thks! Noticed u r running on AEZs. Recommended? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zen Neutral Newbie November 22, 2002 Share November 22, 2002 (edited) AEZ is TUV approved, german-made rims that's as good as those "branded" wheels like Oettinger, ABT, etc and as they are the manufacturer of the wheel (unlike the latter which is basically OEM from other makers), so you are paying for the real thing, not the brand I can link you if you are interested, could be about $550/rim for 18" 2pc rim. let me know. Edited November 22, 2002 by Caractereman Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic November 22, 2002 Author Share November 22, 2002 Wah! $550 each. Didn't know AEZ so ex one. Fitting 18" must have severely blunted your acceleration? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zen Neutral Newbie November 22, 2002 Share November 22, 2002 maybe, but it doesn't matter to me. If I mind so much, I would have gotten myself some mean machine already. That price for a 18" AND 2pc GERMAN-made rims is a steal. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sparetyre Neutral Newbie November 22, 2002 Share November 22, 2002 7kg for 17" can be considered light liow. My stock 16" Speedlines is 10.5kg each! Bro, I need light rims to counter my weight mah..... Violet carrying 2 sparetyres you know.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madarmour Neutral Newbie November 23, 2002 Share November 23, 2002 >>Bro, I need light rims to counter my weight mah..... Violet carrying 2 sparetyres you know.... 7 kg can carry a 3rd sparetyre lah! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sparetyre Neutral Newbie November 23, 2002 Share November 23, 2002 on the way..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie November 23, 2002 Share November 23, 2002 215/40R17 or 205/45R17 would be closer, but 215/45R17 is 2.7% bigger so not much diff, still acceptable. $1500 after trade in is fair, not fantastic considering a Volvo OEM wheel is about $400-600 each! I suggest U shop around for lighter wheels and better deals. How about OZs? Try playing on www.tirerack.com and U can view some wheels on a S40 there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic November 23, 2002 Author Share November 23, 2002 If 2.7% bigger, that means my odo will read lower. That means warranty can oso stretch 2.7% longer??...haha OZ Superleggras u mean? Haven't checked it out but think too many spokes. Cannot keep up wif the brake dust ah. Saw some nice TSW rims too. Any comments on them? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie November 23, 2002 Share November 23, 2002 TSW rims was reputed to be soft so may bend if kena pothole (definitely tougher than JRD lah ). How about OZ Chronos? They are pretty light too Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic November 30, 2002 Author Share November 30, 2002 Didn't quite like the Chronos. Been hearing some good things about the OZ Superleggras tho. Would u have any clue on how much a set of 17" will cost? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie November 30, 2002 Share November 30, 2002 17 Superlegs? Should be in excess of $300 each, check the price out with YHI, most shops sell the same price as them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koolaba 1st Gear November 30, 2002 Share November 30, 2002 Hi Soya, I've some friends who advice against SuperLegs. The spokes are too thin. One of them experienced a bent rim when going past some potholes. How about the vela? http://www.ozracing.com/products/wheels/monoblock/vela.html ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...